We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommend!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Matei, Taveuni Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IHL2018
Nadi, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Raiwasa Grand Villa is an outstanding luxury property/ location offering everything a 5 star resort offers and more. You have 10 dedicated staff looking after your every need. They are at your service at the push of a button and went out of their way to make sure our short break was everything we wanted it to be. The food created by Richie is outstanding with a great selection of champagne, wines and beer. The view from every angle is stunning and elevated so you can see for miles. Everything Raiwasa offers is about attention to detail even down to the most immaculate gardens we have seen in Fiji. We lead busy lives and came away relaxed and could only wish we could have spent more time enjoying the luxury. Everything about Raiwasa exceeded our expectations and we will certainly be back for more!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
Thank you for posting your review. The garden crew was very happy to hear you enjoyed the gardens; they work tirelessly at keeping the grounds in tiptop shape. We very much enjoyed having you as guests. Please do come again, this time a little longer than 3 days :-).

The whole Raiwasa staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathilde...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfection”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

One word : Perfection. My Raiwasa experience is unforgettable. This place is more than a very high level of luxury resort.. Raiwasa has a soul. It's authentic, and out of the time and space. Everything is anticipated, every wish is provided...
The villa makes you feel at home : beautiful rooms, outdoors bathrooms, stunning pool with view of the ocean... It's like living the dream from the beginning to the end.
I'll definitively come back with my boyfriend to live again this sweet and romantic escape in Paradise.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
Thank you Mathilde we enjoyed having you at Raiwasa. We look forward to your return any time you want.

The whole Raiwasa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieH192...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
4
people found this review helpful

From the moment we made the initial contact with Patrick enquiring about a stay at Raiwasa, we knew we were onto a winner. Before we even boarded our flight to Fiji; Patrick, Richie, Rosie and the team had put an incredible amount of forethought into our arrival. Traveling with young children can be challenging at the best of times, and with our youngest son being on the autism spectrum, it can throw all sorts of additional curve balls. The whole team were incredibly prepared and Rosie jumped in as the little guys personal nanny. She had done research on ASD and after 9 days with him I can honestly say that she understood his quirks as much as many people that have known him his whole life. Rosie is an incredibly patient and kind hearted soul, and she gave us the confidence to go out with our 5 year old - snorkelling on the rainbow reef and out the front of the villa, kayaking to nearby islands, paddle boarding, kayak 'surfing' and hanging out in the gorgeous pool - knowing Mr3 was in safe and loving hands. And he was happy.

We arrived to a gorgeous welcome, with the whole team to greet us with fabulous warmth, beautiful singing, stunning leis. And found ourselves in the most incredibly serene location with views that I cannot do justice to with words. Just incredible.

I am a big foodie - have been a chef for over 25 years, a lot of that time spent running kitchens and working in various 5 star resorts and hotels - and the food we experienced at Raiwasa was as good as, and in many instances even better, than I have seen in a multitude of worldwide locations. The menu was extensive, and Richie was more than happy to adapt and create anything else we felt like eating. Requests for sushi and sashimi platters, goat curry, homemade gluten free breads and baking for Mr 3 and even pain au chocolat for sir, were greeted with enthusiasm and executed perfectly.
The thought and attention to detail that went into every meal was quite astounding, wine pairing and table settings included.
The villa was kept spotlessly clean, with beautiful pure Fiji products in the pristine indoor/outdoor bathrooms and the nicest towels I've ever used. Super comfortable pillow selection too!
It was mind blowing to have such an amazing piece of paradise all to ourselves. Beautifully manicured gardens. A great deal of the fruit and vegetable produce being used in the kitchen is being grown on site - the garden tour is a must!
A short Walk through the property down to the waters edge where we had all the water sports available, (and the option to be accompanied by Sikeli) including snorkelling, hand line fishing, kayaking and paddle boarding.
Bonfires on the beach, lovo in the backyard, day trips to the waterfalls and rainbow reef, to local beaches to hunt for shells, kayaking to local islands, massages overlooking the magnificent Pacific Ocean, and endless hours by the world class pool. We could not have wished for a more perfect holiday.

Heartfelt thanks to the Raiwasa team - as far as perfection goes - you nailed it. We cannot recommend this island dream enough. And words will not convey how magical our holiday was. The place. The people. Thank you. We will be back!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2017
Dear Angie,

Your review is touching and I had no idea you where a chef yourself. Thank you for these kind words and we really enjoyed having you and your family stay with us. Its great to see that you took advantage of everything Raiwasa and Taveuni have to offer. Again we are so grateful for our guests, we work hard to provide you with a unique experience and we are beaming with Joy when it’s appreciated.

Humbly yours,

Patrick and the whole Raiwasa team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
5
people found this review helpful

We spent 14 days at Raiwasa Grand Villa and it was like we landed in Paradise! We decided to elope to get married and have our honeymoon in one place. After an extensive research and a lot of reading about Fiji, we found Taveuni Island. We decided that the island had everything we where looking for, not too touristy, wonderful nature with waterfalls and nature walks and hikes. Beaches and snorkeling and world-class diving and it just looked so tranquil. The island for filled all our needs for adventure and beauty. We where looking for the best accommodation on the island and we decided that privacy and to get a customized wedding and personalized stay was the way we wanted to go. We found Raiwasa by chance (web search) and right away after emailing and talking to Patrick we knew this was it! What he promised us was just 20% of what we received, we where treated to so many surprises.

Everything was so easy from start to end. We just filled in all our wishes and dreams in a form and emailed it to Patrick. From how we imagined the wedding (a down to earth wedding by the ocean, lot’s of flowers and our rings in a shell and just us) to what food we liked and disliked. Everything was absolutely amazing! Our wedding was the best day of our life and the staff at Raiwasa went out of their way to make it extra special and beautiful. They even planted a coconut tree in our name for when we return. Our honeymoon followed after which was amazing. Riche who is the manger and also the chef is outstanding; he made everything just “happen”. He also made food that was so good that we could have just spend all day eating. He is making magic in the kitchen and listen carefully what we liked and did not care for too much and made every dinner customized just for us. Almost everything you eat comes from the garden or the ocean. My husband even dared to try fresh tuna sushi, which he would never eaten at home and he loved it! We bought the platinum package so everything was included from food and drinks to excursion and spa and car with chauffeur! We spent our time between relaxing by the pool and getting massages by the beach. We really wanted to relax and not have other guests making noise around us and this is place is ultra private. If you have a special occasion to celebrate this is a once in a lifetime treat. Besides the absolutely gorgeous place, they also have an incredible "staff" of 10, all for us. Babu, who was our private guide/chauffeur, took us around the island and he has a wealth of knowledge about Taveuni. He is also a very entertaining and funny guy who made us laugh nonstop. Thank you Rosie and Lo we will never forget your laughs and friendly Fijian way of being and how you made everything so incredible special on our wedding day (well everyday was amazing!). The boys in the garden, thank you for all the beautiful decorations on our wedding day and for the great surprise of being dressed as Fijian Warrior and walked me down the isle. We went as I said to relax and have forever memories and we got everything we where looking for in holiday. No stress, no pressure, it's Fiji time. One thing is certain: We will be back to check out our wedding palm tree.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
We were so happy to have played a small role in making your wonderful wedding and honeymoon spectacular. Please come and visit your palm tree as often as you like . Vinaka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darikvolp...
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
6
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Raiwasa April 4-11 2017. From the moment we were greeted by Babu at the airport with a cold water and a huge smile, we knew we were in for something spectacular.

I refer to Raiwasa as my great reset. As the CEO of two software companies, I've had one too many sleepless nights and 80+ hour work weeks. I needed something more than our annual trip to Maui with the kids. I needed serious R&R, something different, a real chance to connect with my wife, get spoiled and fill the soul.

Raiwasa crushed it.

This place combines the best of so many things...a quaint island, an amazing 3-acre villa overlooking the ocean, world-class food, once-in-a-lifetime activities and a staff lead by Richie and Rosie. Trust me, you will be scheming ways to smuggle them back home.

There was a genuine friendship that we developed with everyone that I actually got a bit teared up at the airport. No joke. It's real and difficult to put into words.

This is a special place run by special people. We will be back.

Vinaka Vinaka vaka levu.

Darik and Tiffany Volpa
Reno, Nevada

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Darik and Tiffany,
Thank you for your heart felt review, we really enjoyed having you at Raiwasa and look forward to many more visits in the future. Bring your beautiful girls next time and we will show you what an amazing family vacation can be.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathaR3...
Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True luxury, private and breathtaking view”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Taveuni,the Garden island .... welcome to the paradise.
We just spent 3 days at Raiwasa Grand Villa in Taveuni Fiji. Such amazing location with a very unique view!
I am an Italian national that works in the Food and Beverage hospitality industry since long time,including cruise lines.
I must admit that I was really impressed with the property, it was very well maintained and the view, wow one of the best I have seen in Fiji. The staff was extreme friendly and wanted to help us enjoy our stay.
Richie is the Executive Chef with a great experience in the and you can feel that. The food was exquisite and so well presented, my wife and son also had an amazing time.We will plan on coming back as soon as we have the time off.
Vinaka

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. You are welcome to come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabineCou...
La Garenne-Colombes, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We experienced a few days in paradise on Taveuni, Fiji. My husband and l spent a week in Raiwasa, an unbelievable home. There are no words strong enough to describe how we felt there, like if we owned the home ourselves.

Settled on top of a hill, with the glittering turquoise water at eye level, and surrounded by tropical flowers, palm trees, we were speechless when we arrived. It’s even better than the pictures. Its extremely private, exclusive and low key, but warning, there is no nightlife on the island.

Richie and Rosie and the staff, gave us the best service we had ever experienced, so friendly and personalized. The meals and food presentation where fantastic. They where open to any change we suggested and the food was always perfect! And I am a little of a food snob :)

Rosie with her warm smile, like a fairy, arranged flowers in every corner of the house. What a great couple, nothing we asked from them was impossible and they showed their kindness in everything they did. They made our stay a dream, and leaving them was hard...

Walking in the garden when the sun rose, admiring those rare red palms, tropical fruits hanging here and there, and beautiful flowers made our days even happier! We had some rainy days but the house is conceived in a way that you are outside even when sitting in the living room, so even those days where special.

Sabine B, Paris France

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
Thank You Sabine. You are welcome to come back and enjoy yourself again when it gets dreary in Paris :). Thank you for the nice pictures you sent us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing