We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was wonderful once again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Obetz
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We returned to the Comfort Inn Obetz after visiting last year. Everything was nice once again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmw91784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycronin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your recent visit at our Hotel. We certainly enjoyed having you with us.
We consider dedicated and competent staff members our most valuable asset. We are please that you acknowledged our efforts. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Comfort Inn Obetz the next time you are in Columbus, Ohio . We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 206 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is a better than typical hotel in the Choice Hotels chain. I stayed here with my family for one night as we passed through the area on a long trip - the hotel had everything we needed. This property is clean and relatively new with an attractive lounge and breakfast area. Parking is plentiful and mostly well lighted. There is a convenience story adjacent along with fast food restaurants and shopping within a short drive. My room was very clean, well appointed, and quiet. Breakfast was good and fresh, and typical of this class of hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and I had a very pleasant stay. I would recommend it, and I would stay there again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycronin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to tell us of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your recent visit at our Hotel.
Your comments on our performance were most generous and shall be passed on to the appropriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated.
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Comfort Inn Obetz the next time you are in Columbus, Ohio. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here New Years weekend. Nice lobby. Friendly staff. Breakfast was good. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. All of the areas including our room was very clean. Our room was spacious. Lots of towels. Everything worked. Our stay was good. You can't expect to stay at a motel and not have other people around. Go to a deserted island if you want that.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wesley1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycronin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time our of your busy schedule to write sucj a complimentary review. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.
We appreciate your patronage and hope ou will stay with us at the Comfort Inn Obetz the next time you are in Columbus, Ohio. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel is at most a two star facility. I booked it based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor. Now I'm wondering about who writes these reviews. The hotel felt like a halfway house. There were all kinds of people hanging out in the lobby, wandering the halls, riding the elevators up and down. I stay routinely in business hotels, and the feel here was very different - as if the other patrons were living there because they had no where else to be. The workout room was just gross...it had old, fogged windows, no A/C and a small fan. The halls and rooms were clearly at one time smoking areas, which had been sprayed with some sort of commercial perfume to try to get rid of the smell. Otherwise, the rooms were reasonably clean and the people at the front desk friendly. Those are the only reasons I listed the rating as two stars instead of one. If all you are looking for is two star, then this might work for you. If you want more, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycronin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay here with at the Comfort Inn Obetz. As you can tell by our other reviews, this is not the normal experience that people have when staying with us here at the Comfort Inn Obetz. We pride ourselves in our excellent accommodations, clean rooms and friendly staff. I do apologize for all of the people that were here in our lobby and hallways as they were here for a 7 days convention and had booked close to 45 rooms. During their breaks, they would roam around the lobby and pool area. Also, in the past we have had smoking rooms in this facility, but recently went to a 100% smoke free facilty and we are in the process of professionally cleaning all of those rooms. Again, I do apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced and hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were in town for a softball tournament for the weekend. Our entire team stayed in the hotel. The staff was absolutely fabulous! I have never stayed in any hotel that had better customer service - even the luxury hotels. Thank you to Joy and Monica for making our stay a great one. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycronin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Heather,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your recent visit at our Hotel. We certainly enjoyed having your group with us.

We consider dedicated and competent staff members our most valuable asset. I am please that you acknowledged their efforts

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us again at the Comfort Inn Obetz the next time you are in Columbus, OHio. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Joy K. Cronin
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Slightly run down, this hotel is located in a VERY noisy spot. Although I was here for 2 weeks, the front desk was so kind as to give me the room closest to the highway, not to mention right by the noisy elevator. Needless to say, I could only sleep between midnight and 4 when the traffic let up.

But the highlight of my trip was the daily cold showers. Water temps managed to make it up to luke warm on only two days. Nice enough staff, but not at all capable of taking care of issues.

Morning coffee, like the showers, was lukewarm at best. Someone needs to teach the staff to actually close the coffee pump so the coffee will stay warm -- it was open each and every morning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRHappyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycronin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment following your visit to the Comfort Inn Obetz.

I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations, attention, service and consideration we strive for with all of our guests - the type of service we pride ourselves in. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail with our department heads and steps have been taken to ensure these faults are solved promptly and impeccably for our guests.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Comfort Inn Obetz the next time you are in Columbus, Ohio. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,

Joy K. Cronin
Regional Manager
Comfort Inn Obetz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Several church families stayed at this hotel during our church association. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly. No complaints

Room Tip: We stayed in room 221 and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycronin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how we are doing, These comments help us to understand what we are doing well and what we need to improve upon. Please give us a call the next time that you are in the area. We look forward to your group's return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obetz
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#59 of 144 in Columbus
166 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbus/Rickenbacker
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Scioto Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast
6.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Grove City
3.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Columbus Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz

Address: 4870 Old Rathmell Ct, Obetz, OH 43207-4580 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Obetz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Obetz
Price Range: $124 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is designed with Holiday Inn’s newest standard “FORMULA BLUE” where guests can enjoy a modern contemporary feel. This premier location allows convenient access to Grove City, Groveport, Downtown Columbus, Rickenbacker Airport, Fortress Stadium, Berliner Park and OSU “The Shoe”. With all the comforts of home, you can rest in our 100% smoke free and high-tech spacious guestrooms featuring 40 inch LED HDTV, in-room microwave/refrigerator, desk-level electrical outlets and in-room safe box. Start your day with the Express Start™ Breakfast Bar featuring eggs, yogurt, cereal, Cinnamon Rolls and freshly prepared pancakes. Our hotel offers a variety of amenities for our corporate clients; including two fully equipped meeting rooms, and a 24-hours Business Center. Complimentary high-speed Internet access and wireless charging stations. Relax in our indoor heated pool and Fitness Center. We take pride in providing everything you need for a comfortable stress-free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Columbus South - Obetz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Obetz Hotel Groveport
Comfort Inn Groveport
Groveport Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing