We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Bahamas”

Max's Conch Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Bahamian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: There really is only one street in Deadman's Cay of Long Island Bahamas, they don't technically have a street address.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pure Bahamas”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is pure Bahamas! You can keep all your fancy 5 star city pretentious hang-outs - give me this bare-foot bar any day!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    29
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provence
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Bahamian food and atmosphere at its best”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Back on Long Island after 40 years, our family group ate twice at Max's, conveniently located in the centre of the island. Service was a bit slow the first time; but there is no need to hurry on Long Island which is just as laid-back as it was in the 1960's.

The atmosphere is very friendly, and amazingly cosmopolitan for what is still a comparatively remote island. Regulars cluster round Gary's circular bar where he busies himself with food preparation. Diners find places at the simple tables under the straw-roofed shelters. Bahamian music comes from the speakers. The occasional mosquito or sandfly may intrude: bring insect repellent (tho' we were kindly provided with some by the staff).

The best feature (apart from the generous rum-and-cokes and chilled Kalik beers) is the specials board, changed every day according to whatever has been hunted / caught that day. We liked: jerk wild hog (from the south of L.I.), steamed jack (like mackerel), grouper, cracked conch, and Gary's famous and not-to-be-missed conch salad. The fried plantain is also a must.

Gary and his team have all the answers for a convivial and authentic Out Island evening: and you can buy the t-shirt to prove you've been there!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence Town, Long Island, The Bahamas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going to Max's Conch Bar is like finding a new home with great food, and wonderful people.”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The food is very good and varied, from pan fried snapper, to Mutton Stew, conch and crayfish prepared many different ways, to down home pot roast and meat loaf. Try the baked breadfruit,and breadfruit chips (in season), and if there is any soup on the menu...it is outstanding. The owners are the nicest people you would ever meet, and will answer any questions about the island. If you don't go to Max's you will miss a wonderful experience!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best food on the island best bar on the island”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I ate so much food at the conch bar and it was all superb. My favorite turned out to be the conch and I had it every way they offered then some. I also got to try hog fish, red fish, goat, wild boar and some incredible deserts. It was great getting to meet locals and some expats. This place is a must if you are visiting Long Island. Wonderful people and great times. I can't wait to go back. See you soon I hope....

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seti42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice for a stop”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Nice conch, nice atmosphere, nice snack place for a kalik !

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Celine_F3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Conch Bar & Grill also viewed

Long Island, Out Islands
Long Island, Out Islands
 

Been to Max's Conch Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing