We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay at The Lock Keeper's Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
View of the water from the cottage garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banavie, Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
nattymitc...
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at The Lock Keeper's Cottage”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed for a week in August and thoroughly enjoyed the cottage. It was well equipped, warm and comfortable (particularly the bed). It was lovely having the fire in the evening as surprisingly chilly for the time of year, thanks for the logs to get us going. Good TV and some dvds available too. It was an interesting area with the canal right outside and the locks where you could watch the boats making their way, the train with the Jacobite chuffing by a few times a day and to top it off you walk out the door to the sight of The Ben (if lucky!). The location is good for exploring and Fort William was near by (also frequent buses in and out nr by). This cottage has really stayed in the mind and we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z2300LEan...
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Well equipped cottage with comfy bed. Warm throughout with night storage heaters and top up heating. Location about 1.5 miles outside Fort William good views of the canal and mountains only spoilt a bit by nearby industrial estate.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill4848
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Lock Keeper's Cottage is situated right alongside the Caledonian Canal, and has wonderful views from the Upper Deck windows. To the left you can see along the canal, and to the right Neptune's Staircase, also the swing bridges opening the road and railway to let the boats through, and of course the magnificent Jacobite steam train that passes once or twice a day. From the porch on the other side of the cottage there is Ben Nevis in all his glory.
The Upper Deck itself is well equipped, the bed is extremely comfy, heating very effective, but I feel the soft furnishings in the lounge could be upgraded.
Lots of walks, beautiful scenery, picnic spots, friendly locals.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our Honeymoon”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The lock keepers cottage upper deck was perfect for us. Warm, comfortable, homely and very well equipped which meant that we could cook up great dinners. We loved the roaring log fire which was perfect in the evening and on the one rainy day that we had.

The location is great and on one day we hired a canoe from the nearby rock hopper hire hub to paddle up the canal, and on another we hired bikes and cycled over towards Inverness along a lovely wooded mountain road.

Would 100% recommend this cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Kerry...
1 review
“Comfortable great location”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very comfortable accommodation overlooking the canal and locks. Would go back. Great watching the steam train each day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnC220
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect!”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Perfectly sized for 2 guests, all furnishings and equipment in Upper Deck are first class. Spotlessly clean everywhere and fabulous views as a bonus. Owner very helpful and certainly goes the extra mile to please - along with her housekeeper. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation and actually look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and quality
Liked least: The fact that my stay was only one week!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika...
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing