We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay, with some wonderful people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay, with some wonderful people”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had the greatest of pleasure staying for 4 days at this backpackers hotel. If you want luxury and to be waited on hand and foot by local people who are discouraged from talking to you, then go elsewhere. If you want to share in conversations, carva, good food, family life and a caring attitude then come here. They really do welcome you with open arms and then make your stay as fruitful as possible. They arranged for me to join a snokeling group and then organised a guide (who then brought a friend, his wife and his niece) to climb the volcano. A great experience, not easily forgotten. Superbly organised and everyone who was staying there at the time was totally satisfied with every aspect. The value was the icing on the cake. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    76
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
10
83
77
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent there 6 very relaxing days, enjoying the amazing views from the massive front deck terrace... We did have time for everything, as we did our diving course whilst staying there, but you could also do lots of different activities such as hiking, surfing, kayaking, snorkelling, etc... You could experience Fiji lifestyle as well, just taking a quick taxi ride to the nearby villages. It's a great starting point to discover the rest of the area.

The accomodation was basic but very comfortable and, although we did not sign up for their food plan, we could join the meals any time we wanted, and we even did some cooking on Xmas eve.

We loved the kava sessions.

The dog was lovely. If we may suggest it, how about also getting a cat?

Our best wishes to Louisa, Meli and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bre0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkport, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Tuvununu was an amazing place to stay! The staff truly go out of their way to help you feel welcome. The atmosphere is relaxed with people to talk to if you wish or enough room to have your own space. The food is absolutely amazing and you can also walk to a near by store. Your stay here can easily turn into longer than you thought. Especially for those that have been travelling a while and you want a wonderful place to stop and recharge, this is it. We have very fond memories here. Thank you again to all of the staff for working so hard.

Room Tip: They are in a line, so doesn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was fortunate enough to visit the garden island of Fiji, had the opportunity to spend 7 nights that turned into 13 nights in this hide-a-way! Wicked value for the price, the staff take good care of you, always greet you with a smile and your name! ( such a awesome detail they have gotten so right! ) I left the place after getting quite attached to the view from the small hammock.
The Food is awesome, price and taste wise. The meals are not compulsory, but if I hade the money, I´d buy 2 meals everyday, if you´re on the cheap, you can cook your own meals, they will share the kitchen with you and they do it with a smile even though I know I might have cramped their space once or twice. I´m sad to say that after a few days after my leaving cyclone Evan pulled into the are, so I have no idea what state it left the people in, I can only hope they are all
well and that they get through this with minimal stress and heartache.
My thoughts go out to all of the good people of Tuvununu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matusala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here with some friends recently and was amazed at the amazing views, which are fully utilised by having a nice big deck.

The atmosphere is very relaxed and quiet, the accomodation is basic but comfortable.

The evening kava and singing ceremonies are absolutely terrific thanks to "Rafa" who plays and sings beautifully.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Awesome place to stay on an amazing Island. I went to Taveuni for five days, and I had opportunities to stay at other places, but Tuvununu had everything and great people. I went for a hike and diving and the staff helped out with everything. Great place to sit back, relax, and get away from any worries. They had activities from volleyball to kava drinking, to just sitting back and talking to the friendly staff. The meals were good, and prices were really good too. I miss this place all the time and I would recommend this place to everyone who is traveling to Taveuni. Great location to dive, and do all activities on the island too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We really liked the place, th kids loved the hammocks on the terrace and the ping pong table. There were even some games, the kids could play with. The free wifi in the afternoons are a plus. Since we did not take the meal plan and cooked on our own, we were treated like outsiders. Also we did not get any information on how to get to the waterfalls except taking their 50 dollar tour. ( we took the bus for 4 dollar)
Once they call you a taxi, a taxidriver friend comes and charges you more than when you call your own. Another funny moment was their calculation: going to town costs 20 dollar in a taxi, sharing a taxi with other guests cost 20 dollar each.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank schwedischer_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_fiji_islander, Manager at Maravu Taveuni Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Bula vinaka,

thanks for the nice comments and apologies for your concerns. Our team has investigated the issues mentioned and wishes to clarify a couple of misunderstandings.

Firstly, the Tuvununu Kitchen offers a Fiji Fusion Meal Plan. This is great option for guests seeking to interact with local cooking styles, local ingredients and local flavours. It is an interactive experience with local culture. For guests who choose to do their own cooking, we warmly welcome access to our guest kitchen facilities. In some instances, such as this, the kitchen staff get a bit bossy when self catering guests repeatedly leave their dishes and the kitchen dirty after cooking ;)

Secondly, the Tuvununu Activities team offers a Waterfall Tour day trip including return transfers, an adventure guide, packed lunch and entry fee for F$50. This Tuvununu's #1 favourite day trip. Based on our incredible guest feedback, we highly recommend it to those seeking the Waterfall Park experience. We also warmly recommend for our guests to make their own way to the Waterfall Park and to explore independently. Riding the local bus to the waterfalls is a fantastic experience. Entry fee to the National Park is F$15 p.p. We apologise for any perceived lack of communication regarding this issue.

Thirdly, the Tuvununu Office team arranges taxi transfers to anywhere on the island. They are instructed to always use the good quality, honest, reliable, local taxi operators to keep our guests safe, happy and punctual. We ensure and guarantee fair and reasonable local prices for our guests for all taxi transfer arranged via our front desk. In this case, the prices quoted are actually incorrect. The transfer price has been misunderstood here.

Considering these issues, it has become obvious that we require a more thorough 'Tuvununu Resort Information Sheet' to eliminate such 'cash oriented' misunderstandings into the future!

Thanks for the valuable feedback and our management team will target improvements accordingly.

Vinaka and happy travels,

The Tuvununu Tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matei
0.2 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
162 reviews
9.8 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 10 in Taveuni Island
234 reviews
23835.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
#3 of 9 in Taveuni Island
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maravu Taveuni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maravu Taveuni Lodge

Property: Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Address: Main Coast Road | Taveuni, Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji (Formerly Tuvununu Dive Lodge)
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island > Matei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Matei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maravu Taveuni Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Taveuni "The Garden Isle", the beautiful plantation setting of Maravu Taveuni Lodge, with 21 well-appointed cottages offers quick and easy access to fascinating jungle, waterfall hikes and Fiji's best dive sites. Surrounded by walking trails and a private white sandy beach within a short walking distance, the Resort itself is styled like a Fijian village. Maravu Taveuni has Deluxe Bures and Honeymoon Bures with outdoor shower, sundeck and solar energy as well as Duplex Units, all with high ceilings, hard wood and island decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Maravu Taveuni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing