We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't use hotel, but spa is wonderful!”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Didn't use hotel, but spa is wonderful!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

My friend booked us in for a spa experience, and it was brilliant! We picked two treatments each and the therapists are really lovely, and accommodating. We both felt so relaxed and didn't want to leave. We made use of the pool (very clean! Managed to see underwater very clearly!), sauna, and my only downside is that when we got into the hydro pool there was a guy in there which was fine, until two of his friends decided to make it a little too cosy, and soon we were out. For the whole hour we were in there so were they so we enjoyed a long swim instead. Really annoying thing though is that as we left they were all getting out gr!

Overall, our experience was lovely, and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    69
    19
    17
    15
See reviews for
73
85
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights after searching the Internet for a hotel with a pool at super prices.We stayed in rm 27 which had a king size bed and two single beds,air conditioning and plenty of room.The room was very clean and plenty of tea&coffee,we even had biscuits.The breakfast was lovely and the staff very helpful and polite,it was a pity we didn't meet the owner to express our comments.The pool was excellent for my daughter just a pity she couldnt go in after 6pm but wasn't a problem.I was very impressed with the bar prices not expensive at all.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone,and when booking Amanda was 100% helpful.
I think the bad review John gave was unfair!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcorfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We haven't stayed at the Old Hall but have used the restaurant which is open to non residents. The carvery is excellent value and quality, children are catered for and there is a wide selection of beers and wines available. The surroundings inside and outside are really attractive and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pw70a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Friendly staff, but the place is tired - there's a leisure complex attached, which my room was above, and as a result my room was noisy from door slamming and the sound of running water through pipes it also smelt of chlorine from the pool, the view from my room was a wall about 3 feet away.
The bathroom floor is worn and dirty and the single sachets of soap and shampoo were impossible to open (bad batch i guess) the bathroom had a clingy shower curtain which had seen better days and the room just felt grubby. Breakfast was tolerable but i would not choose to eat here.

Room Tip: I would not choose to stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John186274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have Stayed at the Old Hall Hotel in Caister on Sea many times and when I am going to Norfolk it's the only place for me and here's why, the hotel has a choice of traditional rooms with sitting areas or new style with super king beds and air conditioning, the hotel is a free house and Chris the manager stocks a great array of quality beers and spirits, it has a very reasonably priced and good restaurant attached (Friday is steak night, you can have two steak meals for £12) and guests have free full use of the attached spa, large indoor pool, sauna, and steam room, jacuzzi and even a gym (so plenty to do if the weather takes a turn for the worse). There is even a Hairdressers and beauty salon with special treatments(obviously at extra cost).
The rooms are all very clean modern and airy, the staff are all really friendly and helpful and will give you great information on what to see and do in the area if you ask, the breakfasts are wonderful the full English is lovely and not at all greasy.
Checkout their website for special offers on room rates which are cheap enough anyway. The hotel is within 10 mins walk of Caister beach and has a large free car park. And is in a quiet area for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Check the website and it explains how to pick the room that best suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank touringbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caister-on-Sea
2.6 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
501 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
547 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
416 reviews
2.4 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Property: The Old Hall Hotel
Address: High Street, Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR30 5JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Caister-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caister-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This independent small Hotel is situated in the centre of the famous lifeboat village of Caister on Sea just a few miles North of Great Yarmouth; close to the tranquil Norfolk Boards and the world famous North Norfolk coast. Facilities free to guests include the use of its own fitness centre and spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and fully equipped gym. The independently run Brandford's Bar and Restaurant offering an excellent mouth-watering menu, wines and real ale is attached ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hall Hotel Caister-On-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing