We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent views of Ben Nevis”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magnificent views of Ben Nevis”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

As well as the views of Ben Nevis, this hotel is on Neptune's Staircase, the first flight of locks into the Caledonian Canal. Our superior room in a new extension had views of both, and was well equipped (but had no fridge) and good value at £120. The smart bar has a comprehensive menu, and almost renders the dining room superfluous. The mainly local staff couldn't have been more friendly. The only snag is the 3 mile trip into town if you haven't a car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mouton view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    216
    87
    30
    15
See reviews for
90
358
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at The Moorings on 2nd & 3rd October 2012, we had a lovely room looking out onto the canal. 1st night we ate in the restaurant and had 'the fine dining experience' great value for money and beautiful food and presentation. 2nd night we ate in the pub part of the hotel and the best fish and chips I have had in ages, again great value for money and good presentation.
Everything about this hotel was excellent. we look forward to staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the canal have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancsLassAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Made a brief visit for business. This is a typical small highland hotel; comfortable, hearty food, slightly old fashioned decor, but perfectly adequate for a few nights. Only down side was the strange smell in my room; a mix of chocolate and mould!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Highlander1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a four night stay, excellent service throughout, great food and staff. After we left hotel i realised i had left items in a drawer in our room, we returned on our way through, my things were all waiting at reception in a bag! We werevery lucky and appreciate the honesty of the staff.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments, particularly regarding the honesty of the team. Staff are what make a hotel and I am very proud of the team we have at the Moorings Hotel.

If you venture into Fort William again, I hope you will join us on the Neptunes Staircase.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Originally we booked for 1 night but extended our stay to 2 in August - what a good decision - such a lovely comfortable and friendly hotel with great staff, always helpful. Our room was really well appointed with lovely views of Ben Nevis and Neptune's staircase on the Caledonian Canal. Food was excellent and beautifully served by lovely waitresses who knew how to 'smile' - a rarity these days. Definitely a hotel to be recommended and take your time to enjoy all that The Moorings have to offer - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Neptune's Staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Firstly, thank you for takng the time to write a report on tripadvisor.

We are always happy to welcome a guest for a 2nd night, particularly having only booked one!! Your kind comments are welcomed and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Moorings Hotel if you ever venture into Fort William.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our first ever visit, nice atmosphere and seating area. Food was fine, expensive though. It's right next to Neptune's Staircase which is why we were there. We found Scotland was expensive for everything!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A very well appointed hotel with just about everything at hand to ensure a most relaxing stay.
My partner and I enjoyed two overnight stays at the Moorings Hotel in September 2012.
The service in the bar, and the quality of the food certainly got the thumbs up from us. The waiting staff were good humoured and attentive, and always had a ready smile.
The room was spacious, with, I would guess, a king size bed. Cleanliness was 1st class, and the bathroom was large, tiled throughout, with all the necessary bits and bobs that you'd expect from this quality of establishment. A nice big bath with shower was welcoming with a
good strong supply of hot and cold water. We got some really nice shots of boats going through the locks,..and also some nice video footage of the ancient steam boat and the steam powered train on the nearby line. Highly recommended *****.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgieRoyEllon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw on trip advisor.

I am glad you enjoyed the setting we are blessed with and the Moorings Hotel.

We pride ourselves on our staff and the friendly atmosphere we try to create and I will pass on your comments to my staff, they are appreciated.

I hope to see you returning to the Moorings Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing