We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel just outside Fort William”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming hotel just outside Fort William”
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I stay in this hotel on a regular basis for work and it is a really lovely hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the food is always good. It's about three miles outside of Fort William itself so it doesn't take too long to get into town. The staff are always friendly, the hotel has free wi-fi and they do good packed lunches!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope_Pitstop24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    216
    87
    30
    15
See reviews for
90
358
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2010

My Husband and I decided to get a last minute weekend break away.

We have stayed in Fort William a number of times but this was the first in the Moorings. The Hotel had a special offer on accommodation so we thought we would give this hotel a try and we were not disappointed.

Driving up to the hotel from the front looks like a small inn but is much larger beautifully decorated then from first impression,

On arrival we were given a very warm welcome and shown to our rooms. The room was lovely and large, with stunning views of the Canal and Mountains. The rooms had little extras that you expect from 5 / 4 star hotels Including complimentary bottled water and house coats. The hotel had free wi fi through the hotel which my husband could check his work emails.

We ate in the Bar which was busy but had no problem getting a table and the food was excellent. I ordered the haddock and chips which came with homemade chips and my husband ordered the beef stroganoff which was quite expensive but he really enjoyed it.
I had no room for a pudding but my husband order the sundae which the kind waitress gave me a extra spoon to share.
In the morning Breakfast was superb. Awaiting your cooked breakfast you have the buffet table with choices of pasties, yogurts, fresh fruit and a cooked breakfast

The next time we return to Fort William the Moorings will be our first choice in future

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbr76
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Don't hesitate!
My partner and I did our usual and decided on a night away at the very last minute. I chose The Moorings based on price and location - I knew nothing of the place.
We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return next time we're in Fort William. The staff couldn't have been nicer, our bags were carried to our room, the spec was outstanding for 3 star, everything was immaculate and there was real attention to detail. We slept well and went down to an excellent breakfast. Instead of the either-or approach you often get between cooked or cold, you could help yourself to cereal, juice, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, etc, etc and have a cooked breakfast! The place is fab.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2009

EXCELLENT HOTEL. Friendly staff, great service, lovely rooms. I would highly recommend this hotel, it is a great base for exploring the highlands.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOM35298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dizzitmatter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

I recently went to a works christmas dinner at this hotel and left early so i could go get something to eat. The food was ridiculous to say the least. Portions that would leave a child still hungry , The main course was beef, there was more fat and grissle than there was meat, the potatoes were powdered and the whole thing left me and a lot of others hungry and never going back again. I was charged £2.25 for a glass of diet coke which was poured from a plastic bottle with a price of £1.39 on it. I returned my drink twice for being flat and asked for a can instead but still charged £2.25 for the can ! . I would strongly recommend that people stay clear of this place as this is a service that is way below the price tag.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dizzitmatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stairs27, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2009
We are very disappointed that this guest did not make their complaint to the hotel Manager. We always ask if everything is ok with their meals etc and we received no negative feedback. We would also point out that all our food is freshly prepared and cooked - we do not use powdered or pre-packaged vegetables of any kind. If this guest would like to contact the Manager we will do our utmost to resolve this complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Thank you to the moorings Hotel and staff for a very comfortable stay. Despite a mix-up with our initial requirements (for their best room) the Manager came to the rescue and we are confident we got the best. A complimentary bottle of wine was offered by means of recompense but really wasn't neccessary (we drank it anyway, and the rest) Pleasant views. Room had clearly been refurbished recently and overall we were delighted. We asked for the best, got the best, paid for the best and left with the rest. Thanks for everything, and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighlandGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in Room 29 of this hotel and it is really the worse room we have ever had. There was a small recessed window that let in no light and no view. The bed was creaking when you just sat on it as there was only one chair in the room. None of the furniture matched and no two pieces of wood in the room were the same. They had even patched up the skirtings in different colour wood. We decided against eating dinner there and judging by my "hard boiled poached eggs" at breakfast were pleased we decided to eat elsewhere. We imagine the room had not been refurbished for about 30 years.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing