We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Nights in Mid Wales”
Review of Guidfa House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guidfa House
Ranked #1 of 2 Crossgates B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two Nights in Mid Wales”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at Guidfa House for two nights in late July 2013, I had booked because of the very favourable reviews on Trip Advisor, B&B's not being my usual choice for accommodation.
I was greeted on arrival by Anne with tea and cake made for me. Guidfa House is located on the corner of two fairly busy A roads in a lovely part of Mid Wales only a few miles from Llandrindod Wells, the scenery view from the bedroom windows was beautiful. The windows were fitted with secondary glazing to ensure that traffic noise did not intrude and was very effective. As noted in previous reviews Tony and Anne do not serve dinner but there are two pubs which serve good meals only a few miles down the road, just ask for directions. The room was cosy, bright and very clean, free Wi-Fi was provided easy to connect with good speed. Breakfast was excellent with juices, cereals and a cooked to order menu with toast and home made jam & marmalade, do try the rhubarb and ginger preserve, very unusual and very yummy. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to others. A special thanks to Anne who washed my cricket supporters gear for me rather than sending me to a local laundry, I'm sorry to say I failed to thank Anne for this on my departure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnthepom0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
54
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went to Wales for a wedding and stayed here for 2 nights. This is absolutely gorgeous B&B.

We got the suite and turns out we got the whole guest house to ourselves. The guest house is at the back with our own door and kitchen and 2 toilets. Room on the second floor was warm and cozy. It is also exceptionally clean which I can't help to realise.

The food was good as well. Remember to say yes when you are offered any cake because the cake Anne made was very moist and yummy. Breakfast was good as well, with home made croissants and local sourced food.

One thing tho, I don't think they serve dinner and please note that on Sunday night almost everything closed...so if you happened to be there on Sunday, think about dinner early. Luckily we found a Chinese take away in town that's opened - and the kitchen and dining table in the guest house came really handy.

Room Tip: Not sure about the main house, but our guest house was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XtinaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wow! Breath taking house with fantastic decor and fittings, most comfortable room, well appointed and incredibly clean. Hosts very welcoming and helpful, even washed down our bird dropping splattered car! Breakfast fantastic, we would have loved to have stayed more than one night and intend to do so on our next visit to Great Britian. We have no reservation in recommending this B&B to anyone? Looking forward to our next stay

Room Tip: Ignore fitness centre rating, there is not one on premises but can not budge it. Room we stayed in e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The attention to detail here is amazing. Everything at Guidfa House is perfect; the warm welcome and cup of tea with delicious home made cake, the decor and cleanliness, the beautifully furnished bedroom and wonderfully comfortable bed and the fabulous cooked breakfast.This was our second visit and we shall definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: We had room 1 for our second stay; it is a larger room with a spacious bathroom and with a huge bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green43pear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

An elegant house, beautifully furnished with wonderfully comfortable rooms. We had a great nights sleep and a yummy breakfast. This was our second visit and just as good as the first time we stayed here. We wholeheartedly recommend Guidfa House

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A friend and I just spent 3 nights in this wonderful guest house. From the initial greeting with tea and homemade cake, to the farewell, we were made to feel welcome. The rooms are beautifully and individually decorated, well coordinated and incredibly clean! It's apparent that a lot of love has gone into making this the type of place that people want to return to again and again. I know I plan to be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed two nights while visiting the nearby Phil Price Rally School. Warm welcome from Tony on arrival, showing us to a warm, comfortable, very clean and nicely appointed room, with nice bathroom, plenty of towels and toiletries. Breakfast both mornings was superb - you have to try their home-made marmalades! Peaceful and welcoming place to stay, which we will return to in future to explore the area further.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crossgates
2.9 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,300 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
56 reviews
4.2 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#1 of 5 in Howey
170 reviews
3.0 mi away
Greylands Guest House
Greylands Guest House
#10 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guidfa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guidfa House

Property: Guidfa House
Address: Crossgates | LLandrindod Wells, Crossgates, Llandrindod Wells LD1 6RF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Crossgates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crossgates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Guidfa House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Georgian house located in the village of Crossgates just three miles north of Llandrindod Wells and eight miles east of Rhayader and the stunning Elan Valley. The six individually furnished non-smoking en-suite bedrooms are all specious and bright. All rooms have comfy beds, flat screen TV's with DVD, iPod docking stations, radio alarm clock, tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of fluffy towels, bath robes and quality toiletries. Free WiFi throughout. Five star accommodation with a gold award from Visit Wales, a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor and members of the Green Tourism Business Scheme. Plenty of private parking, secure bicycle storage, drying facilities and an electric vehicle charging point are also available. After a good nights sleep start the day with a delicious breakfast. Choose from a selection of fresh or poached fruit, grapefruit segments, figs and locally produced organic yoghurt. A wide choice of cereals are available including home-made muesli along with fruit juices, Fairtrade Colombian coffee and a selection of teas. Our cooked breakfasts are made from the very best local produce but if something lighter is preferred there is always smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or the cold collection. All jams and marmalades are home-made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Guidfa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing