We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place you never want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I had an unbelievable time at Tuvununu. As with all places I thoroughly enjoy staying it always starts with the people. The people who work there and are drawn to Tuvununu are so awesome and welcoming. I felt as if I was part of the family within days. The kava sessions with music every night were great. I slept in a tent much of the time I was there but the rooms are decent enough. You aren't paying for a nice room and shouldn't expect anything more than a basic dorm room. I would definitely take the maqai trip, what an incredible place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Maravu Taveuni Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 258 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

First of all , this review is not for Tuvununu Lodge but for Maravu Resort.
Like most of the travellers that come to Maravu we were recommended to go there by Bamboo Resort in Nadi. We asked the people at Bamboo what place they would suggest to go to in Fiji since we arrived in Nadi without any specific plans. Pretty much all of them said that Taveuni and especially Nanuku (a small island 12km north of Taveuni) were the best since it wasn't as touristic as the Mamanucas/Yasawaris and landscapewise really beautiful.
Therefore we decided to give it a try for a couple of days and thought if it didn't work out we could still go to the Mamanucas/Yasawaris. Well at the end we ended up staying there our whole time on Fiji because we really enjoyed the time at Maravu and were happy the staff at Bamboo Resort told us to go there.
We think living at Maravu for a while is a bit like joining a big Fijian family or village. When we arrived they immidantly knew us by name and were really friendly and welcoming. Especially the office staff around Akeneta is really helpfull for whatever problem you have. All the other Fijians working there are so friendly as well and take care of you better than you could ask for. Every evening there is a Kava (Fijian cultural drink) round where most of the tourists and the staff sit around a Kava bowl, listen to music, talk and drink Kava, which has a bit of a tiring effect. At least we felt like really getting a feeling for the culture and on our 5 month trip trough over 10 countries we thoght we got to know the culture in Fiji the best. It's not like they try to adapt to Western traditions but invite you to share and get to know their culture what we really enjoyed.
We would also highly recommend to go to Nanuku for as long as you can since it is as close to paradise as it can get. Just imagine the perfect South Pacific island with palm trees, a hammock, crystal blue water and a white sandy beach. Well Nanuku is even a bit better than this. We ended up spending there 5 days only being 3 tourists on the small island and it really felt like we owned paradise for a couple of days. The days we spent relaxing in the sun, reading, having a crab race with Pa (great funny Fijian entertainer) and snorkeling while watching the locals spearfishing our dinner!! While snorkeling we also saw sharks and turtels and were able to have a try at spearfishing. In the evening we also had Kava rounds with a couple of workers who were renovating one of the huts that were really nice since it was only the three of us with the Fijians and the Kava mixture was quite strong. Another highlight on Nanuku where turtle babys hatching and us carrying them back to the sea.
Other than this the food was exeptionally good both at Nanuku (fresh fish!) and Maravu, the bedrooms were spacious and clean, the swimming pool was quite nice and the other day trips we did (waterfall, waterslides) were a lot of fun as well.
For those who are diving. I never had a better dive service anywhere in the world. I basically didn't have to do anything besides breathing underwater. They changed the tanks during dives, handed you fresh towels every time you got out of the water, prepared really nice food and were so friendly too. And of course the underwaterworld is spectecular. So many fish and corals and I even got to see a mantaray that was circeling us for 10 minutes. Also the White Wall is really worth a visit.
All in all our two weeks on Fiji were the highlight of our jouney so far and especially staying at Maravu/Nanuku were responsible for this. Therefore I can highly recommend to check out Maravu and Nanuku when you are visiting Fiji if you want to have a great time.
Special thanks to all the Fijians we got to know: Gaby (Bamboo), Pa, Sitiveni, Ted aka the „Kava Man“, Joe, Waqa (all 5 thanks for a wonderful time on Nanuku), Akeneta, Ann, George, Rafa, Angie, Simon, Pio, Lydia (all Maravu) and all the other names I'm sorry I forgot.

Thanks for the great time we had,

Manu (with Jan)

Room Tip: If you stay in a dorm take one of the double or single beds
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Immanuel_Lutzeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We arrived Taveuni Island running away from the usual american style holiday trip... and we landed in the fijian paradise... it was a 5 star resort, now adapted as a backpacker and also a perfect lodge for couples in the middle of the jungle. We stayed in one of the boungalows with a perfect view on the sea... (the beach is just in front of it, crossing the main road). all the place is built with the locals materials (taken from the jungle), so it looks like an eco lodge... just what we were looking for... the rates includes the breakfast, which it consists on tea or coffee, plus some really good toasts, cereals, milk and fruit. you can also cook your own food, or order the lunch or dinner, so it s up to your budget. but what it made the stay was the staff.... people is so nice here... always smiling, making you feel like home... taking care of you.... sharing their KAVA with you...
So ... you have clean and nice rooms, breakfast included, a kitchen to cook, a pool, friendly people, FREE WIFI , a nice and quiet beach in front of the resort, the option to order meals... so.. you should be asking what else can you ask for..??? well... there is something else ... is it possible to rich the paradise, with a backpacker's budget???,... the answer is YES... and the name of the place is NANUKU ISLAND... it represents the paradise it self... whatever you had imagine about white sandy beach, turquise water, and a whole island for YOUR OWN,... that is NANUKU ISLAND... the staff from the MARRAVu organize day trips there or overnights option... and if you have the time for staying more than a day... don t doubt about it... they take you there on a 2 hour boat trip... and as soon as you are reaching the small island... you don t have words to describe the paradise on where you are about to land.... there is a small hut/boungalow... so it s all for you and the 4-5 people that come with you.... it includes also all the meals... and the main activity of RELAXING AND DOING NOTHING BUT ENJOYING... the guys made a huge fire on the beach... so all together drinking kava .... having and amazing time.... finding shooting stars in the sky... bringing small turtles back to the sea ... so this was my experience... hard to write it... cause you have to feel it by yourself....

Room Tip: just for a small difference on the rate.. if you are two... choose the boungalow private room instea...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mechi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This formerly 5 star resort is now a very cheap place to stay. It is runned by the same people who run Bamboo in Nadi. You can find peace and harmony at this place. You can choose if you take the provided dinner or cook by your own. But you have to try the dinner, it is very delicious.
The staff helps you with everything you need and will lead you to the best offers. They don't sell any drinks, but you can bring own drinks and store them in the freezer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fab956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I must start by saying it beats me why Lonely Planet considers this their “Top Choice”!
The rooms are tasteless and have no character. They also have little privacy because they’re facing a passageway and the window curtain is minimalist.
The impression I had was that there’s always some sort of noise. It could be voices, tools, generator…
The outdoor terrace is fantastic and the meals were fairly good.
If you’re someone who wants to save money, doesn't mind one bit about sleeping conditions, wants to socialize and meet different people every evening while singing and drinking kava, this is the place for you. Otherwise, think again.
...
It would be very unfair to finish my review here because what started as a bit of a nightmare actually became a wonderful experience! That’s because after staying at the lodge for just a couple of hours, I went to the reception to express my deep disappointment about the conditions and they immediately moved me to a wonderful resort at no extra cost! Nonetheless, please bear in mind that my rating is for the lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_fiji_islander, Manager at Maravu Taveuni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Bula vinaka,

thanks for the review and apologies for the confusion. Our Main Lodge building (the one that you refer) has been temporarily closed and our guests are currently upgraded to stay at the Tuvununu's Maravu Lodge (the 'wonderful' resort' that you mention). Unfortunately your stay coincided with the closing period of our main building and thus your unusual situation. We can see from your comments that this was not suitably explained at the time and for this we are sorry, but we are very happy to hear that your stay ended as a wonderful experience and we offer our warm thanks for your lovely feedback.

Vinaka vaka levu,

The Tuvununu Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We arrived on the ferry and were picked up by the lodge. They then took us on a tour of a natural rock slide river, and a beautiful view point. They were very helpful with any activities and had amazing complementary breakfasts- banana pancakes, fresh fruit. There are nice hammocks to rest in and an incredible view. The only problem was the lack of key to the room.... They didn't have it but they did have security on the lodge and we didn't have any trouble. Keep your room closed or else the Mosquitos will eat you alive at night! Good price too!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

So to start with, the tuvununu Lodge is now called "Maravu Plantaion" or "Bamboo Taveuni". Managed by the Bamboo Hostel in Nadi. They also moved to a new complex which was a 5 star resort before.
I have been there for about a months and that alone should speak volumes. The place is just awesome. You are basically ruined for life if you travel on a budget. I can't leave a single bad word here because there simply is nothing bad. Ok, you have to deal with cold outdoor showers and got electricity only in the evenings through a generator. But apart from that. It's just haven on earth. The staff is like in the Bamboo Nadi super friendly and helpful.
The guys offering all different day trips to all the highlights on Taveuni. Make sure you check out Nanuku Island! - Going to be the best lonely island you have ever seen.
Bula and greetz to the Crew! Especially Raffa ;)

Room Tip: Doesn't matter. They are all good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matei
0.8 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
0.1 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#2 of 11 in Taveuni Island
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
38 reviews
23833.1 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
70 reviews
9.9 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#9 of 11 in Taveuni Island
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maravu Taveuni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maravu Taveuni Lodge

Address: Main Coast Road | Taveuni, Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji (Formerly Tuvununu Dive Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island > Matei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Matei
Price Range: $30 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maravu Taveuni Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Taveuni "The Garden Isle", the beautiful plantation setting of Maravu Taveuni Lodge, with 21 well-appointed cottages offers quick and easy access to fascinating jungle, waterfall hikes and Fiji's best dive sites. Surrounded by walking trails and a private white sandy beach within a short walking distance, the Resort itself is styled like a Fijian village. Maravu Taveuni has Deluxe Bures and Honeymoon Bures with outdoor shower, sundeck and solar energy as well as Duplex Units, all with high ceilings, hard wood and island decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maravu Taveuni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing