We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Hideaways is a little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaways at Palm Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hideaways is a little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in No. 4 for five nts. You could hear the ocean at night, and a lovely kitty adopted me for the entire stay. There was a huge blow-out party at a restaurant at the next property on Fri night. I could hear and enjoy the music, and followed a path to get closer to watch the revelry, but when you're in your little cabin, you don't hear anything to keep you from sleeping. We both slept like logs. Please eat at Splah, the restaurant/bar. The staff is wonderful, the conch fritters are the best we've eaten anywhere in the Caribbean, and the fresh fish, both the sandwiches and the plates, is just wonderful. The Ciabatta bread seems to be homemade. The only thing we were surprised at is the Goffen was just average. WiFi works well, and even if the ofc area is not open yet, sit on the porch in the shade on the side adjacent to the pool, and it works fine. By the way, at least a mini kitchen is in each unit, as well as a nice living room and dining room. In our bedroom, a one bedrm unit, was the only tv. They have larger units. Yes, there was cable tv. The hotel will arrange pick up at the airport. We pd the cab driver, but it can be charged to the rm, we were told. Highly recommend the half day tour with Exuma Water sports. Where your bathing suit. It was about 5 hrs, you go several places, including snorkeling and to see swimming pigs. Full, ice cold cooler, including beer. Be sure to order a homemade rum cake from Phillipa, the skipper's wife, for your stay. It's incredible. I'd call ahead and order one. She's a sweet, friendly lady, and her husband is very personable, helpful, and has great stories. Ignore going over to Chat and Chill; the food was terrible. Nowhere to take cover on that little island in a storm. If you're fit and used to walking a lot, you can walk to town, or take the shuttle with Terry.he's wonderful, will drop you where you want to go, the little town is wonderful. The owner/mgr of the Hideaways built it, and his wife runs the only vet clinic on the island. Sit and talk with the owner, Avery interests, nice guy and a boat capt himself. Perfect place for kids, and you have the whole beach to yourself. Nice pool, and the beach is a min or 2 from your rooms. You're on the beach. Very quiet at nt. I'd never choose Sandals over this place. This is the old Caribbean.

Room Tip: Tell them you want to be away from the Fri night parties. No 4 is centrally located, quiet, not oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robbielane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    159
    34
    20
    5
See reviews for
135
222
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family stayed in #34 last week and it was PERFECT. Right next to the ocean. Steps away from Splash Bar and Grill. A short walk to Jolly beach......one of the most beautiful secluded beaches you will see. It had everything you needed inside, the kitchen was stocked. There was a number of snorkels, fins, water toys, beach chairs, beach towels, DVD's, games to use. It also had it's own laundry room. We will definitely stay at this location again.

Room Tip: Choose #34 or #33. These are furthest away from the bar and they are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RickToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This resort offers a cheap way to visit Great Exuma. It was our second time. We rented the same villa (32) which is in front of the beach and has 2 rooms. It is perfect for a family. Unlike our previous stay which had been booked with Air Canada, we rented directly from the resort's website. We felt that something changed since last year and it relates to a tension you can feel (and read in some reviews here...) between to resort owners and some of the private villa owners who rent directly: fences separating "registered guest only" areas and signs reinforcing what registered guests can do (suggesting what non-registered guests can't...). It is sad to see and feel this. It will likely have a bad impact on everyone's business. This damaging situation aside, we still found it was a good spot from which to boat to the dozens of amazing beaches, sand banks, snorkeling locations, restaurants, etc. We will likely return.

Room Tip: Worth spending a little more for a sea facing villa (32 is probably the best).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominic_Jaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for a week in the town houses with family friends. It was awesome! The boats for day trips pick you up at the dock at the resort which makes getting around very easy. There was also a fish fry near by that you could walk to that had dancing and yummy food. To get to Georgetown, you do have to drive but that was fine with us. We went into town for an afternoon and had dinner in the area. Most of our days were spent going out on boats and exploring the island!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTTraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
322 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This resort is 10 minutes drive from the airport, $30.00 flat fee by taxi one way and you can ask the driver to stop at the supermarket on the road along the way before arriving. Hideaways is 5 minutes drive to George Town by complimentary shuttle. There are older cottages with ocean or garden view by the beach and newer units across the street. I had originally booked a two bedroom sea-island view with a big balcony #214 across the street but then since my party could not come I switched to a one bedroom ocean view with full kitchen #26 in front of one of the two pools, though they charged me an upgrade fee. I arranged my unit with Beverly on the phone, she was very understanding and helpful. Be aware of mosquitoes late afternoon and evening if you want to sit outside in the patio. Two minutes walking distance on the left facing the water along the beach there is a beautiful beach on a secluded bay, which to me is one of the best in the island. Check in is at 4:00 pm and they are quite strict about that, but if you arrive early you can leave your luggage at the reception and take the shuttle to town or wait by the main pool or at the beach. Check out is at 11:00 am and after that is $25.00 an hour fee. I had a flight at 12:40 pm but I wish I had taken the 5:30 pm flight to stay longer at the beach, especially after the last two days of rain. There is a restaurant on site, but there is also another on the beach to the right with music and some local stands 2 minutes drive to the left. There is a supermarket on the way to George Town past the turn on the right where they do not charge the 5% credit card fee. There is another supermarket in George Town. If you like to explore the island and see different beaches it is good to have a rental car, otherwise Latovia, the manager, can help you figure out what to do. Kindly one afternoon she took me to Little Exuma to see the first beach on the left after the bridge and the big Tropic of Cancer Beach. Another day I took the Exuma Cays boat tour with 4C for $160.00 per person not including lunch at Staniel Cay, seeing lots of private islands and some interesting stops, it was really fun. Another day I took the boat taxi to Stocking island $12.00 round trip from the pier in George Town leaving at every hour starting at 10:00 am, beautiful island to hike on the Atlantic side and then back to swim in sand dollar beach, great conch salad at the stand and grilled hog fish at the restaurant. All together I had a nice, relaxing stay, meeting good local people and international travelers from all over.

Room Tip: A room with a view, either across the street or by the pool and the beach, with full kitchen. Not su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laurapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

A great choice for families visiting exuma. Our villa was a 2 bedroom very nice and clean. The grounds are very nice and they have plenty of activities to keep everyone busy. The service I say is a very good instead of an excellent because some of the employees went out of their way to be accommodating and helpful,and couple of others did not.The property also has a nice little restaurant/bar on site and the food was yummy! Me& my family enjoyed our stay at hideaways.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candace070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a very nice 1 bedroom cottage just steps from the beach and one of the pools. Our reservation included free continental breakfast. The cottage had a full kitchen and two full baths along with a pull out sofa. (Unit 22). Complimentary shuttle will take you to Georgetown where there is a grocery store, liquor store, gift shops, bank and a couple restaurants.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
Restaurant serves good "bar" food.
You can rent a car across the street to explore the island.
Excursions can be set up through the office staff or you can just use the resort's kayaks, snorkel gear or Hobie cat. A short walk down the beach takes you to a beautiful, quiet beach where you can enjoy a swim in beautiful water and nap under the shade of a tree. Very quiet and beautiful location to get away from it all!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bhmarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
1.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
2.0 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#4 of 7 in Great Exuma
5.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
268.4 mi away
Hilton At Resorts World Bimini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
8.1 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#6 of 7 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Property: Hideaways at Palm Bay
Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beachfront villas & cottages are available in either studio, 1 or 2 bedroom plans and offer full kitchens or kitchenettes. Decorated and designed with tropical charm, amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fans, private bathrooms, televisions, wireless internet access, full service business center including guest computers. Hideaways Exuma is the ideal location for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Weekly rates are available in our hillside villas and studio rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Vacatia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Hideaways At Palm Bay Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing