We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
105
8
0
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
8
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish private dipping pool tuna snorkel tour taveuni island world class chef family style the lavena coastal walk our night stay a special place star resort fresh flowers blown away traditional fijian roberta grander buba
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 116 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2016

Makaira is not a destination, it’s a reflection of the wonderful friends who work so hard to make every moment of your stay enjoyable. A resort without the trappings of the typical 5 or 6 star resorts but far more enjoyable because of the care shown by everyone.
Every day we wondered down to the beach (2 minutes down the drive) and snorkeled in perfect conditions to observer the sea gardens full of corals, small fish, the occasional eel, blue GT and even a fast flying big ray. The water temperature was perfect and as a result we could easily stay if for 1 - 2 hours at a time.
As for food, breakfast was healthy and hearty, served with a big helping of spectacular views… thank you Lucy and Taru. Evening meals at the local restaurants is fun but Lucy’s curry night is a must. We caught the local bus into Somosomo, and walked to the local shops to pick up a supplied so that we could occasionally cook for ourselves… (we like to do this).
Then there was ‘Reef Dancer’, Captain John and Jamie (Mesa)… Now I know that when you charter a boat and head out for a day’s fishing, ‘there are no guarantees’… but when the captain knows the grounds as well as John does, your chances are much better. 7 Yellow Fin (20 – 30 kg) and 4 Big Eye (4 – 8 kg) tuna was the amazing catch… but what really made it for me was the way Captain John handing out the catch to various families… what a privilege to be part of that.
So, my TripAdvisor review is simply… if you need to relax (I mean really relax), if you want to have a great fishing experience, if friendly staff is important and if starched linen isn’t important. Then Makaira is for you.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time for writing that lovely review. Before you both came here your purpose was to relax and recharge and we couldn't be happier that Makaira suited that end for you both.
That certainly was an epic day of fishing. I can't even begin to imagine how many people got to eat fish that day. That had to be near about a half a ton of fish. None of it went to waste not a single bone. Everyone was running around with round happy tummies for sure and singing praises for the 3 of you. We never sell fish it is so nice to spread the wealth because most locals can't afford the fuel to go and hunt for the pelagic fish. The fishing remained good to the point where our cats could no longer eat another bite of scraps. By day 7 they turned up their noses and said NO MORE, we surrender haha.
The two of you were also fabulous guests. Talk about a couple who just enjoys their own company and doing their own thing. Personally I am so glad you both enjoyed our little reef gardening project out front. There is usually always a wow factor when you spend time out there, just enjoying the sea-nery. Maybe one day you will return and if so we would love to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

A great little place to stay. Set overlooking the beach, we stayed in the Villa thanks to a nice upgrade from the owners. From the welcome song from the staff to the new flowers everyday it was a treat to spend 10 days here. Everything you need for a relaxing stay, and even a nice wee Resturant 5 mins away. Nothing was too much trouble. Lucy's curry night is tremendous, but it's the little things that all the staff bring that makes the place special. Taru's cassava chips which magically appeared when I was thinking about stomach, or Lala and James just passing the time of day. These are the little things that make this place somewhere to treasure.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank MickandStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I didn't get to spend much time with you, but our staff sure enjoyed you both and sang your praises of being absolutely lovely guests. Thanks so much for thinking of us as family. We look forward to hopefully seeing you both again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

My husband surprised me with a trip to Makaira, Taveuni in June, to celebrate a milestone birthday and wedding anniversary. To say it was a perfect holiday simply doesn't do it justice; it was idyllic ...and really beyond words!
We came away with so many wonderful memories;
the peace, beauty and tranquillity of Makaira,
lazing on the deck of our bure; lounging in our infinity pool,
2 days of fishing with the extraordinary, unique Captain John and his wing man James, without whom I would never have caught my first ever Yellowfin Tuna,
quaint villages,
starting each day with a magnificent breakfast cooked by Lucy and ending with an absolutely delicious dinner cooked by Mary and John and served beautifully by lovely Roni,
Lucy's signature curry meal served in our bure,
Roberta's wise and wonderful stories,
Buba, whose humour and knowledge of the island never ceased to amaze us!
Our beautiful bure, spotless, cleaned daily with little touched by Filo and Clara
Tara's reception,
beautiful singing by the staff,
a massage to die for by Mary - who managed to iron out the kinks (my husband, usually anti-massages, sang Mary's praises)
beautiful, gentle, LaLa who taught us how to basket weave and who organised a traditional Kava ceremony on the deck...the staff were gorgeous,
church and beautiful singing on Sunday, swimming in the tropical waters
and the guests ...I think Makaira attracts a certain type of people and we sought out their company (though we could have chosen to be on our own)..
and to top it all off... an exquisite Taveuni pearl necklace from Civa Pearls...to remember our trip to paradise.
Heartfelt thanks to Roberta, John and your staff for making it a holiday we will treasure in our memories always!
Sally and Phil

Room Tip: While all three bures have ocean views, we loved our Ocean view bure; it was absolutely gorgeous - comfortable, spacious, with infinity pool
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sallyabetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful positive review. It really does inspire us. You were such wonderful and charming guests. I think you are right we do attract a certain kind of guest that want to relax and enjoy the island without all the crowds but still not feel like they are abandoned. I have to admit we have a wonderful caring staff and Mary's massages are off the charts. Any and all kinks succumb to her magic fingers.
We couldn't be more thrilled that we are part of your treasured memories. Hmmm maybe you will have to find some more excuses for your husband to give you another surprise vacation here. We would love to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

We spent a week in this beautiful little resort being pampered by the friendly staff. There are only three cottages on the property, spaced well apart, so it is private and peaceful. As the property is on a hill above the beach, all have beautiful sea views, with the view from the Villa perhaps a little better than the other two.

(Note: if you have deferred a holiday here due to worries about damage from Cyclone Winston, you can stop worrying. The resorts are repaired and fully operational, and the tropical gardens as beautiful as ever. Some of the worst hit villages are still rebuilding, and the income from tourism is a welcome boost to the local economy to assist with reconstruction.)

The cottages (or Bure) could be described as "rustic luxury". They are airy, and very comfortable, with everything you could want. The construction is a bit rough in places, but that just seems to add to the charm. Colourful pictures and cushions add to the tropical feel. The bathrooms are large, with oversized showers. And each Bure has its own deck facing the sea with a small pool for cooling off as you watch the sunset.

Just across the road is the beach, with good snorkelling thanks to Roberta's (the proprietor) efforts at coral gardening. What was once quite a damaged area due to cyclones, is now blooming with many kinds of coral and spectacular fishes. We swam alongside a sea turtle one day too. There is a glass bottomed kayak for guests to use, as well as various options for fishing. Roberta's husband John, is an internationally known game fisherman, and you can easily organise a charter fishing trip, leaving from right in front of the resort.

As if all that wasn't enough, the staff are simply wonderful! Lucy cooked our breakfast for us most mornings in a tiny kitchen in a little covered deck overlooking the sea. Her fluffy pancakes, omelettes, fresh cumquat juice, etc got every day off to a great start. Two nights a week, on request, she will also cook a four course dinner for you. Her tasty curries and delicious samosas and coconut pie are highly recommended!

When Lucy wasn't on duty, Taru very capably stepped in. As well as preparing breakfast, and cleaning, these two ladies made sure anything we wanted was arranged, from dinner bookings and taxis, to tours or a wonderful massage. Lala, Lucy's husband, looks after the beautiful gardens and outdoor maintenance, helped by James. Baba was on hand to fix wifi problems, or take you around the island, whilst providing informative commentary. Chatting with the staff also allowed us to gain a greater insight into Fijian life and traditions. By the time we had been there a few days, we felt more like we were visiting with family than tourists at a resort.

If you want to enjoy the beauty of Fiji away from the tourist crowds, and get a little closer to real Fiji, you cannot do better than to spend some time at Makaira.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AvrilN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and informative review. It will be so helpful to other guests to see if Makaira suits what they are looking for. Thank you also for mentioning that all the resorts are up and operational. That really helps to get our economy back on it's feet if visitors start to feel secure in visiting our beautiful island of Taveuni with so much to do in the great outdoors.
Your comments about the Makaira family really do help inspire us so much. I can't begin to tell you how much positive feedback means to everyone at Makaira and we are so grateful you took the time to write a comprehensive review. OF course it is easy for us when we have wonderful guests like you that brings out the best in us with no strain and only what would come naturally. .
Any time you are ready for a return visit we will leave the lights on for you and look forward to it for sure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016

My wife and I spent ten nights at the Makaira Resort. I had read the reviews and we were not disappointed in our experience. We are not large resort people and Makaira's limited amount of accommodation suited us perfectly. We stayed in the "Villa", the view from which was magic. Before our arrival, I was somewhat concerned about both the distance to the beach and the noise from the road in front of the resort, but in fact neither were an issue.
Roberta led us on a guided snorkel tour after our arrival and, although the devastation from the cyclone in February was very obvious, nonetheless there were encouraging signs of some healthy coral and a reasonable number of fish around. Amazing snorkelling was not the main reason for our stay in Taveuni and we just settled into the peace and beauty of the place. Breakfast was included in the tariff and we bought some basic lunch supplies from the shop near the airport. As far as dinner is concerned, guests have a choice of either dining in or dining out. Roberta's husband John is an excellent cook and we elected to dine in whenever he was going to be cooking, which was basically four nights a week. Resort dining facilities would no doubt be available elsewhere but, on the nights when John wasn't cooking, we elected to go to the quite adequate and well located restaurant across the road just below Makaira.
The Guest Relations man, Baba, was excellent during our stay. His service and support were much appreciated during our stay, as was the fluency of his English.
Overall, the staff at Makaira are great and make guests really feel welcome. For the latter part of our stay, we were the only guests and it was wonderful to get to know each staff member. When John was cooking, Roberta sat with us for dinner and she was excellent company.
This was our first visit to Taveuni and we came away with many fond memories, most of which related to the welcome we received at the Makaira Resort and its wonderful staff.

Room Tip: All accommodation offers excellent views
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ge0rge26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. You both are such a lovely couple and fantastic troopers, nothing stopped your from having a great time. I thoroughly enjoyed our time together. Our dinner conversations were great. Just have to say I don't always inflict my dazzling company on all our guests at dinner time haha. There are guests like you two, that come here with inquiring minds and want to really get to know the locals and customs and the lay of the land. That is where I come in handy. Other guests just want privacy and others want a mix, so we kind of feel guests out on their first day to get an idea of what kind of holiday experience they envision. Then we and our very wonderful staff all try our best to make it happen for them.
You two had a great Fijian experience because you got into it, attending local functions, you explored all the activities you were interested in what the island had to offer. It was great fun to hear of your daily adventures. We are all so happy you had a wonderful time with us. Thanks again for the lovely review it really does help to inspire everyone here at Makaira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews