We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
105
8
0
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
8
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishprivate dipping pooltunasnorkel tourtaveuni islandworld class cheffamily stylethe lavena coastal walkour night staya special placestar resortfresh flowersblown awaytraditional fijianrobertagranderbuba
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 116 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2017

Our family (2 adults and 2 nearly grown up kids) had a wonderful time at Makaira Resort. There are three bures (separate cottages on a lawn overlooking the shore, lots of palm trees and hibiscus everywhere). We stayed in the Grander Bure, which has 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and an outdoor patio/porch/dining room/kitchen/plunge pool. It was super comfortable for 4 and the staff kept it very clean and full of fresh flowers. We loved breakfasts with fresh tropical fruits and cooked-to-order eggs in the little restaurant, which has an incredibly gorgeous view of the beach, reef and a few boats. We also ate dinner there several times, including the "Japanese Night" feast after a successful tuna-fishing day - amazing sushi, poke, and far more fish than we could eat in several meals! Everyone at Makaira was so friendly and basically adopted us for the week - helping us to arrange our activities, asking for the stories of our day, telling us about Fiji, giving us rides, making special food for our fussy eaters, and so much more. Roberta gave us an amazing snorkel tour of the reef and the work she has done to help it re-grow. Our favorite day trip was the Lavena Coastal Walk - beautiful beach and rainforest and swimming/sliding down a waterfall! Thank you so much to everyone - we miss you and maybe we can come back some day!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aprilc00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Thank you so much for that lovely review. Getting wonderful feedback from our guests really helps to inspire us and lets us all know what we are doing right and what our guests have enjoyed about their stay with us. We really appreciate it when guests take time out of their busy schedules to write a review because generally when they get home they hit the ground running.
Yes Japanese nights are truly a feast with round tummies abounding and left overs for the next day. Not that the regular dinner portions aren't generous but that one is over the top and we have to pace ourselves haha.
We are so happy that you and your lovely family enjoyed your time with us at Makaira and on the beautiful island of Taveuni. We all enjoyed you as well. Some guests just want to be on their own and not be bothered and we respect that for sure, but it is also fun when we have guests that like to become part of the family like your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

My wife and I spent two weeks at Makaira Resort. Had an absolutely wonderful time.

We travelled to Fiji for the diving, and the dive operator Roberta suggested picked us up right by our house 5 different days. Incredible diving. The rest of the days we relaxed and explored. The snorkeling is great right across the street, and as far as you want to paddle north or south. We used their Kayak and Paddleboard extensively, as well as the gratis fins and gear they provide.

Had an terrific fishing trip one day - we caught 13 tuna, and raised 3 marlin. The small staff are all wonderful. Abraham making custom meals, Lorel cutting coconuts and helping out, Baba getting everything working, fresh cookies or home made plaintain chips, room always clean with fresh flowers.

And really enjoyed spending time with John and Roberta. Lots of great stories, while we overlooked the best sunsets ever.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ColoradoWyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are all delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us. You two really really made the most of what Taveuni has to offer and did something grand every day. If you weren't diving, you were playing in the beautiful and abundant sea or exploring the island. Taveuni is really a beautiful island and I am glad you shared that aspect with potential readers, it really helps them to get the concept of what we have to offer on our island paradise. We all also enjoyed both of your company very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

My fiancé and I visited Taveuni at the end of May and we were very lucky to stay in one of the 3 "bures" of Makaira Resort. I say this because we had originally booked another place and (luckily!) in the last moment we changed our mind and decided to go for Makaira. There are not enough words to describe the paradise that John and Roberta have created out there, and the way they made us feel throughout our stay. From the moment we arrived and the staff greeted us with a traditional Fijian song while showing us to our bure we were blown away! And mind you - we stayed in the smallest bure, yet it was absolutely perfect: the view from the terrace, our little private pool, the comfy bed, the fresh flowers that we'd find all around the room each day. Considering how high the cyclone risk is around there and how much damage it causes every time, the resort looks impeccable. Make sure you spare some time to stay in, maybe watch a sunset from the swing bed with a glass of wine and your beloved one by your side... you will never forget it!

We would like to thank Roberta once again for being such an amazing host! She accepted to have dinner with us (which, by the way, was delicious!) on two nights and shared some impressive stories of a life lived by the ocean (she is originally from Hawaii). We really felt like home at Makaira and will definitely return someday! In the meantime, we urge all of you to go and experience this little corner of Paradise for yourselves. Trust a couple who's been to 100+ countries combined ;)

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Andra_Stefanescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Oh my thank you so much for that wonderful review. It warms all of our hearts and encourages us when guests take their precious time to write a review and let us know what we are doing right. Reviews like yours are a great service to potential guests so they get an idea of what we have to offer. Just for the record we all enjoyed both of you immensely and are so glad you decided to choose Makaira. Fun guests are fun. We also get guests who just want to be left alone, so we respect that as well. We tend to let our guests take the lead on how much interaction they prefer. With 100+ countries under your belt, maybe one day you will run out of countries and we hope you decide to come back and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2016

We loved our time at Makaira. The owners and staff are genuinely super friendly, charming, funny and helpful. The setting is stunning and we loved snorkelling in the corals in front of the property. The daily breakfast was great and we enjoyed two amazing dinners with delicious fresh fish caught by captain John (one of the owners).
We ended up staying in two of the three units (the 'sea villa' and the 'Grander bure') and would especially recommend the villa. It is beautiful and really thoughtfully designed.
And definitely schedule a massage from Mary during your stay! One of the best massages I have ever had, and for a great price!
We hope to be back!

Room Tip: Go for the 'sea villa', it is amazing!
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hendrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We get the loveliest guests and both of you are included in that group. I have to agree that Villa is very romantic for a couple with stunning views. Mary really does give the best massages.
We hope you both will be able to return one day and perhaps stay a little longer so you can really relax, decompress and enjoy the island. You can also see how our coral garden project progresses. it is starting to come along quickly. Thanks again for choosing Makaira and writing such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016

Makaira is not a destination, it’s a reflection of the wonderful friends who work so hard to make every moment of your stay enjoyable. A resort without the trappings of the typical 5 or 6 star resorts but far more enjoyable because of the care shown by everyone.
Every day we wondered down to the beach (2 minutes down the drive) and snorkeled in perfect conditions to observer the sea gardens full of corals, small fish, the occasional eel, blue GT and even a fast flying big ray. The water temperature was perfect and as a result we could easily stay if for 1 - 2 hours at a time.
As for food, breakfast was healthy and hearty, served with a big helping of spectacular views… thank you Lucy and Taru. Evening meals at the local restaurants is fun but Lucy’s curry night is a must. We caught the local bus into Somosomo, and walked to the local shops to pick up a supplied so that we could occasionally cook for ourselves… (we like to do this).
Then there was ‘Reef Dancer’, Captain John and Jamie (Mesa)… Now I know that when you charter a boat and head out for a day’s fishing, ‘there are no guarantees’… but when the captain knows the grounds as well as John does, your chances are much better. 7 Yellow Fin (20 – 30 kg) and 4 Big Eye (4 – 8 kg) tuna was the amazing catch… but what really made it for me was the way Captain John handing out the catch to various families… what a privilege to be part of that.
So, my TripAdvisor review is simply… if you need to relax (I mean really relax), if you want to have a great fishing experience, if friendly staff is important and if starched linen isn’t important. Then Makaira is for you.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time for writing that lovely review. Before you both came here your purpose was to relax and recharge and we couldn't be happier that Makaira suited that end for you both.
That certainly was an epic day of fishing. I can't even begin to imagine how many people got to eat fish that day. That had to be near about a half a ton of fish. None of it went to waste not a single bone. Everyone was running around with round happy tummies for sure and singing praises for the 3 of you. We never sell fish it is so nice to spread the wealth because most locals can't afford the fuel to go and hunt for the pelagic fish. The fishing remained good to the point where our cats could no longer eat another bite of scraps. By day 7 they turned up their noses and said NO MORE, we surrender haha.
The two of you were also fabulous guests. Talk about a couple who just enjoys their own company and doing their own thing. Personally I am so glad you both enjoyed our little reef gardening project out front. There is usually always a wow factor when you spend time out there, just enjoying the sea-nery. Maybe one day you will return and if so we would love to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews