We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts and a warm Welsh welcome. Thank you”
Review of Guidfa House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guidfa House
Ranked #1 of 2 Crossgates B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had a lovely visit to mid Wales recently and was lucky enough to find Guidfa House. Just dropped in and had a really warm welcome and a lovely room at the front of the house over looking the garden with a huge bed and lovely bathroom. Great breakfast.........really sorry we couldn't stay longer but we'll be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 98 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just come back from our second visit to Guidfa. Absolutely loved it from the second we arrived and we were met by Tony, with a cheery welcome back from Ann. Super breakfast...............loads of toast!!! Incredibly good value, lovely rooms and great views…………we want to try the suite next time. Beautiful gardens and had a lovely chat with Mum as well. On the whole a fabulous place to stay in a beautiful area with wonderful hosts. Thanks again. See you in July.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wishfulNorthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

A very pleasant experience. Tony and Ann could not have been more helpful in all aspects, including the loan of a jacket to my wife and posting forgotten trousers. The room was spacious and extremely clean. The service was very attentive and thoughtful and the breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite which was very spacious for just the two of us, but great. It would be perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahRCLondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

As usual we were made feel most welcome when we arrived with a much needed cup of tea and some delicious home made cake in the beautiful drawing room.Our tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable room was a joy to be in.The bathroom was squeaky clean and after a wonderful hot shower we were soon ready for one of Guidfa's delicious platters and a glass of wine! The next day after one of the delicious breakfasts( over which we lingered with several pots of tea) we took advice from the owners over places to see and a restaurant to visit that night. A really relaxing and enjoyable break in a place which feels like home!We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Back for the third or maybe fourth time. Made to feel very welcome when we arrived. It is almost worth coming just for the cake! Usual great choice at breakfast and plenty of everything. What a selection of wild birds on the birdtables-great to watch them over breakfast! Good suggestions for tours and things to visit, and a lovely relaxing late night drink to round the evening off. Great Break

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genesismb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed on a work trip, lovely room, very very comfy, but just felt not 100% at ease. Think the price makes you expect a lot! Breakfast not as good as others places I've stayed in, and a request for toast is one peice each!
Wouldn't rush back, felt we were in the way!!!! Best way to describe it I think.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PricklyRose, Owner at Guidfa House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

We can only apologize sincerely if you felt in any way unwelcome, as this most definitely was not our intention, we love what we do and endeavor to make everyone’s stay as enjoyable as possible. The most important thing is that you found our accommodation, in your words, both lovely and very, very comfy. Again we are sorry if you were disappointed with your breakfast, most guests feel that we offer a very comprehensive choice for such a small establishment and appreciate that everything is freshly prepared and sourced locally. With regards to the toast issue we are at a total loss! We always serve a full rack of toast, 3 slices per couple and then offer more if required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Booked this lovely little Hotel after mishap when our Landrover roof tent failed. We arrived very late - due to diff seizure of said Landrover (not a good start to the weekend!) However we were greeted by the owners of the hotel with tea and homemade cake before going to our room. The room was tastfully decorated and exeptionally clean right down to the vent in the bathroom. We were even offered and upgrade at no extra cost. For me it was the little touches that the owners put into their hotel that made the difference - the towels rather than just being folded on the rack were arranged with the flannels fanned and tucked into the cuffs of the hand towels as they hung up - the sheets were ironed to perfection without a crease and there was a little chocolate on the pillow and complementary bottled water as well as the usual tea and coffee (all fair trade) The owners put a lot of effort into this hotel and it shows that they obviously enjoy what they do and focused on the best stay for their guests- Breakfast was home cooked and delicious. I would stay here again and recomend it to anyone - this little Gem is a credit to the owners. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guidfa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guidfa House

Address: Crossgates | LLandrindod Wells, Crossgates, Llandrindod Wells LD1 6RF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Crossgates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crossgates
Price Range: $131 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Guidfa House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Georgian house located in the village of Crossgates just three miles north of Llandrindod Wells and eight miles east of Rhayader and the stunning Elan Valley. The six individually furnished non-smoking en-suite bedrooms are all specious and bright. All rooms have comfy beds, flat screen TV's with DVD, iPod docking stations, radio alarm clock, tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of fluffy towels, bath robes and quality toiletries. Free WiFi throughout. Five star accommodation with a gold award from Visit Wales, a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor and members of the Green Tourism Business Scheme. Plenty of private parking, secure bicycle storage, drying facilities and an electric vehicle charging point are also available. After a good nights sleep start the day with a delicious breakfast. Choose from a selection of fresh or poached fruit, grapefruit segments, figs and locally produced organic yoghurt. A wide choice of cereals are available including home-made muesli along with fruit juices, Fairtrade Colombian coffee and a selection of teas. Our cooked breakfasts are made from the very best local produce but if something lighter is preferred there is always smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or the cold collection. All jams and marmalades are home-made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Guidfa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing