We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening meal”
Review of The Berwyn Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glyndyfrdwy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Berwyn Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Glyndyfrdwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were on the way to a weekend away in North Wales, and stopped here for an early evening meal at around 6pm on a Friday.
We were a little catious when we found we were the only people in the dining area, but it wasn't a problem.
There was a good selection from the menu, and the meals we chose were well presented and tasty. Service was, as you would have expected given the lack of customers, prompt, and it was friendly.
The price was fine as well, so all in all, a reasonable place to have a meal

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for The Berwyn Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 113 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stopped for a late dinner just after New Year - what a lovely welcoming pub and restaurant. A warm fire and good value, fresh food that is presented with obvious care.

I'm a coeliac and the chef was outstanding - coming out to ask about my gluten free diet, offer multiple choices and then put together a special meal.

Far better service and food for coeliacs (and anyone with a food allergy) than can be had in many International five star restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneSkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

If you think you can see spirits, and not ones in a bottle, then maybe this is the place for you

Seriously though - great place, great people, great location, and well just great :-)

Stay and enjoy your stay, or bumps in the night ha ha :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotorBikeAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Following a great meal & real ale in 2012 we said we will stay here one day. So we stayed 2 nights here in Sept 2013. The things that made a great stay for us:- Clean, comfortable room with excellent en suite with piping hot water. Two quality real ales on hand pumps, good pub food & genuine friendly staff. As mentioned in other reveiws, you will hear the noise in the bar below. (Remember you are staying in a pub not a Hotel) For us Thursday night was very quiet, but Friday a little noisy. I would say avoid Friday/Saturday stays, if the noise is going to be a problem. We will choose an independant trying to make ago in these tough times over a faceless corporate chain. Recommend rooms 1 & 2 for views over the Dee valley. . . . Yes we will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms ! & 2 Have the best veiws over the valley at the back.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Friendly staff, jovial atmosphere, clean rooms, very comfortable bed, good food, great breakfast and view from the dining room windows amazing!! Rooms are not well sound-proofed at all - could hear almost everything going on in pub downstairs til 11pm, and hear vacuum 7am next morning. Good place to stay with ear plugs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anani78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here retuning to wrexham from corwen. We mainly stopped as it offered a childrens soft play area. We had passed the pub years ago when it was closed and always said it could be a lovely place if someone took it on. And we we right !


The lady behind the bar was lovely and showed us round - there is a small bar and lounge at the front - all very traditional with open fires. The main restaurant overlook the river and hills. There is a childrens/family in the back with a soft play area which was great - and cleverly it's done a corridor so the sound doesn't carry to the bar and restaurant (in case this would put anyone off who didn't have children).


The menu in the day is nice are varied from sandwiches and jackets to full meals and steaks. We ordered at the bar and asked if we could eat in the restaurant - the staff were happy to come and get us when the food was ready.


The food itself was gorgeous ! Large child's meal with beautiful homemade mash - a clean plate at the end was a sign of how nice it was. I had the sausage and mash - again the amazing fresh mash, 3 kinds of fresh veg and 6 (yes 6) sausages of various flavours in tasty onion gravy. My husband had the signature Berwyn baguette with chips which was tasty with loads of home cooked beef in the baguette. All the plates were cleared and there was no room for pudding !

We will be back ! This pub is great for families but the main areas are quiet with the lovely open fires as well.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank CheshireGirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stopped here after coming off the boat.
it was dinner time and this is where we drove by and thought we'd pop in as the location looked nice.
We should have left when after my wife, who is a vegetarian ordered a chese sandwhich was told after 10 minutes- 'we dont have any chese!
The young man who I believe was the cook then walked away and the bar man offered my wife a mushroom stroganoff.
My filett steak (medium) had been started so we looked forward to both our meals.

My wifes mushroom stroganoff arrived.............
well; if boiled rice surrounded by tinned mushrooms is said dish, then I am Gordon Ramsey!
My steak was well done and fairly tasteless and the group of flies that joined our table once the food arrived were never invited by us!

We should have kept driving and eat elsewhere.

We did not stay so thats why I have cliked average.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ross0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Berwyn Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berwyn Arms

Address: A5,Holyhead Road,Glyndyfrdwy,Corwen, Glyndyfrdwy LL21 9EY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Glyndyfrdwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glyndyfrdwy
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
country pub with b&b next to river Dee, walking,biking,climbing,cavingactivity sports, etc. fishing,shooting,kyaking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Berwyn Arms Hotel Glyndyfrdwy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing