We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature, great hospitality, worth the tunnel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torcastle House B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Banavie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

we booked Torcastle House B&B with booking.com, and didn't regret! Warm welcome, nice room and facilities, excellent breakfast, wifi and... nice views!
Don't be afraid for the distance from Fort William to Torcasltle House : it's easy to find if you follow the instructions, and you'll have fun with the tunnel experience (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjHwkDO24A8).
Discover the Torcastle ruins - just a 5 minutes walk along the river (and look for the deers at the other side of the river).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delhev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 113 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a round-Scotland road trip, and what a find! Warmly welcomed by the owners and shown to our lovely, spotlessly clean 'family room'. Beautiful views over Ben Nevis and the old Torcastle ruin a 5 minute walk away. The breakfast room overlooks the animal field with its chickens, geese, 2 hand reared sheep plus cute lamb, a couple of big piggies and a beautiful calf. And getting to the B&B is a bit of an adventure, through a very small tunnel which would've been difficult to find had it not been for the very precise emailed directions from Ilona. Breakfast was delicious, with home made bread and plenty of everything including fresh fruit, although the sausages weren't of particularly good quality. Overall, a really lovely place to stay - highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BlueRuby67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely overnight stay at this B&B when doing a Highland holiday! The hosts were charming and the breakfast was fresh, and the view from the dining room was gorgeous! Our hostess gave us some great dinner recommendations and we weren't disappointed. The b&b is about a ten minute drive from Fort William (about 3.8 miles, per our sat-nav).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharona_selby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in the family room for one night in September. We had such a warm welcome and only wish we could have stayed longer!
We chose Torcastle House as we were impressed with the description and photographs online and we weren't disappointed. The room was spacious (we actually had 4 people in the room: 2 adults, a 2 and a half year old and a 3 month old and didn't feel cramped at all), and the ensuite was bright, modern and spotlessly clean.
What made our stay so pleasurable was the welcome from our hosts: Ilona and Gavin. They were so accommodating, and couldn't do enough for us. Our 2 year particularly liked watching the chickens being fed in the morning and actually cried when we had to leave!
We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megane197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Torcasle House is a first rate base for a holiday in a great area. We stayed for 5 nights and were sorry to leave. Ilona and Gavin are excellent hosts and the accommodation was very comfortable. We loved the dining/living room in which we relaxed in the evenings. The fridge always had a supply of milk and yoghurts and tea and coffee were always available. Torcastle House was convenient to our activities of climbing Ben Nevis, the Gondola at Nevis Range, a day trip on the Jacobite (Harry Potter) train to Mallaig and white water rafting. The Ben Nevis Inn, a restaurant in a converted barn, at the foot of the mountain received a return visit it was so good. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTBrown_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Torcastle for only one night, but if we had known, we would have stayed longer... The place is simply amazing. It is a little remote from Fort Willam, but definitely worth the 5-minute drive. Driving through a tunnel built 200 years ago, you reach the charming farmhouse. The rooms are brand new, modern, big and cozy and the hosts are amazing. The children even took the time to show us the new-born piglets. We also enjoyed a little walk in the wood just beside the house. We love the country side so it was definitely what we needed! We had an amazing time and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Ilona was wonderful, and it was really neat to stay in a farm setting. It's a quick trip into Ft. William and to the Harry Potter (Jacobite) train and to the Glen Nevis mountains. The room was modern and comfortable. Some of the breakfast foods (like the eggs) come straight off the farm. It was fun to have a little bit different bed and breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#29 of 111 in Fort William
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#5 of 111 in Fort William
549 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#19 of 111 in Fort William
177 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travee B&B
Travee B&B
#1 of 2 in Corpach
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torcastle House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torcastle House B&B

Address: Torcastle | Banavie Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Banavie
Price Range: $79 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torcastle House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torcastle House is our family home. Newly built in 2010, we offer a high standard of accommodation and welcome you to stay with us to enjoy the stunning and peaceful setting at Torcastle. Torcastle is accessed through a tunnel under the Caledonian Canal, nestled between the Canal and the River Lochy. Although we are only 5 miles from Fort William it feels like world of its own. Perfect for spotting wildlife including Deer, Red squirrel, Pine Marten, Otter, Heron and stunning natural woodlands to wander through listening to the Owls and Woodpecker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Torcastle House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing