We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caledonian Canal”

Neptune's Staircase
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Caledonian Canal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stay at Glenshian Guest House which is situation by the canal very near to the top of Neptune's Staircase. It is quite lovely to be there and watch the boats go through the locks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    295
    79
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Clever Engineering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have visited Neptune's staircase on a number of occasions when visiting Lochaber and never cease to be amazed by the clever engineering behind this feature nor indeed the entire Caledonia Canal

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinP1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very scenic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Had been looking forward to seeing Neptune's Staircase and it is a lovely place to walk beside. We weren't lucky enough to have any boats going through the locks when we were there.
I couldn't believe that actually, but no traffic that day. There is a nice little place to have a coffee/lunch, just next to the locks (The Mooring Hotel). You could wait out the rain there - or wait to see if any boats come along the canal !
Nice big free car park at the base of the locks - next to the Hotel.
Neptune's Staircase is a very nice place for a stroll. It is all well kept and maintained. It is very picturesque - great for some scenic photos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“So beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Well worth a walk up, so clever. Very picturesque. We walked up the canal basin at the top. Lovely in the sunshine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valentine-Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Walk there from Fort William”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We walked to Neptune's Staircase from Fort William, along the loch, and if you want to get a feel for the area, it was an interesting mixture of experiences. Barely out of Fort William, there were delicious wild raspberries along the path, and a game of shinty going on, on the town's shinty pitch. Then, the ruins of Inverlochy castle to be visited (free), and the Mallaig steam train passing by. Along the shore at Caol we stopped for an excellent soup and sandwich lunch at Café 3:16, a fine modern building with huge windows overlooking Loch Linnhe. It's run by volunteers from the local church, who were cheerful and friendly (3:16 in case you hadn't spotted it already is the Bible verse "And God so loved the world....": we had to ask.) Walk as far as Telford's lock cottages, and then cross the canal and walk back along the canal to Neptune's Staircase. I counted about 20 different types of wildflower on the walk overall. The walk is not all scenic, as some is along a road, but there was almost always something of interest, even if it was curiosities like the local passion for very neat gardens, with garden gnomes and other paraphernalia, including even a model Loch Ness monster. A gentle day getting a feel for Fort William and life there.

There is a bus from the main road near Neptune's Staircase back into Fort William, which goes about every 20 minutes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank debeauvoirli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune's Staircase also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Neptune's Staircase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing