We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Nearby Hotels
Club Peace & Plenty(George Town)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Time Villas(George Town)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$619
$600
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas(Long Island)
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$205
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
St Francis Resort(Stocking Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Lumina Point Resort & Spa(Stocking Island)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Exuma Palms Hotel(Great Exuma)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
169
102
41
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
102
41
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrankie bananasfish frysmall hotelstocking islandjolly hall beachwater taxiboutique hotelfamily cottageyogurtgreat exumaminute walkthrough air canada vacationson friday nightscontinental breakfastqueen bedelizabeth harbourwild dolphins
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 328 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at Augusta Bay for four nights. It's a great place that feels very secluded. A word of warning: the information that expedia.ca has on their website about this hotel is WRONG. I hope they update it soon (i.e. there is no DVD player, iPod docking station, business center, poolside bar, in room safe).

THE GOOD
*The rooms were large, and decorated nicely.
*Big comfy bed!
*Lovely big shower
*Great little balcony with gorgeous views (we were on the ground floor)
*Lovely little beach was literally RIGHT in front of the hotel - this was great! Bare in mind though that it's not a 'proper' beach - it's just a small stretch of sand. We took the free kayaks out onto the water though, which was lovely and calm.
*Frankie Bananas is an awesome water-front bar!
*Service was very friendly.
*Free use of kayaks - that was great
*Free wi fi in lobby
*Small hotel, so you definitely feel like you have privacy
*Great location - it's less than a 30 minute walk into town, and less than a 8 minute walk to Fish Fry!
*Breakfast is very basic, but fine - we had no problem with it and enjoyed it (fruit salad, cereal, toast, english muffins, OJ)

THE BAD
*I wish the hotel staff had told us we had free use of kayaks - we didn't find out until our last day
*The restaurant was not very good - we only went one night. The dishes are quite expensive and our food (pasta and a salad) was very sub-par
*There was no milk in the rooms for coffee - sounds silly, but why give us a coffee/tea maker in the room with no milk?

I'd definitely go back - lovely little spot!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with an ocean view. It's worth it!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allyt322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at Augusta Bay for 7 days while in Exuma. I liked the fact that there are only 16 rooms on this property which kept the noise level down-of other guests that is.
Our first night we missed dinner due to being jet lagged and consequently were left to fend for ourselves...only to find that the front desk had closed and the rooms do not come equipped with telephones, so we couldn't call a taxi to take us anywhere to eat. Therefore our dinner consisted of a bag of skittles.
Housekeeping banged on our door the first morning at 8:30 am...(um, Hello I'm in paradise on vacation, I'm not up at 8:00am). So we ended up leaving the "do not disturb" tag on our door everyday. But every morning around 6:30-7:00 am the grounds keepers, the housekeeping staff and the kitchen staff were extremely loud...every morning! Which woke me up every morning...Other then that, I found Augusta Bay relaxing and a nice place to unwind and enjoy the gorgeous blue waters.

The beds and pillows here were very comfy and I enjoyed the shower especially coming back from being out on the water all day. The porch was a nice place to sit in the evening and watch the sunset. Every room has a view of the water and is just steps from the beach.
They offer complementary breakfast (cereal, toast, fruit, pastries, coffee, juice) every morning in the restaurant. Augusta Bay also has free kayaks for their guests to use which was fun to take out onto the water and snorkel around. They even provide bug spray for you, which if you experience anything like we did, you will need it!

Betty at the front desk was always accommodating and helped set up our activities, rental cars and taxis and restaurant recommendations. We absolutely loved Renee and Glen in the restaurant and bar respectively! The food in the restaurant was pretty good. I liked the coconut grouper and the grilled veggie sandwich was one of the best sandwiches I've had as well as the clam chowder. If you stay here know that eating at the restaurant everyday will be very pricey.

Augusta Bay was definitely the best choice on Exuma if you can't stay at or want to be out of the Sandals bubble and can't afford February Point or Grand Isle. The other options are Peace and Plenty which seemed very geriatric and in need of a facelift as well as the Palm Bay next door.
While in Exuma, I suggest renting a car especially to really explore the island and get to your excursions. The taxis are expensive and there really isn't anything within walking distance other than the fish fry. This is something we wish we had known about earlier. Try to make a reservation for a car before you come if possible because it was impossible for us to get a car until our last day in Exuma.

We definitely can't wait to go back to Exuma and see our friends at Augusta Bay again! (especially Augustus the dog!)



***Must do's while in Exuma: Catch A Fire Restaurant-Say "Hi" to Tony the owner behind the bar! Best time to go is Wed/Sat nights for live music and Bahama Obama.
Eddie's Edgewater- Say "Hi" to Renee again and have the lobster! They have Rake and Scrape music on Mon nights.
Take a water taxi to Stocking Island to Chat n Chill and be ready to do just that...You're on island time. Say "Hi" to Elvis driving the water taxi.
Drive to the Tropic of Cancer beach.
An absolute MUST is the Thunderball Tour with Exuma Watersports! Ray and Justin are the BEST tourguides and really show you the beauty and awe of Exuma. This tour made our trip!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flowerD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Had to stay here unplanned when our airplane broke down :-(. Last time imwas here itbwas called 'Peace & Plenty'. New owners and recently renovated. Nice location right on a very shallow bay. Pretty pool area - but they did away with the 'Tiki bar'. Oh wel , food was decent and rooms were comfy.

Room Tip: Ask for a pooll view. Cute little first floor patio!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparky92350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The property has been recently renovated. The room was very nice, comfy bed, large ,tiled bathroom with shower. All the staff were very friendly and accomodating. This small, 16 room, property is all about laying back and relaxing. Ocean view was superb. Our accomodation included continental breakfast, and that's just what it was, no more, no less. If you wanted a full breakfast, it was availible for a fee. The island is all about snorkling, fishing, swimming and laying back. If you are looking to be entetained all the time, you probably should look elsewhere. Found the locals to be genuinly friendly, offering rides, advise and local history and folklore. No pushy peddlars or salemanship, all very polite and respectful. A great place to "Get away from it all"!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HEDZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a amazing trip to Augusta Bay, Nov. 20-27th.
We were warmly greeted by Betty upon arrival, shown to an spectacular oceanview room
on the second floor where we had coffee every morning on our patio to start the day.
We rented a car which was brought to our hotel and drove from one end of the island to the
other, stopping at Santana's for lobster and then playing the back nine at Sandals where
every hole is an oceanview. We also went deep sea fishing with Neville one day from Starfish who docks his boat at Augusta Bay and we caught a 22 Lb. Mahi Mahi and a small tuna which
the chef at our hotel served to us by making sushi with the tuna and the Mahi Mahi was
blackened, what a meal! Oh of course many a glass of wine and Kalik beer was consumed
during our trip. If you do nothing else...RENT A BOAT from Minn's and tour around Stocking Island and the deserted beaches and sand bars, it's a day you will remember!
The Driftwood cafe is just beside Minn's, you can get freshly made sandwiches,drinks to
go to take with you when you rent the boat.
Bring your snorkelling gear on the boat or John at Augusta Bay will be happy to lend you some if you don't have any. If you keep the boat overnight, you can dock it at the hotel to get an early start.
Also you can snorkel right in front of the hotel. A short walk to the beautiful Jolly Hall beach
is a must as it beautiful and quiet and a great place just to hang out.
You will meet John as he is always available on the premises as is Betty and are happy to give you some help with whatever you want to do or if you need some assisstance.
Go to "Catch a Fire" to watch the sun set just up the road for a couple of drinks and something to eat. Driving consists of one main highway so as long as you keep to the left, no problem.
All I can say is Augusta Bay is the place to stay in Exuma if you want to experience the
charm,beautiful scenery, friendly people, excellent food and service that will keep you coming
back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has great views but all rooms face the ocean
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swampy601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews