We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Escape Spot”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a very nice 1 bedroom cottage just steps from the beach and one of the pools. Our reservation included free continental breakfast. The cottage had a full kitchen and two full baths along with a pull out sofa. (Unit 22). Complimentary shuttle will take you to Georgetown where there is a grocery store, liquor store, gift shops, bank and a couple restaurants.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
Restaurant serves good "bar" food.
You can rent a car across the street to explore the island.
Excursions can be set up through the office staff or you can just use the resort's kayaks, snorkel gear or Hobie cat. A short walk down the beach takes you to a beautiful, quiet beach where you can enjoy a swim in beautiful water and nap under the shade of a tree. Very quiet and beautiful location to get away from it all!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bhmarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    177
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
151
246
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at oceanside cottage #10, the Windmill Palm, and it was perfect. It was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. We were literally 10 steps from the beach, which had decent snorkeling around the 3 "Goat Islands". We were 50 steps from the pool and 75 steps from the restaurant. It was ideal for us. We didn't even bother with a/c since the ocean breezes were so close. The location is excellent, pretty much in the middle of the island, 7 miles from the airport, and the resort provides a free shuttle to George Town.
The staff is friendly and helpful. Definitely try the house cocktail, called a "Splash" in between the pina coladas and Bahama Mamas at the restaurant. "Splash" was created by one of the waitresses, the charming one who channels Betty Boop. Definitely plan and allocate for the all day tour with 4Cs--they'll pick you up at Hideaways and give you a fantastic overview of the stunning Cays up North--the highlight is a short snorkel in Thunderball Grotto, which is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Our preference was for the oceanside cottages. Literally right on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I found this fabulous little hideaway in the Bahamas. It is such a delight to have something like this after having visited the Bahamas before I'm found parts of it being far more commercial than it was years ago. The staff was absolutely wonderful the room was perfect for our needs and there is no nicer water anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swilhelm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

How does sitting on a balcony, overlooking the beautiful colors of the sea, watching the palm trees sway and being bathed in warm tropical breezes sound? Add in friendly people, a beautiful condo and you have Hideaways at Palm Bay. We stayed in a 1brm "Ocean View" unit #207,across the road from the office which was only a 1 minute walk away, in May '14.
Pros-
- Beautiful Jolly Hall Beach is only a 5 minute walk away.
- Free shuttle to town and back runs every 2 hours, 9 - 5.
- Fish Fry area, a group of local eateries with great food and authentic local fare is within walking distance (we ate at Charlies).
- Resort allowed us use of kayaks and snorkeling equipment.
- Island residents and resort staff (esp. Latovia) are extremely friendly and helpful.
- Stocking Island is nearby and reachable by water taxi from town and is worth exploring.

Cons-
- Do your research, the Bahamian government has no information locally available for tourists, they could use an information office in town.
- Prices in stores are high due to items being imported, just like other islands.
- We cannot think of anything negative to say about Hideaways, they even loaned us a cribbage board and deck of cards after we forgot ours!

We would definately return to Hideaways for a future vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamsja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a great time at this resort. We flew down with my inlaws and friends of ours to get married last minute. Palm Bay has everything you could want. It is close to everything. Our Villa was 32 I think and right on the Ocean. I rented a cottage for my inlaws and it was great as well. This is our new vacation spot. We plan on returning with a large group of about 25 at the end of February again this year and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a villa on the beach #30 at Palm Bay Hideaways. Great location! Close to Georgetown, dining options, and about half way to all other places on the island that you would want to explore. Our place was right on the beach, and looking out at that turquoise water every day was fabulous. There is good snorkeling right from the beach there and just a short walk down their beach is a beautiful beach called Jolly Hall beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank want2travelall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at Hideaway the week before March Break. The resort is spotless maintain. As two adults and one child we stayed in garden one bedroom villa, which has a small kitchenette with separate living room. It is quite spacious and adequate for one week stay. If you are looking to get away from the rat race this is the place. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves, and the beach if you have small children is good because it is very calm, warm and quite shallow for a good distance. We had breakfast included in our package. Breakfast was OK, included yoghurt, bread, muffins, fruit and some days boil eggs. Nothing special but we found you don't want eat a lot in hot weather. This is place where you get to know the owner and staff of the resort and they make you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 547sandra12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
1.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
2.0 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#1 of 1 in Stocking Island
173 reviews
11.1 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
297 reviews
8.1 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Great Exuma
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Property: Hideaways at Palm Bay
Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning a trip to the Exumas, look no further than Hideaways at Palm Bay. Our beachfront resort offers you a variety of accommodations, ranging from studio, one & two bedroom cottages to one, two and three bedroom villas. We have it all for you here at Hideaways. Our casual, friendly, and peaceful resort offers you the opportunity to play in the sand on our private beach, or lounge by the pool with a drink in your hand from Splash!, the on site bar and grill. Hideaways was made for you, and our amenities and facilities were designed with you in mind. Offering in suite massage for pampering, complimentary water toys for entertainment, and gorgeous views for enjoying the sunset on our private patio, you will find Hideaways is filled ample opportunity for couples, families, and friends, all to have a great time away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Hideaways At Palm Bay Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing