We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”
Review of Bell Country Inn

Bell Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanyre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bell Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanyre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

On a trip into Wales took a wrong turn and getting back onto our route came across this very smart country inn and had a spot of lunch. Although it doesn't look much from the outside once you step inside I would defy anyone not to be impressed. Huge open plan restaurant, light and sunny, with loads of gorgeous wood and huge displays of flowers. Lots of space between the modern wooden tables and leather chairs, and even some sofas. Not being overly hungry and despite the very tempting menu for dinner both my partner and I went for a lighter lunch and both had jacket potato with chilli. Now you may not think there is much you can do with this classic dish but I have to say this was impressive. Wonderful moist potato, with crispy skin, great chilli with proper beans (and not out of a tin) and even a very tasty and varied salad on the side (did I taste watercress?). Everything about this pub oozes class, from the modern and sophisticated crockery to the spotless toilets with individual sinks on wooden units. The decor was very contemporary and sophisticated and all in all it was a really excellent experience. First Class!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wozlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here for a family wedding in Llandrindrod Wells..... Well what a pleasant surprise!, I really wasn't expecting a stay of this quality in rural wales... Its just recieved a 5th star and boy it deserves it.

Our room was amazing, large, bright, imaculately presented - the entire decoration of this small country Hotel is modern, bright, friendly and relaxed. It was completely restored/rebuilt in 2007 to an exceptional standard, money no object. If only every country hotel was like this one...

In answer to a previous post about the staff, two of the staff are partially deaf, so lipread, you soon get used to speaking directly at them. I felt its worth mentioning, as they try their hardest. Don't let this put you off though, it caused us NO problem at all.

The whole aura of the hotel is comfortable, relaxed and friendly, nothing was any trouble.

This place is a shining star in Wales, if not the country! All hotels could learn lessons from The Bell Country Inn!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Decided not to cook so booked a table for their Sunday lunch. What a lovely surprise. A choice of four starters, mains and desserts. Note : They do not do bar meals on a Sunday only the roasts. Two of our party had the roast pork and voted the crackling the very best ever tasted and the other two had the Welsh Roast Beef which was melt in the mouth. All very nicely presented, sufficient vegetables for the four of us brought to the table in a separate bowl along with gravy boat should we require additional gravy. Deserts were nicely presented and very tasty. At the time of writing they charge £9.50 for a two course Sunday lunch which we all thought was good. The only teeny weeny con ... its' not a moan just a personal preference ... is that I would have preferred a couple more roast pototoes although new potatoes were served.

Lovely view across countryside, excellent decor inside, "facilities" very very chic and glorious floral displays outside.

Thank you The Bell, we will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy22R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We called here for a meal and the woman on the bar was the most miserable, cold, unwelcoming person imaginable. There was no smile, no warmth about the place and no atmosphere. The place could be lovely as it is nicely decorated with modern furniture and fittings. It is rare that I leave no tip, but on this occasion, I made an exception. Just a smile would make a difference. When I attempted to order a particular dessert, I was told bluntly "we haven't any", no suggestions, nothing. There were few people there that night and I bet the locals don't frequent it. The food was Ok though.

Room Tip: We did not stay, only ate in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindagreenacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A group of us Saturday night meal . Food was very good.Service was excellant . Felt very welcome and did not feel at all rushed. Highly recommended.Lovely Puds ...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRYNDUGUESTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband took me for a late valentine meal, the place was clean ,the staff couldnt do enough to help and the food was out of this world,we would centainly recommend it and will be going back,

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank del044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

A really nice restaurant setting, with the only downside being the lack of atmosphere on a winter Tuesday night and only a handful of people in. The food is simple but well cooked and a good helping. Friendly waitress. Lovely and warm on a cold winter's night. Part of the restaurant in darkness which would benefit from a few low cost tea lights on the empty tables to add a glow to that part of the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony56Hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanyre
1.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Severn Arms Hotel
Severn Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Penybont
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#14 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
83 reviews
2.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 4 in Howey
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Country Inn

Address: Llanyre, Llanyre, Llandrindod Wells LD1 6DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Llanyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanyre
Hotel Class:4 star — Bell Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated 1 1/4 miles on the outskirts of a beautiful Victorian town named Llandrindod Wells, which nestles amongst the Black Mountain and the the Brecon Beacons. Refreshments have been taken for centuries in the site of todays Bell Country Inn. The hostelry was built for thirsty drovers taking their stock from West Wales to the markets of Gloucester and Hereford. We are the new owners of the Bell and have just finished a complete refurbishment. The Bell now offers guest accommodation comprising of 10 en-suite bedrooms, all to a high standard. Two bars and a restaurant. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing