We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“STAY AT THE CAYS”
Sunset at The Cays
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset at The Cays
The Cays Pool Sunloungers on The Cays Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Sunset at The Cays
The Cays Pool
Sunloungers on The Cays Beach
Aerial View of The Cays
Location of The Cays on Great Exuma, Bahamas
Blue Water
Another Spectacular Sunset at The Cays
Bonefishing
Blue Water Bedroom
Airwood Exterior
Deck
Airwood Bedroom
Exterior
Airwood Living Room
AirWood Kitchen
Blue Water
Blue Water Living
Blue Water Kitchen
Waters Edge Bedroom
Waters Edge Kitchen/Living
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
George Town, Great Exuma, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Lpottsss
Asheville
1 review
“STAY AT THE CAYS”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Amazing. Coconut Cottage was spotless, beautiful and perfect for what we wanted. We cooked, fished, relaxed and snorkeled at nearby beaches. It accommodated all 7 of us flawlessly and it is truly a home away from home. Norman and Julie are super cool folks and went out their way for us (especially my husband). Not to mention the pups that literally greeted us with SMILES!! Couldn't ask for better. STAY AT THE CAYS. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Please return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleflow...
United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Completely exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at the waterfront house for a week, with our four daughter. We had such a brilliant time, and Norman and Julie couldn't have been better hosts. The house was immaculate and the surrounding grounds and pool were too, and beautiful. We loved hanging out in the evenings at the BYO bar, chatting and getting to know other guests - swapping hilarious stories more often than not (what goes on tour stays on tour!).
Exuma itself is a wonderful island, with near deserted beaches, but plenty to do - hire a boat from Georgetown and explore the bay for a day, or take a kayak out, snorkelling, visit the world famous pigs, wonderful people, clear, clear water, white, white sand... and the list goes on. So much to see, so little time! We will definitely be going back, not soon enough sadly, but we will be back! Thanks, Norman and Julie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to your return visit in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff a
Goodview, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a wonderful place to stay Norman and Julie made sure we had the information needed to find the hidden beaches and places to eat. We will stay at the cays anytime we come back to visit. Thank You Norman and Julie for a great week and wonderful vacation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hospitatlity and quite place no crowds
Liked least: everything was great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Thank you Jeff.

Please come backmsoon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D
Senoia, Georgia
1 review
“My Happy Place”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What can I say, we LOVE The Cays. It's not just a vacation home, it is a "home away from home." Norman and Julie are wonderful. Exuma is beautiful, but the highlight of each day is watching the sunset while recapping our day with Norman, Julie, and other residents/visitors. The homes at The Cays are comfortable, clean, and have just about everything you would need for your stay. I highly recommend The Cays if you are planning a visit to Exuma.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good times
Liked least: Nothing, loved it all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohhhhhlis...
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, laid back accomodations”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My sister, friend and I stayed at the Cays (#2 yellow house) for 5 days this past April. Communication with Norm was easy and prompt and we were able to get our place booked very quickly and overall, it was very affordable. The house was nice and spacious and we were all able to have our own room and bathroom. It was nice to have washer and dryer available especially after spending days out on the boat or beach. The kitchen was equipped with all basic kitchen essentials. The property was also very nice and well landscaped with a communal bar area near the pool/hammock area where we met other guests and Julie (Norm was out of town most of the time we were there - though he did make it a point to greet us when he got back, which was very nice of him!!)

Exuma was such a great little island with the friendliest of people!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2016
THank yu for your review, please come back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon K
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our best vacations beautiful, peaceful, delightful!”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our home at the Cays was a spotless, well appointed 3 bedroom, 3 bath house with huge living room and porches for sitting and a view to the sea..and there's a nice pool for a quick dip. There is everything that you need or want in the house and Norman was a delightful host. He has lived in Exuma for quite a while and was able to give us great information about things to do and where to go. If you are interested in fishing, he is your man. The Cays are on the west side, rocky with boat access, There are kayaks and wonderful sunsets. And it is only a very short drive to a long gorgeous white sand beach which was ours to enjoy all by ourselves. There are so many incredibly beautiful beaches with such bright turquoise water that's so clear! We hope to return very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, spacious, good location, great host, had everything we needed and more
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2016
Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to your return very soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redheadje...
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Can't recommend Coconut Cottage at The Cays enough. Norman Wells, the developer of the settlement is manager of the site and the beautiful individual homes, which are each owned privately.

Coconut Cottage is a beautiful home that was absolutely spotless and equipped with everything you can imagine needing, including a fully functioning washer and dryer and dishwasher and a clever fresh drinking water system that uses the large water-cooler type bottles (you can refill them for $5 each at the Lumberyard down the road -- a considerable savings off individual bottles or gallons).

We ended up loving staying in a home that was not so isolated -- there are about a dozen homes at the Cays, but they are positioned and landscaped in such a way you really don't see anyone unless you want to. When you do, you'll find people in the pool and on the chairs and at the bar area...never a crowd but always a friendly conversation if you want. There's a central pool and BYOB bar down near the water, which is the bonefish flats on the Western side of the island -- so you get beautiful, breathtaking sunsets.

Coconut Cottage does not have a water view, but you get a lovely breeze on the porch and can stroll down to the chairs and hammocks at the waterfront for all of the view you want.

Norman is always available -- he spends much of the day puttering around tightening this and straightening that. Together with Kevin the landscaper, they keep the grounds lovely. But at 5:00 it's tools down for Norm and a seat at the bar with a Heineken, where he will regale you with stories about his life in the British Navy and as an IT consultant who travelled the world. He's got a few fish tales as well -- he's an avid fly fisherman on the bonefish flats.

And conveniently, Catch a Fire bar and restaurant is a short jaunt along the waterfront or the road. It had great music one night. And decent meals. And our waitress Siobhan was amazing (more than once).

The Cays was as reasonably priced a Caribbean vacation you could want -- the full service kitchen makes it completely possible to cook every meal at home if you want. It is conveniently located 15 minutes south of the airport, and within a few miles of Prime Meats (great place to buy fresh and cooked meats and coldcuts) and Smitty's (an okay grocery store with a good liquor store next door) and about 15 minutes to Downtown Georgetown where Exuma Market has a great selection of groceries.

You can be at a gorgeous beach on the East side in no time...so don't let the location stop you -- it's protected from the heavy winds much of the time and extremely close to the other beaches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2016
Thank you for this great review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing