We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable but overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

Booked two nights in a room with a double bed , which turned out to be two singles pushed together with what must be the most uncomfortable pillows known to humankind . The overnight sleeper train from London was more comfortable than this !
Ordered lamb shanks from the bar menu which was ok , but no mint sauce . Asked for a pint of Carlsberg Export and served with bitter . On pointing this out to the waitress , she informed me I was wrong . Only by insisting that bitter is NOT lager was it changed .
Ordered a morning newspaper , which didn't arrive until after breakfast on the first day and not at all on the second .
Overall the staff are efficient but charmless . They should remember it costs nothing to smile .
None of this is really too much of a problem and of course I am British and we don't complain do we ? Nevertheless for the prices charged , attention to detail should be much better .

  • Liked — Efficiency
  • Disliked — Charmless
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobnob1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    211
    82
    28
    15
See reviews for
85
346
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

We didn't actually stay, but were recommended it by our B&B host. Firstly we will make allowances for the bank holiday weekend, but we decided to go & grab a bar meal as we thought this would be a nice place to eat. When you walk into the bar it reminded us of a 1980's Bernie Inn, in fact it may well have been. The decor was tired, uninspiring & dull. The service was much the same although credit where credit is due the food was very good. The meal was followed by two warm coffees & a very un-inspiring Cheese & Biscuits.

We are glad we didn't stop there as if the bar gave us this first impressions of the place, then gawd knows what the rest of it was like.

All in all we will return to Fort William, but as for the Moorings bar Meals, we shall give it a very wide berth (pardon the pun)

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank luzleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

My boyfriend and I loved staying at the Moorings hotel. It is in a beautiful location right next to Neptune's staircase. There are many lovely nature trails within easy walking distance and it is just a short drive into Fort William town centre.

Check in was easy and the lady was very friendly and promptly booked a table for us at the restaurant (at out request). We stayed in room 26 (superior room) which was very spacious and clean and it had a beautiful view of Ben Nevis, it was quite a trek to our room, we had to go up and down stairs several times and it is very easy to get lost so I wouldn't recommend the higher numbered rooms for elderly visitors with mobility problems. We had absolutely no problems with our room, it was lovely.

The food at the Moorings was absolutely delicious at the restaurant and the bar. We ate at the restaurant on the first night and was given a complementary glass of champagne and canapés while we looked at the menu. The meal itself was amazing and beautifully presented so I would highly recommend visiting if you stay at this hotel. The second night we had a bar meal which was also delicious and plentiful, I can't fault it, the service staff and the chef do an extremely good job.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again whenever I am up that way again, good value for money, friendly service, good food and an all round great place to stay.

  • Liked — The food.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

Stayed here over the weekend and had the most fabulous meal i think i've ever had!! The hotel has a 4 star rating but doesn't look much when you see it. I think the reason it has this review is the food - it's absolutely amazing. Didn't try the bar meals but if you are booking you MUST book dinner bed & breakfast as you get a meal in the dining room under a different menu. You get a complimentary glass of bubbly; canopies; home-made sorbet & chocolates. We're already planning coming back some time. Definately a must.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — the look of the hotel from the outside
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birksview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

We booked this hotel at the last minute using laterooms.com. The hotel is fine and is nicely situated at Neptune's Steps but it really could do with a refurb.

We stayed in a Superior Room which was freshly decorated and very spacious, the bathroom was huge. Superior rooms are in the newly upgraded part of the hotel and are well worth the extra cost. I had a brief glimpse into a standard room and they looked very tired and that part of the building smelt a bit musty!

Staff were very friendly and we feel the hotel was worth the £60 we paid for it. I wouldn't pay much more than this... breakfast was very bog standard with cheap sausages and bacon!! On the plus side, the hotel is close to the centre of Fort William. Taxis are very cheap.

I would say the STB classification is a bit out and this should be rated as a 3 star hotel.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMaharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and found it to be a 'little cracker'. Breakfast is good but if you dine in the restaurant at night it is truely a treat. The hotel is just a Neptune's staircase and you can walk along the canal for miles (we have done this is loads of times and cycled it a few times too!). The journey into Fort William is short. You will not be disappointed if you book this hotel.

  • Liked — The food was very good
  • Disliked — The trek to you room especially if you are at the end of the corridor
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanetteM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

I would like to thank the staff of the Moorings Hotel hugely for the whole experience on the occasion of our daughter 'and son-in-law's wedding reception.

From the initial contact a year before the wedding right through to the event we were always treated most courteously, and the little extra requests which made the day special were always taken on board.

On the day itself, the entire event was very well dealt with by most pleasant staff, without exception. Certainly they helped to add to the pleasure of the occasion.

The quality of the food was the source of many favourable comments from wedding guests, as was the quality of the venue.

Again, I want to thank ALL of the staff who in any way played a part in it.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivaldi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing