We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our stay was beyond our wildest dreams!”
other traveler has booked this property
Warning: Once comfortable on these chairs, too difficult to get up!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Warning: Once comfortable on these chairs, too difficult to get up!
Doing our best with the space being a couple of architects
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Warning: Once comfortable on these chairs, too difficult to get up!
Doing our best with the space being a couple of architects
Picture this: taking sofa naps on those lazy summer afternoons lulled by the waves & cicadas
...user manual illustrated included
Wild goats are beloved village's pets
Ouzo & the bag with the BBQ coals: indispensable feel good equipment!
Main beach just 1' by foot from the cottage
Main beach from the taverns
Secluded beach 10' by foot away east
Want more privacy? 20' by foot east
Stunning colors of a beach 15' by foot away west
The beach on west at a closer look
Full moon and southern sea teasing each other
Camping in a tent (available) on a nearby beach under the glowing moon
Starry mountains
Laying back on the the tavern
Beach taverns by night
Could you get tired living like this?
Or perhaps like this?
Maybe this could be tiresome :-)
In our case, the road to paradise is down not up!
This is how the village looks like when returning from a boat ride
Famous Koudoumas monastery 15' by boat or 1.5 hrs by car or 4 hrs by foot
South Crete summer minimalism
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charakas, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
_KristinD...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Our stay was beyond our wildest dreams!”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our stay at George and Anna's was beyond our wildest dreams. The house was just as presented in the photos, only more spectacular. Being able to hear the sea and be right in the heart of the peaceful little village was idyllic. George and Anna are fantastic hosts, showering us with delicious fruits from their gardens, including olive oil and Raki that were out of this world, the best we'd ever had. We will definitely be back soon!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the sea
Liked least: Pillows
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Kristin and her companion are very pleasant people. We liked very much their enthusiasm, expressiveness, easy going style and their ever smiling faces! We appreciated their being receptive and grateful for everything they were offered. We are very glad we had the chance to meet them and would very much like to see them again. They're a catch for every host!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irenebA45...
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Full immersion in the real Southern Crete!”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our experience at George&Anna's place was just amazing! We were privileged to spend some days of full immersion in the real Southern Crete, in complete relax... George & Anna are the best hosts ever, they reserved us a very special and sweet welcome, as we were "just married": the little house was full of red paper hearts and flowers and we toasted together with home made raki (that by the way is available in the house, as well as home made virgin olive oil and vinegar). We really appreciated. The house is exactly as described and very clean; we felt home immediately. The mini-market was temporarily closed but we did not miss it because G&A let the house ready to live with everything we needed, including fresh fruits and vegetables, and the tavernas by the sea did the rest. The house is small but you feel like in a castle because of the beautiful veranda and terrace, we really miss them now, we wish we will be able to come back very soon and we are warmly recommending a stay there to all our friends! Beaches are very close and we were often alone on the beach, like in a paradise island. Everyone was extremely friendly with us, we love Crete! Thanks a lot to George and Anna, hope to see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxation
Liked least: Not open minimarket
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
We’ve been blessed to host very considerate people recently, but you Irene & Stefano stand out in terms of house cleanliness and attention to the detail. Even things in the kitchen cabinets where arranged exactly the way we delivered them to you! Moreover you are very easy & warm people and it is so effortless & pleasant to interact with you. We really wish your stay in our home offered you only nice memories. Your new life with each other will definitely be a pleasant journey since you two obviously make such a harmonious couple. Would be nice to see you guys again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_therweis
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Amazing view”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

George and Anna are really great hosts. They equipped our fridge for the first days, because the shop in the village was closed. They are really caring and friendly people and we felt welcome and home immediately. We spent one week on Crete and enjoyed our stay at their beautiful place a lot. The apartment looks exactly like on the pictures, it´s a quiet, nice and clean place. Just perfect to relax on the terrace with the amazing view over Treis Ekkleis and the ocean. The village itself is a small and dozy place with a nice beach. Due to the dirt-road you have to take to get there, there are no tourist around, only Crete-People =). We would come back straight away and spent another week there. You are great guys! Best Jörg and Therese.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Therese and Jörg, you guys have such good vibes that we felt privileged to have you as guests. It was very rewarding as hosts to see how much you liked your stay in our home and village. Moreover, the way you respected our home and the condition you left it was impeccable. All your future hosts should consider themselves lucky to have you as guests. Take care!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brler2016
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“If you want to relax that's the place to be”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

George and Anna are the best host you can have. They help us a lot with the way to their little Paradise and all the good things there... fruit, oil, raki, eggs, tomatoes... all products of the land. The house had a beautiful vieuw. Regular we had visitors as a lovely cat and some goats. You an eat basic and good in the village near the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: A virgin, not touristy area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2016
Bruno & Yvonne, wow! We were astounded how clean and well-put you left our home. Seemed like not having been used at all! You must be every host's dream. Hosting you demanded zero effort or concern on our side. Hope our home and village were also able to offer you a memorable experience. You're welcome anytime you want and we strongly recommend you to other hosts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grigoraki...
Heraklion, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect place to relax and enjoy”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Calm, peaceful and relaxed are 3 of the many words that can describe the house! I was totally satisfied from the view and the internet. The place is cosy and well designed to cover all the needs. I wish i had more days to spend there. Next time i will for sure :) Anna and George thanks a lot for renting me your place! Hope to see you soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the place were perfect
Liked least: Everything was great
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Vangelis and his friend were guests we new from the first contact that would be a perfect match for the place as they wanted a short vacation in quiet beaches away from it all. We highly recommend them as guests because they found their way easily, our communication was perfect & they left our home exactly the way they found it. It would be our pleasure and privilege to be their hosts again and again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraSt...
Rethymnon, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We took the chance to book the place without reviews but fortunately we did not regret it. We really enjoyed the quiet, relaxing setting. We even swimmed although still in April since the weather was like summer. The place was superclean and tidy. Like said on the description it is a basic 1 bedroom and one sitting area cottage but equipped with even the smallest item a complete household needs. We spent most of our time either on the verandas gazing the sea or on the beach. There were very few people in the village this time of year so all beaches were reserved just for us. We felt like being on a private island! The last 4 km of the road to the village was still dirt but it is currently being paved with asphalt. We met the hosts on our way to the village. They were a lovely couple that welcomed us warmly and offered us homegrown produce, olive oil, raki and homemade pie that eventually reduced our need for supplies to the minimum. The location is ideal to get away from it all, relax and feel closer to nature. It is an interesting alternative experience from the crowded, noisy, industrialized touristic destinations of northern Crete. We’ll definitely come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2016
Pano & Iro we thank you so much for being so respectful with our little summer home. Above all, we thank you for providing us with such a stressfree experience at the start of our hosting journey! Looking forward to share our home with you any time you like
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelmin...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“A true paradise experience”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our stay in George and Anna's house... where to start? We spent a week in Tris Ekklisies and it was simply perfect. Anna and George are a lovely couple that has managed to really create the feeling of paradise for us. First, the location: the house ís really at the end of the world, behind a mountain range, right at the beach, in a beautiful nature area where there is plenty of possibilities to hike, swim and snorkel. Every beach we found, we had for ourselves. The village is small and cozy, and is mainly a holiday village for the Cretans themselves. So no touristy bars and noise here. Then, the house: George and Anna have a beautiful, cozy, clean but most of all super comfy house, with all the necessities you can wish for and a lot of outdoor space: on the two patio's we enjoyed many breakfasts. Its equipped with everything you need: from coffee machine to bbq to hairdryer. When we arrived the place was filled with food: homemade dolma's, pastries, raki and olive-oil, but also homegrown fruits and veggies and a lot of food in stock so we could survive the first days without having to leave the village. Contact with Anna and George was very easy, we would almost every time immediately find a reply in our inbox when we had a question (super fast internet!). We felt they were there for us, without actually being with us. All together we can recommend this place to anyone who is looking for peace and nature, to find rest, happiness, sun and beaches. We for sure want to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Dear Bernke, we cannot thank you enough for leaving our home in such a great condition! It was a real pleasure being your hosts. Thank you for justifying our decision to share our little summer cottage. We would like to let all your future hosts know how lucky they will be to have you as guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing