We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class bed and breakfast”

Carinbrook Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banavie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carinbrook Guest House
Ranked #4 of 4 Banavie B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed just one night with Heather at her home. She made us very welcome giving us tea and home made cake on arrival. Our rooms were super, very clean and with everything you could possibly need- a real gem of a b&b. A great breakfast the following morning too! Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

It's hard to add anything to what 'stayfocussed' of Edinburgh and 'FloydsDickieBow' of Cheshire have written -- excellent welcome, tea and cakes; friendly, informative help from Heather and her husband; lovely, comfortable and quiet room; delicious breakfast -- everything was excellent, and it was good value! Ignore 'TonkK95' of Glasgow -- there's always one!

Whilst in Banavie we enjoyed walking along the canal and around the woodland walks near Loch Leven -- flat, easy routes compared to Ben Nevis! We also went to Fort William station to see the steam train, and later rode the diesel train to Malaig for a fraction of the cost but with the same views. For two nights we ate at 'The Moorings' -- good food and an easy walk from the B&B, and on the final night we went to Ben Nevis Inn and enjoyed their food and the live music (see their website for details, and also see my TA review and photos). The icing on the cake was to watch the 'Lord of the Glens' go past the swing bridges and start up 'Neptune's Staircase'

Carinbrook Guest House is an excellent B&B and a good location for walking and lots of other things -- not just climbing Ben Nevis!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowieD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were a group of 6 noisy people who arrived like a whirlwind to disturb the peace of Heather's very comfortable home. We were delighted to be welcomed with tea and home baking which was delicious and plentiful. Heather was a very accommodating, friendly and informative host. The rooms were comfortable, spotless and well equipped and the view of "the Ben" from the lounge window was superb. Breakfast was excellent and Heather provided well for our extremely healthy appetites. We all felt that this B&B offered excellent value for money and we could not fault anything during our all too short two night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stayfocussed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I have stayed at this B&B for the last 10+ years both for business and for leisure purposes and would rather stay here than in many fancy or plain-chain hotels I've had to stay in during my career.

There are very few places on this planet of ours where I feel as comfortable, so welcomed, looked after and as 'at home' as I do here. So I return again and again.

The rooms are immaculate [the standard would give any upmarket hotel a run for it's money] and the views over Ben Nevis stunning [when the Lochaber weather allows]
The home-baking on arrival is plentiful and lovely and the breakfasts really good. Quality local sausages and proper bacon. Last time I knew, Heather made her own live yoghurt for the breakfast buffet and it's thick, creamy and luscious.....

If you happen to be a train buff, then the Jacobite Steam train runs past the house on the other side of the road during season on its way to Glenfinnan [as featured in the Harry Potter film] and then on to Mallaig. Banavie station is a short walking distance from the house if you want to jump on the sprinter service to Mallaig too rather than drive there.

I think you can't go wrong here. In fact it's high time I booked my next stay ......

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FloydsDickieBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

After my breakfast on the first day. I asked for a packed lunch for the following day. It did say that this was an option on the VisitScotland website for this B&B. Heather (the owner) said that they don't do that. Her manner, tone and choice of words as well as that of her husband, is aloof and unhelpful. After all her fuss she did give me a packed lunch.

I stayed in the single room, which was to a good standard. It would have been better if the room was a bit bigger. The B&B is quiet close to the main road. So you can hear the traffic passing. The single room has a loft window looking towards Ben Nevis. Fort William is about 2 miles away.

My stay would have been a lot better if the owners were more welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sophie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
Thank Noémie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banavie hotels
0 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
0 mi away
Torcastle House B&B
Torcastle House B&B
#1 of 4 in Banavie
113 reviews
0 mi away
Culacrick Guest House
Culacrick Guest House
#3 of 4 in Banavie
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carinbrook Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carinbrook Guest House

Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Banavie
Price Range: $83 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing