We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local sourced food, tasty and well presented”
Review of The Stagg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stagg Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Titley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
worcester, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great local sourced food, tasty and well presented”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Had dinner here last week after hearing quite abit about the food. Lovely, tasty, well presented dishes, with clean simple flavours. Very good value to, for a highly praised establishment. Good quality wine list,, and good value you also. There is a nice atmosphere, with locals sat at the bar, and a pleasent ambience generally. The land-lady, Nicola made us feel welcome, and took our order, and served us at the bar initially too! Our only gripe would be the standard of the waitress. She was extremely quiet, and almost timid, and spoke English not so well. This was the only blot, on an otherwise lovely meal. Highly recommended.....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cashy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    49
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
59
165
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2009

I have been to the Stagg twice, the frist time with my partner for a one night treat and the second time we returned with friends as the first visit had impressed us so much.

On the first visit we stayed in a room above the pub. They warn you on the website that these rooms are a little nosier and so we were prepared for this. In the end, this was not a problem at all - the pub empties at about the same time as we went to bed and then there's noise at all. We must have been in the same room as other reviewers, as there was a big gap under the door. However, again, this didn't bother us as the door was quite far from the bed and we used the spare blanket from the cupboard to put against the bottom of the door anyhow. The room was a good size and only having a bath and not a shower was not a problem for us as it was quite a novelty to be forced to bath not shower and we weren't in any rush. Having DVDs and books available was a nice touch and the setting is idiliic.

The second time we came, we wanted to stay in the vicargae down the road, having had a nosy at this on the first trip, so we took enough friends with us to fill all three rooms in the vicerage. The grounds of the vicarage are lovely anda short walk down the road lets you visit the pigs that you're about to eat and the egg provising chickens! All three rooms were lovely and each has their pros and cons, but being a group booking, it didn't matter. Having a lounge to sit in all together was nice too. The three rooms were quite spaced out in the house. more so than we thought they would be. I mention this only because it means that if you weren't a group, it still wouldn't be a problem to book just one of the rooms in the Vicerage, as you're not right next to the other rooms. The only issue would be that the doors to the rooms don't lock, but all guests are in the same boat there and mutual trust is required!

Fresh tea, coffee and milk in all the rooms and a mini bar with the same prices as the pub.

The food is amazing - good tasty food and plenty of it. Both times we have been here we have had to be rolled out the door and have paid around £45-50 per head for three course of deservedly mitchellin starred food, with wine and coffee (and petit fours!). No matter how full you are, do not miss the bread and butter pudding. It's worth it.! Good long wine list and good range of prices.

Breakfast is very tasty, using their home made sausages and black pudding. Take a cool bag with you as you can purchase sausages and black pudding to take away with you, and you'll want to once you've tried them. Their jams are lovely too.

The staff are very efficient and the main guy that runs the place is very friendly - he creates a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere without there being any slackness.

Big big big fan of this place. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sameysamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We have been to the Stagg Inn many times over the last ten years and have never been disappointed yet.

If you want to stay there, the best choice and their best room is down the road at "The Vicarage" in their room called "Winterton". They will drive you back the couple of hundred yards from the pub late at night quite happily. Breakfast is excellent and on a par with the evening standards which is not always the case in other places.

As a vegetarian I always am pleased to have more than one choice on the evening or lunch menu - and was delighted this last time to find that now they have a small menu for vegetarians where each course can be a main or a starter. My husband is also delighted to find his favourites such as foie gras on the menu too - so a very wide variety of tastes catered for here. Do have the cheese to share at the end of your meal - an excellent choice of local mostly Welsh cheeses is served.

Very good food, wine, accomodation, service and prices...very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeggieBrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Staffs England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We love short breaks away especially where the food is rated and it was the Michelin star that attracted us plus the separate accommodation in the Old Vicarage. There was a warm welcome and we followed the son, Grant, to the Vicarage which was a pure delight. He was very helpful and friendly. We had booked the most expensive room with a freestanding slipper bath in the bedroom and separate loo and shower. it was beautifully furnished and in keeping wiith the period of the house. The views on to the magnificent garden were wonderful and there was a potted history of the house and village to read. The gardens are exceptionally well tended and designed and the hens etc. are discreetly housed at the rear. Truly a country idyll.

In the evening we dined at the pub. My husband was adventurous and had lambs sweetbreads (beautifully cooked) and for mains pressed pigs head (certainly not as gruesome as it sounds) He really enjoyed it. It was a taste that he still talks about now. I had the duck, it was delicious plus a trio of creme brullee . Would have loved to have tried the extensive local souced cheese board but just couldn't manage it!!

Breakfast was perfectly cooked too. I really rate this place and the setting on a summers day is divine

  • Liked — Food and accommodation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We contacted the pub to book a dinner reservation for saturday lunch as we were on our way to Cardiff to watch a gig in the evening and on the off chance asked if there were any free rooms. it turned out there'd been a cancellation minutes before and so we had a room in the old vicarage booked.
We arrived 40 minutes late (after an apologetic phone call of course) and had a very cheery greeting awaiting us... We sat straight down to hands down the best pub lunch we've ever had.
My wife started with the pigeon breast while i had a perfectly crisp and velvety foie gras. We both had the fillet of beef on a bed of creamed carrot and horseradish mash then finished it off with some delightful sweets. All locally sourced we were assured.The service was informal and very friendly. Well worth its Michelin star which the owners are too modest to mention.

We were then invited to follow Grant down to the vicarage and shown our spacious, clean and super comfy room with 2 double beds and en-suite bathroom with shower, Grant gave us directions to Cardiff and showed us the residents lounge (which was basically ours!!) and left us to have a look around the very nicely kept 2 acre gardens. At the bottom of the garden they have a little secret path which leads you to the free range hens pen were they get all there beautiful breakfast eggs.

We arrived back in at 1a.m, had a perfect nights sleep and awoke to a short walk back to the pub for a super full breakfast with sausage and bacon from their own pigs with the free range eggs and grilled tomato. There was also cereals juices and fresh fruit for us greedy ones to gorge on afterwards...

We were so happy with how helpful, friendly and professional everyone and how lovely the whole experience was was we decided to spend the morning walking around the local area and some more time with our new hen friends. We booked a table for sunday lunch and stayed on a little longer.... well at £15.75 for 3 courses we were hardly looking forward to the 3 hour drive instead!!

I've spent the last 5 years looking for the perfect B&B and i'm pretty confident this is as close as we'll get! We had 2 Three course meals with drinks, a beautiful breakfast and a very high standard double room all for £220. We'll be going again, hopefully soon.

  • Liked — Grat food, Friendly service
  • Disliked — The fact it's 3 hours away from us!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dhardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed at the Stagg Inn for two nights as we were attending a wedding locally. I can't fault one single thing about the stay - the staff were very friendly, the food was amazing and the rooms we were in were spacious, clean and nicely decorated (we spent one night in the pub, one night in the Old Vicarage). The Vicarage was particularly lovely and if the weather had been better we could have enjoyed sitting out in its beautiful garden. I'd highly recommend the Stagg for a lovely weekend away - you could tell that people came from miles around to enjoy the food and hospitality - and we will certainly try to get back there sometime soon! Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franny192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Have just returned from a trip where 2 nights were spent at the Vicarage. It was an excellent experience. The room we had was large - shabby chic is a compliment not a criticism. Two double beds which were very comfortable and as the curtains were really heavy and we were at the back of the house the room was quiet overnight so great opportunity for a good sleep. Two armchairs, plenty of clothes storage, a decent tv and a DVD player with a small selection of DVDs to borrow. Tea and coffee with a bonus of fresh milk in the minibar fridge each day! Lovely big bathroom with shower and enormous towel rail.

We ate both nights at the Stagg, once in the more formal dining room and the second in the pub. Both meals were super, beautifully cooked and fantastic value for money. As it is a well known gastropub I expected the prices to reflect that but the prices are very reasonable as we discovered at other restaurants in the next part of our trip which charged more for inferior food!

The staff are very friendly and could not be more helpful.Grant seems to be permanently on duty but always greets you with a smile and never makes you feel that anything you ask is a problem. I would certainly recommend both the Vicarage and the Stagg and would hope to return one day.

  • Liked — Large room, comfortable bed, nice and quiet with great food 5 minutes up the road.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titley
12.7 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
17.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
16.9 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
The Radnorshire Arms
The Radnorshire Arms
#2 of 13 in Presteigne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stagg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stagg Inn

Property: The Stagg Inn
Address: Titley HR5 3RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Titley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Titley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Stagg Hotel Titley
The Stagg Inn Titley, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing