We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true backpacker experience that takes you out of the electronic world and connects you back with nature!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maravu Taveuni Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A true backpacker experience that takes you out of the electronic world and connects you back with nature!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

To begin Tuvununu is not for those seeking 7 star accommodations. This is a true backpackers adventure! Tuvununu offers amazing day trips that take you to the most amazing and scenic locations you can imagine! The staff is extremely friendly and really makes you feel like a part of the family. I traveled to Fiji alone and felt lost at first. But the staff at bamboo, tuvununu, and White House really took care of me and were such beautiful people I extended my trip TWICE! Taveuni really gives you a taste of real Fijian life. If you want uppity high class accomodations go to Hawaii. Only people with a true heart for culture and kindness deserve Fiji and the hospitality that Fijians offer. I definitely plan to travel back from Los Angeles to Fiji again. These hostels have truly shown me love and graciousness, good times, and fantastic food! From the kava circles, learning Fijian words and songs, to exploring the wilderness and snorkleing amazing reefs. Truly a Great and worthwhile experience. It felt so great to not have wifi and electricity at all hours! I felt so connected to nature instead of involved on the phone with an outside world who would kill to be in Fiji. Take the experience for what it is...spectacular and eye opening!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    75
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
10
81
71
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Tuvununu Dive Lodge is one of a kind. The people here are very friendly and the dinner if you choose to have it is always delicious. I travelled all around fiji for nearly a month and although the standard of accommodation on the Yasawas was higher, it was when staying in Suva and Taveuni that I gained real insight into the Fijian way of life. The kava cermonies every night are informal and not just put on for the sake of the tourists and the staff are always willing to talk about their way of life on the island.

I can recommend a trip to the Bouma National Park and Taveuni Dive. I did my PADI open water with Mila and she was a great instructor, very patient and through. I also went diving with Jewel bubble and although they were very good, they were taking out a very large group of 10/11 people, as a newbie I felt much more confident with Taveuni Dive as there were only small groups of 3/4 and some days I had Mila all to myself.

The dive lodge does look a bit shabby but it is clean. To be honest look at how the local fijian people live in the neighbouring village and then complain about the lodge!!

This to be aware of- place all food and small items in a sealed box. They will give you one if you ask (My headphone cable got chewed by a mouse)
There is no aircon and no pool. If you can't cope with this head for the hotel.
The local supermarket does not stock a large variety of food, if you plan to cook for yourself.
The internet connection is great. The best I had the whole time i was in Fiji
It would be nice if there were some lockers for you valuables, sometimes the hostal could get very busy with guests and visitors and there was no lock on the dorm rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Western, Fiji
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Tuvununu Lodge is an amazing place to stay on Taveuni island. The staff are so accommodating and welcoming. They went out of their way to make our trip as seamless as possible. The Lodge arranged for our pick up from the ferry and organized day trips to the waterfalls and rock slides so that all we had to do was relax and enjoy. They made it all so easy for us to do all of the stuff that we wanted, but it wasn't at the cost of an authentic Fiji experience. It didn't feel like an isolated, touristy activity to go on the trips they had organized for us. Rather, it really felt like we were part of a family. In all of the places I have stayed across the planet, this little gem really moved to the top of the list very quickly. There was genuine consideration and care from the staff that is so rarely found at affordable accommodation options. The location of the Lodge is an ideal jumping point and is situated on a beautiful coastline with stunning views. The food that Mrs. Juliet cooks is absolutely fantastic and on its own worth the journey for. The rooms are spacious and clean and there are so many great people around to meet (locals and tourists). Tuvununu really gets it right by providing a true Fiji experience in a comfortable setting. This is a must-see location in Fiji and a must-do for any traveller looking to meet people, have some fun, and experience a side of Fiji most tourists do not get to see. There really is no question when it comes to where to stay on Taveuni.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RileyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majuro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Tuvununu for 10 nights and loved every minute. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. The food is local, fresh and lovingly prepared. There is kava and music every night. We had a private room and bath for a very reasonable price. Bunk rooms are even cheaper.

Keep in mind that these are rustic accommodations. Electricity is supplied by a generator which doesn't run continuously. Internet was free, when the generator was on. Water to the rooms was not heated. This is the tropics. Who needs water that's artificially heated? The local bus can take you out to the Bouma National Heritage Park or into the more populated areas for dining or shopping. Taxis are generally handy. Tuvununu staff can arrange any number of activities from waterfall hikes to snorkeling trips.

We wanted a clean comfortable experience at a good price. That is exactly what we got.

Taveuni Island is a marvelous place, away from the relentless tourist machine that churns in other parts of Fiji.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful. The meals were delicious, the view was great. The room was comfortable. What more could you ask for? Really loved it here. Highly recommend their sister resorts also. Stayed at all of them. They helped us organise diving, a trip to Qamea and waterfall hike, all recommended.
Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etnorb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Tuvununu lodge is an amazing place too stay . It is only about 5 minute taxi ride from the airport and within walking distance from some local shops and local Fijian villages . The views from the hammock on the deck are beautiful nearby islands in turquoise water . There are great trips to book also scuba diving , waterfalls , costal walk , ect . The food they cook is amazing or you can cook your own and also its very clean . The staff are very helpful and so friendly . I would 100% recommend it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jduffy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Actually, it was not what I was looking for. It is a hostel in the middle of the jungle, no hot water, electric power limited (the generator was switched on from 7:00PM until 12:00AM). It's very hot (without electric power, there is no point to have a fan).
Old mattresses, sheets dirty.
...and I don't look for luxury, usualy travel in a low to mid-rage bugdet...
The people/staff are very helpfull, kind... Lovely for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julio_pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_fiji_islander, Manager at Maravu Taveuni Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Bula vinaka. Thanks for the staff comments and we wish to offer our sincere apologies that we were not the right spot for you. Our housekeeping team has investigated the mattress/sheets, and we have now bought a few new replacements. Our lovely little lodge has been specifically designed for adventurous budget travellers and divers to experience real Fijian style hospitality. For those seeking resort amenities such as hot water, 24 hour power and aircon rooms we highly recommend Garden Island Resort and Taveuni Island Resort. For those seeking a simple, fun, friendly and atmospheric adventure base for the Taveuni area, we recommend to choose Tuvununu :) Vina'a va'a levu and happy travels. The Tuvununu Tribe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matei
0.1 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#1 of 2 in Matei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
23833.2 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 10 in Taveuni Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
23835.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
#3 of 9 in Taveuni Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maravu Taveuni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maravu Taveuni Lodge

Property: Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Address: Main Coast Road | Taveuni, Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji (Formerly Tuvununu Dive Lodge)
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island > Matei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Matei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maravu Taveuni Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Taveuni "The Garden Isle", the beautiful plantation setting of Maravu Taveuni Lodge, with 21 well-appointed cottages offers quick and easy access to fascinating jungle, waterfall hikes and Fiji's best dive sites. Surrounded by walking trails and a private white sandy beach within a short walking distance, the Resort itself is styled like a Fijian village. Maravu Taveuni has Deluxe Bures and Honeymoon Bures with outdoor shower, sundeck and solar energy as well as Duplex Units, all with high ceilings, hard wood and island decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Maravu Taveuni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing