We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to experience Fiji”
Review of Sailing Fiji

Sailing Fiji
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Matei
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join us aboard the fast sailing catamaran "LOOPING" for an unforgettable sailing adventure to Paradise. Looping's wide spacious stance will afford you a comfortable, dry, stable ride. An early departure assures ample time for a leisurely sail to a spectacular pristine spot. All our locations vary with the wind direction and your captain will decide on the days destination each morning. Enjoy a morning swim or a world class snorkel or just relax in Looping's expansive nets soaking up the amazing surrounds above gin clear waters with a Kaleidoscopic reef below. A gourmet lunch aboard the yacht is included along with morning, afternoon tea and home baked goodies. You will spend the day exploring the wonders of Fiji's Fabulous Far North, before an afternoon sail back. We have consistently been rated the best activity in Fiji's North so don't miss out! Contact us today for a sailing adventure like no other!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from a Stay & Sail package with Sailing Fiji / Vacala Bay Resort in September/October, and can honestly say it is the only true way to experience the full range of beauty throughout Fiji. We spent 5 days sailing up to the north of Taveuni, with the last day swimming with manta's and snorkeling Rainbow Reef. Unbelievable. We've also sailed a catamaran in the Caribbean, and the corals in Fiji are simply out of this world.

Taking our experience to another level were our hosts, Paul and Helena. Paul’s knowledge of the islands and surrounding waters, and therefore his ability to guide us on any and every adventure, is unmatched. Helena is the perfect compliment, as we have yet to meet, and would bet we won’t ever meet, a soul as kind and hospitable as hers. Nor a chef as miraculous! The food that comes out of her kitchen, either in the resort or on the catamaran, is worth the cost of admission alone.

We are already counting down the days until we can come back and relax in Vacala Bay, and explore more of the islands onboard the amazing catamaran! From the luxurious resort and local island excursions, to the beauty underwater in the soft coral capital of the world, capped by a night above deck under more stars than you’ll ever see anywhere else on earth, this is an experience of a lifetime, and one you can only get with Sailing Fiji / Vacala Bay Resort. Thank you Paul and Heli!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank leahh503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Owner at Sailing Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Bulas Guys and Thank you once again for being such lovely guests! We thoroughly enjoyed our time with you and very much look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow. A big thanks to Paul and Helena for giving up their last free day before their hols to take us out. It's not a cheap trip but it's well worth every penny. They made us feel totally at home on board 'Looping' and we had the most glorious snorkel at Rainbow Reef admiring the corals and beautiful fish. Thanks to Paul's eagle eyes we also saw a turtle. The dolphins cane to play next to the boat too so we couldn't have been happier with the marine life display for us. Then we had lunch on board. What great chefs. The most amazing poppadoms and fresh vegetable salsas and spicy chicken balls / salads appeared. How from such a small boat kitchen I do not know but we were extremely grateful nonetheless. We were even shown their wonderful contemporary pad on top of the hill. What a great place and lovely couple.. we had a great giggle and didn't want to leave even when we did have a lovely massage to look forward to. THANK YOU SO MUCH. Couldn't have been a better end to our honeymoon.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Jules-Indego-Club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

Paul is an excellent captain! We enjoyed visiting remote spots that were spectacular! Trip of a lifetime - exceeded our expectations!

Date of experience: May 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 568judyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Owner at Sailing Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Thanks so much for the lovely review and it was our pleasure having you onboard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Our family of four enjoyed a private trip to a remote island on the looping with Paul and Helena in July 2016. Paul picked us up from our bungalow in Matei and returned us at the end of the day. It was a short trip from Matei to their mooring across the road from their Vacala Bay Resort. As we watched from the trampoline at the front of the Looping, a few feet away dolphins joined us on the way out of the small bay. It was a nice trip to Raranitiqa, a beautiful small island north east of Matei. The weather didn’t cooperate as we’d hoped with some sprinkles and rain part of the time but it didn’t bother us while in the water and there were nice accommodations in the galley / dining area when needed. As expected our time in the water was incredible, seeing all kinds of coral, reef fish, a black tip reef shark, barracuda and a bat ray. Two months earlier my older son and I had completed a Level 1 and 2 freediving course at Catalina Island, California and we were enjoying the clear Fijian water and not having to wear wetsuits, although a 3 mm suit is suggested for a longer time in the water. After getting out of the water we had a wonderful meal and visit with Paul and Helena. It was a fast trip back to Taveuni with strong winds and our younger son played his flute in the galley. All four of us had a great time.

Date of experience: July 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Trav_3468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Owner at Sailing Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

It was lovely having you guys Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Me and my wife went on our honeymoon to Fiji and decided to escape the touristic areas and explore less known islands. We came across the island of Taveuni, very easily accessible from Nadi or Suva (1hr beautiful flight). There we had this amazing sailing experience during a few days on a spacious and very clean catamaran. The skipper and his wife, Paul and Heli, were extremely kind and shared with us all the local secrets of this magical region. We kite surfed, we visited deserted island, beaches, snorkeled with mantas, visited under water volcano craters, fished tuna, etc. All this while being treated with the best "home made" food cooked. While you share the boat, Paul and Heli both make sure you still have your privacy and space. Fully recommend this experience!!!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank andre123465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Owner at Sailing Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

It was our pleasure guys and Thanks again for choosing Sailing Fiji for your holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailing Fiji also viewed

 

Been to Sailing Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing