We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value, Far exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Johnston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Far exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked a double room for a week in February to visit my family in Llangym and i have to admit we were very pleasently surprised.

On arrival ill be honest we did not have very high expectations as the place looks quite bedraggled on the outside but as soon as we got through the door everything changed. Lovely cosy restaurant area which looks fairly new and incredibly friendly staff who checked us in.

The room was perfect for our needs and we would of been happy paying £20.00 more per night. Fairly roomy for the price with all of the basic amenities and very clean. Yes you do not get all of the mod-cons such as an ironing board or complimentary toiletries in the room but you do not expect if for the price which is fine! An added bonus is the fact that you can park your car directly outside the door.

Breakfast was very good and we were allowed as much toast & coffee as we wanted for no extra price. The evening meals are excellent which was a surprise, we have reviewed this on there restaurant page.

We used to stay in a hotel in Haverfordwest at double the price but in all honesty this place is superior in every way and i can see ourselves coming here annually for the far foreseeable future.

One little niggle is that they do not have the reception or bar open untill 3:00pm which does make you feel a bit "on your own" however the boss mentioned to us that they are having an exterior renovation before the Summer and will then be open for lunchtimes.

Take the Silverdale as it is, budget accommodation done very well. Its nice to see a family run motel in this day and age with the boom in corporate owned travel lodges.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 21 which was completly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
35
27
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have been twice for food now and I have to say it was fantastic. The presentation of the food, the taste and the efficient friendly service is first class. Well worth a visit. Excellent value for money. I just need an excuse now to go again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank daisy8216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

A lovely restuarant with a young chef working hard to produce stunning food a real treat for us the lamb is beautiful the lady on the reception is wonderful overall a must for anybody looking for a fine dining experience in pembrokeshire

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Keelybrooke8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I am a local resident in Pembrokeshire and I always struggle to find a good restaurant. I enjoyed a three course Christmas meal here and it was exceptional. All three dishes were homemade and faultless. I will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOFO126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I had to come to Haverfordwest with price being an issue this was the cheapest in the area. With this in mind we were not expecting 5* accommodation however it was clean and the staff very friendly. We had a couple of minor issues such as heating but any problems we did have were sorted straight away. At the time there was extensive work being carried out in the restaurant so we did not eat there and to be honest would have never given it a try if it wasn't for some friends also staying there later on in the year. They too had booked searching for the cheapest place they could find and after a long drive didn't want to go far from their room. The restaurant decor is nothing to sing about however it is clean with some nice touches. I was expecting some nice home cooked "pub grub" and would have been more than happy with that but was extremely surprised as it was superb. Presented beautifully and with a taste to match. Not a huge menu which I think is a good sign as a few dishes cooked well is better than a large menu cooked average. Not one person on the table of 6 was disappointed. The menu was priced similar to what you would get in a typical Wetherspoons but the presentation and taste was far from it. I am looking forward to going again with friends and hopes it lives up to the high bench mark the restaurant has set.

To summarize, if you are looking for a room that is purely a place to sleep with budget in mind then you can not go wrong. The restaurant is the big sell for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Silverdale Inn in Johnstone, Haverfordwest is a small family run concern, the room we had was the Family room, bunkbeds for the grandchildren and double bed for us, which was a pleasant change as normally we get single beds. The room was adequate and comfy with tea/coffee making facilities en suite bathroom and Television which the children found great whilst waiting for nanny and granddad. We thought we had booked bed and breakfast, on later inspection we had not, so please double check when you book. Breakfast consists of a full English, but they will do other meals if you ask it, cereal for the one grandaughter, bacon sandwich for the other and toast for me you just might mention you don't have the full breakfast as you will get charged for it unless as I say you mention otherwise, it is then amended no problem, my grandchildren were impressed at the layout of the tables and the view from the windows, they could see rabbits having their breakfast as well. The owner was a really pleasant chatty man who came round constantly asking if everything was allright and if we wanted anything extra. The only thing that lets this lovely Motel down is its outward appearance and driveway, it could do with a fresh lick of paint and the potholes filling in, both of which Bronwen on reception said were going to be done soon. this motel is in a really good situation about 25 mins from Saunderfoot, 30/35mins from Tenby and 15 mins from Broadhaven Sands, so it's a bargain and a pleasure to stay in, I hope it doesn't put it's prices up and spoil itself. I would stay there again no problem

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Staying for 2 nights, room comfortable, clean with excellent view of the garden (lots of wildlife and a kestrel killing a pigeon) Warm welcome on arrival easy to find. Booked a table in the restaurant for the evening, not much to see and do around Johnston but worth the journey and a stay if only for the food! Has to be one of the best meals ever, superb quality, presentation and service,don't disregard this place because of the budget price and location, if you love quality food you MUST visit here. I'm going to be sorry for posting this review because this place well and truly deserves the highest recognition, and I'm not going to be able to get a table! SUPERB

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnston
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
6.4 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.2 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 6 in Haverfordwest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverdale Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverdale Inn & Lodge

Property: Silverdale Inn & Lodge
Address: Vine Road, Johnston, Haverfordwest SA62 3NZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Johnston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Johnston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverdale Inn & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverdale Inn & Lodge is a family run establishment set in the heart of Pembrokeshire. Featuring 21 fully en-suite bedrooms, large grounds and ample private parking. We also have a newly refurbished restaurant serving exceptional, home-made, modern british cuisine to the public and hotel guests alike! We have also been included in the 2013 Good Food Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Silverdale Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverdale Inn & Lodge Pembrokeshire/Johnston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing