We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'The friendliest people on earth'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Reviewed June 4, 2013

According to my guidebook, Fijians are the friendliest people on earth! Tuvununu hostel was really an amazing place to experience that friendliness. All the staff make it their mission to welcome you and get to know you during your time there. Each night they do a kava session and a mixture of Tuvununu hosts and locals play guitars and sing; so it's an awesome way to get to know locals and travellers. The hostel will organise trips to the nearby attractions (eg snorkelling, hiking, the waterfalls) and will also help you if you want to do it solo. The food they offer (as well as offering free range of the kitchen if you want to do it yourself) is really beautifully done. This part of the island is very close to what are apparently the best dive sites Fiji has to offer and the dive shops will collect you and return you to the hostel each day. I couldn't have been made to feel more at home and miss everyone there already!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely people, good clean rooms, a relaxed atmosphere. The staff really looked after me, cooked great food, entertained us with kava sessions and singing. The waterfalls trip was fantastic, had such a great time here! Also perfect base for diving in the best place in Fiji- the dive master came to the lodge most nights to organize things for us. So easy and stress free!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you wanna come close to the fijian people and culture than go there and enjoy as much as possible. It is a great place with lovely people. They take good care of you and make your stay unforgetable. Join their day trips like diving, snorkeling or hiking to the waterfalls with the locals far away from all these tourists ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

You really feel like you are part of the Fijians' lifestyle here. Set in a remote part of Taveuni Island, the setting is gorgeous. Fun kayaking, delicious meals and wonderfully, hospitable staff.
Linda and Cooke

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had the greatest of pleasure staying for 4 days at this backpackers hotel. If you want luxury and to be waited on hand and foot by local people who are discouraged from talking to you, then go elsewhere. If you want to share in conversations, carva, good food, family life and a caring attitude then come here. They really do welcome you with open arms and then make your stay as fruitful as possible. They arranged for me to join a snokeling group and then organised a guide (who then brought a friend, his wife and his niece) to climb the volcano. A great experience, not easily forgotten. Superbly organised and everyone who was staying there at the time was totally satisfied with every aspect. The value was the icing on the cake. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent there 6 very relaxing days, enjoying the amazing views from the massive front deck terrace... We did have time for everything, as we did our diving course whilst staying there, but you could also do lots of different activities such as hiking, surfing, kayaking, snorkelling, etc... You could experience Fiji lifestyle as well, just taking a quick taxi ride to the nearby villages. It's a great starting point to discover the rest of the area.

The accomodation was basic but very comfortable and, although we did not sign up for their food plan, we could join the meals any time we wanted, and we even did some cooking on Xmas eve.

We loved the kava sessions.

The dog was lovely. If we may suggest it, how about also getting a cat?

Our best wishes to Louisa, Meli and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bre0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Tuvununu was an amazing place to stay! The staff truly go out of their way to help you feel welcome. The atmosphere is relaxed with people to talk to if you wish or enough room to have your own space. The food is absolutely amazing and you can also walk to a near by store. Your stay here can easily turn into longer than you thought. Especially for those that have been travelling a while and you want a wonderful place to stop and recharge, this is it. We have very fond memories here. Thank you again to all of the staff for working so hard.

Room Tip: They are in a line, so doesn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matei
0.8 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
0.1 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
271 reviews
9.9 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 11 in Taveuni Island
250 reviews
10.3 mi away
Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maravu Taveuni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maravu Taveuni Lodge

Address: Main Coast Road | Taveuni, Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji (Formerly Tuvununu Dive Lodge)
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island > Matei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Matei
Price Range: $28 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maravu Taveuni Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Taveuni "The Garden Isle", the beautiful plantation setting of Maravu Taveuni Lodge, with 21 well-appointed cottages offers quick and easy access to fascinating jungle, waterfall hikes and Fiji's best dive sites. Surrounded by walking trails and a private white sandy beach within a short walking distance, the Resort itself is styled like a Fijian village. Maravu Taveuni has Deluxe Bures and Honeymoon Bures with outdoor shower, sundeck and solar energy as well as Duplex Units, all with high ceilings, hard wood and island decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maravu Taveuni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing