We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful improvements at Palm Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful improvements at Palm Bay”
Reviewed January 16, 2008

We just arrived home from our third stay at Palm Bay in less than three years. As always, our stay was relaxing and stress free. Waking up each morning to the crystal clear waters of Elizabeth Harbor and the lush green of the tropical landscapes around the villas, with a cup of fresh coffee brewed in my own kitchen... Who could ask for more?

It has been so wonderful to watch the resort grow and mature with each new visit. There are some wonderful improvements in the past 9 months since our last visit... The beach was the first and most noticeable change. With the tropical storm that just passed through, it changed the shoreline somewhat and offered a wonderful opportunity for Palm Bay to increase the size of their beach without disturbing the natural environment around the resort and in the bay. There is now a tractor that turns the sand daily to clean and maintain the beach, and keep the sand flies from hatching. The pool/ beach entrance has been moved in order to stop the sand blowing up into the pool area, so the pool is crystal clear now. There is now wireless internet throughout the resort, although taking a computer was absolutely out of the question for me, I was going there to free myself of everything stressful! On the two occasions I wished to use the computer the new computer alcove in the main lobby served my needs more than adequately. The front desk will now arrange various water activities, one being a water shuttle over to Stocking Island, a very convenient and inexpensive service that we took advantage of on our last day there.

We stayed in a two bedroom unit once again, and found it was impeccably clean, well stocked and the maid service was wonderful. They even washed our dishes when I left breakfast bowls in the sink as we were in a rush to get out diving. The professionalism exhibited by the staff and management of Palm Bay is equal or superior to any I have experienced elsewhere on Exuma.

I cant say enough about how wonderfully peaceful and unstressed our time on Exuma is. Thank You to Ron and Bette, Wade and Bev. They have made it possible for us to find the place where "heaven meets earth" and begin our own island dreams of building a home there.

  • Liked — Location, access to beaches and Georgetown, modern and clean
  • Disliked — The beds are a bit hard, a plus for some and a minus for others...
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ckbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    173
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
148
246
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

We are actually just finishing our holiday at Palm Bay and I am writing this review on my laptop in our room as all the rooms have wireless internet.

I must say that we have had a fantastic time as the resort is so freindly quaint and relaxing,

If you walk for 3 mins along the beach you enter what I can honestly describe as one of the best beaches I have ever experienced it is a beautiful sheltered bay that has pure white
gently shelving sand, the water is calm warm and safe, most of the time you have the whole bay to yourself.

The one bed villa we are staying at is on the hillside with breathtaking views out to Stocking Island and only a one minute
walk from the beach and resort facilities.

The food in the restaurant is superb if a little limited, but the restaraunt is shortly to have a complete new extensive menu

Don't miss the Sunday trip to Chat N Chill on Stocking Island the food is great.

Don't come here if you want lots of boozy nightlife but if you want to chill out in paradise then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Relaxation in paradise
  • Disliked — very little
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mikecrofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander Bay, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

2003 stayed at hotel in George Town. Have been back to Exuma each year since then. That's about the best tribute we can pay. Palm Bay Beach Club accomodation is colourfully Bahamian in style, comfortable with out being overdone, and well managed by the resort owners. Food is very good but not gourmet. We have recomended the Resort to our friends.

  • Liked — Colourful but not overdone.
  • Disliked — Island still in early stages of development but we worry about it growing too popular too soon.
  • Stayed March 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 116AAutomobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We went down to Exuma to check out some land I inherited from my father. We chose Palm Bay Beach Club since the price was good and it looked nice on the internet. When we arrived, were given a room near the tiny kidney shaped pool but there was a local youth group staying in all the cabins around us who took over the pool and were extremely loud all day and night. The cottage resembled a hospital room inside but it was adequate. We requested they move us. So they moved us to a cabin up on the hill across the street. I was not exactly happy since I was beachside before. Our room's air conditioner never managed to cool the room and the t.v. next door was left on 24 hours a day blasting sound. We called and complained numerous times and our complaints fell on deaf ears. Finally after 2 days/nights of that we located the maintenance man and MADE him go in and turn it off.
The food in the grill is all fried foods and after a week, I probably left with high blood pressure. I was hoping for fish or conch but none were to be found, just burgers and steak. The drinks are expensive and the food is extremely expensive. A plain caesar salad will cost you $10 w/ no meat.
The beach was very dirty with glass and seaweed everywhere. We didn't understand how this beach was so dirty and the public beach next door was pristine and beautiful. We did use their kayaks that were fun and we appreciated those.
All in all, I wouldn't return and I wouldn't recommend it. For $239 a night, you can find somewhere much better with a clean beach.

  • Liked — Nothing in particular
  • Disliked — The dirty beach
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank melissa40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
1.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
2.0 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#1 of 1 in Stocking Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
11.1 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
8.1 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Great Exuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Property: Hideaways at Palm Bay
Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning a trip to the Exumas, look no further than Hideaways at Palm Bay. Our beachfront resort offers you a variety of accommodations, ranging from studio, one & two bedroom cottages to one, two and three bedroom villas. We have it all for you here at Hideaways. Our casual, friendly, and peaceful resort offers you the opportunity to play in the sand on our private beach, or lounge by the pool with a drink in your hand from Splash!, the on site bar and grill. Hideaways was made for you, and our amenities and facilities were designed with you in mind. Offering in suite massage for pampering, complimentary water toys for entertainment, and gorgeous views for enjoying the sunset on our private patio, you will find Hideaways is filled ample opportunity for couples, families, and friends, all to have a great time away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Hideaways At Palm Bay Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing