We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Nearby Hotels
Club Peace & Plenty(George Town)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Augusta Bay Bahamas(George Town)(Great Value!)
$184
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Time Villas(George Town)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$619
$600
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$205
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cottage Cut Villas(George Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
EMBRACE Resort(George Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Yacht Club(George Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveler rating
303
188
53
28
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
188
53
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjolly hall beachsplash barfree shuttlefish frystocking islandfull kitchenwater taxibedroom cottagegreat exumashuttle servicerented a carpaddle boardsclose to townocean sidehotel restaurantexuma marketchat n chill
Filter
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 585 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family rented two villas for the week and we were very pleased with the staff, customer service, and accommodations. We thoroughly enjoyed the small beach at Palm Bay, the free kayaks, free shuttle to Georgetown (every hour between 9 and 5), and the pool. A few surprises were the sand fleas (bring bug spray and anti-itch cream), the snorkel gear is no longer for rent through the front desk (you can get it through a tour company or boat rental in town for $10/day), and we occasionally found ourselves without toilet paper in the villa which the front desk was very quick to help us out! Also, in Georgetown we were sometimes at a loss for what to do at night... perhaps a schedule of events would have been helpful. Overall a very relaxing vacation at Hideaways!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay in villa 214 which we purchased as a getaway through Interval International.

Unit was spacious and clean.The owners and Beverly were very friendly and accomodating. We were able to keep our rental boat there overnight for a low fee. Shuttle to georgetown was nice although it ran every 2 hours some when getting groceries had to take a taxi back which cost 9 bucks.


Concerns/Issues with property/villa:
Kitchen was not well equipped and some of the items in the kitchen did not work.
The main bathroom tub plug did not close so you could take a bath.
Internet was spotty and slow.
Pool was dirty and wasn't kept clean enough.
One of the front staff was not very friendly at all.
No maid service. Cost was about 50/day and to get additional garbage bags was 20 cents per bag.
Beach infront of resort is not nice.
Villa was not ocean side so when you sat out on the balcony all you could hear was the traffic.

Food was very expensive and if you didn't get it the day the food arrived there was slim pickings. We brought meat with us which saved alot.

We rented a boat for two days and saw alot of nice beaches and had some awesome snorkeling.

Visited Chat n Chill. Took almost an hour to get a hamberger. Also got the pig roast meal and it was not worth the 20 dollers per plate. It was very crowded there. Would not visit again.

Jolly Hall beach is just a 5 minute walk away and we enjoyed swimming there.

Overall we had a great time but would probably just rent a home privately instead.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ocean side not up on the hill.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jenlscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at Hideaways for 4 days and it really was heaven on earth. We had a two bedroom, 2 story self-catering apartment next to the beach. The rooms were ok, both with good size on suite bathrooms and TVs but living room and open plan kitchen on the 1st floor was really fantastic for us as a family with two teenagers. The balcony looking out to the sea was also great. The Jolly Hall beach is a 5 minute walk along the beach from the hotel and is idyllic, the water is the clearest I have ever seen. We hired a small motor boat to explore the Islands which was incredible, we were able to moor the boat directly outside our room but this does require some caution because of the tide going out. The restaurant is small and friendly although the service was a bit hit and miss, we also ate at the local snack bars just down the road which were very cheap and tasty. The pool is medium sized and clean.The owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. Overall, we were very happy and would certainly return here to beautiful Exuma and to Palm Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I booked a trip to Hideaways to get away from weather in Central PA the week before Christmas this year. This was our 1st visit to the Bahamas and we had a great time staying there a week. I cannot say enough about their service. Before we arrived, the staff made arrangements to have a taxi pick us up at the airport ($30). Three days before we were to arrive, I found out that a job I had applied for wanted to interview me for a position over the phone. After contacting Hideaways they made arrangments for me to receive a this phone call on a landline in their office and have a secluded place to do the interview!! The owners bent over backwards to help us before we ever got there. When we got there, we were upgraded at no charge from a hillside studio to a hillside 1 bedroom villa with full kitchen which had a fantastic view of the harbor. Simply amazing. The villia was clean with a king bed, and a great porch for breakfast.
The Splash Bar had good food, but like everything in the Bahamas it was slightly expensive. The stuffed cheeseburger was way better than 95% of the restaurant burgers I have had in the US. There is a nice pool area and great beachfront with kayaks available to take out. There is a small reef about 100 yards off into the harbor plus another more secluded beach nearby.
Hideaways is 1.2 mile north of Georgetown (where there is a bank, market, shops, some restaurants), but they provide a shuttle that runs every 2 hours from 9-5pm. A taxi into town will be $10 if you want to go for evening. We walked into town during day, but I would not do so at night. We found fantastic local food located about 1/4 mile south at the Fish Fry, which is a collection of 10 food huts, serving up fantastic dishes, each also has a small bar. We ate at 4 different places (Shirley's, Poor Man Kitchen, Charlies, The Out Deck) which were all fantastic. Walking here is easily do able at night from Hideaways.
One thing if you have the money, is don't rent a car, instead rent a boat for a day or two as everything is much more accessible by boat (Stocking Island, Crab Cay, Fowl Cay, etc.).
If you decide to go to the Exuma Cays trip, and want an different adventerous experience go with Bob at Coastline Adventures, not 4 C's.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room to see the harbor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This property is not upscale or perfect but I cannot say enough nice things about the management and staff. Many businesses say they will treat you like family but these people really do. The beach is not great but it is a short walk to Jolly Hall beach which is beautiful. Its quicker by the road than by the shore. I wish I could stay

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faye57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews