We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“PARADISE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Luna Azul
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Certificate of Excellence
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PARADISE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We loved our stay. Everything was perfect- the rooms, grounds, pool, view, staff, food and drinks. The hotel is intimate and well thought out. Rolf was so sweet with our 7 and 9yr old- let them help in the kitchen one night. We are definitely returning in 2014.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nicoledevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    9
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
101
182
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is my idea of paradise. Beautiful views, lush landscape, spacious rooms and fabulous food . The hosts are gracious and very helpful in arranging excursions or pointing you to areas of interest. We visited a waterfall that is mostly frequented by locals . They also have a small but exquisite gift shop that had some of the best Costa Rican crafts I have seen (came home with 3 pieces). I have stayed here twice and plan to come back whenever I am in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrancov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

No words to describe the feel of Hotel Luna Azul. The accommodations are lovely-- so clean, tranquil and comfortable, and the restaurant and pool are PERFECT! I will always remember Rolf who was an incredibly conscientious host. I was pinching myself in disbelief when he sat with my 11-year-old to help her with her Spanish homework. This is surely a place like no other.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Throughout our recent trip to Costa Rica, our party of ten consistently recounted our memories and experiences at the Hotel Luna Azul as a major highlight. We loved the accommodations, as the owners were able to maintain a feeling of natural tranquility and local charm while providing a good level of comfort. We did not opt for the additional A/C and did get a little hot by the end of the day, but we loved waking up with fresh air. I was able to do some exercises in the morning on our private balcony, and a group of howler monkeys decided to visit the trees right adjacent to two of the rooms, so that was very exciting to witness! We visited 3 beaches from our visit--Playa Nosara, where we enjoyed surfing for the first time, Playa Ostional--a black sand beach--where we unfortunately did not get to see turtles due to the full moon and dry season combination, and Playa San Juanillo, a cove-like beach area where we enjoyed an amazing boat ride, and you have to ask for Captain Mike by asking locals where to find him. I want to mention the astounding quality and service we experienced. We were really blown away. I especially loved the avocado and shrimp salad, the mango and avocado salad, and the fresh local fish. The kids loved the breakfasts and, in particular, the fresh fruit and homemade jam make with 6 local fruits. It was a lovely stay that will have a lasting impression on our family, and it is the one place that I'd really love to return to someday soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our first time to Costa Rica and we will be back to Hotel Luna Azul to visit Rolf, Andreas, Fino along with the rest of the pleasant smiling Luna Azul staff. We actually read the reviews on trip advisor and booked it from reading them alone, you have to go, then you get what guest are talking about, it is just beautiful and peaceful and just what we wanted peace and quiet with relaxation. . Now our stay was for two weeks - and it was just lovely and full of fantastic adventures recommended by Rolf and Andreas. We had one day where we didn't go out on a venture where we enjoyed the beautiful pool, view, birds, monkeys and the peace and quiet along with a good book. We had so many outstanding day trips thanks to the suggestions of Rolf and Andreas - we went on a Tom Car Monkey tour - what a trip through the jungel, river beds, the birds, the monekys and just the good old adventure of it all was a lot of fun and a great company that runs the tours; the bird watching tour was oh so interesting and neat would do that again; the swiming with a turtle was also a first for us and having dolphins play along side the boat - we actually did this one twice it was so lovely being out on the water; the ziplining well was fun, except i was nervous but i survived it and said it was fun once it was over; our numerous day trips to different spots were all just great; The team just recommended and arranged such great adventures for us - it was just a fantastic trip you could do as little or as much (we did the much) as you wanted. We wouldn't have changed one thing that we did on the trip. Also i have to say the breakfast every day was great with a lovely bowl of fruit, yogurt, granola, eggs, rice, bacon or ham - it keps us going all day and the coffee they serve is lovely - make sure you go to the grocery store and bring some home, better then getting it at the airport! Rey and Britt both a lovely brew. Our dinners we lovely as well - and if you ask in advance they will make your favorite - okay i had the curried shrimp about five times,. We have fantastic photos of the howler monkey's that we saw almost daily sometimes from a distance but they were around and you could hear them, cool sounds the hole time with great brids - just writing this review while i'm back at work and thinking mmmmm when can we get back to our little home away from home. Thanks again Hotel Luna Azul for a great trip!

Room Tip: All of the rooms would be lovely - there are two rooms that face the pacific ocean we had one of tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisandCsaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I meant to write a review since my trip last March and finally get around to it. Rolf and Andreas are great hosts and own a gem in a special place. If you want lots of action, not your place, but if you want to relax and listen to the monkeys howl, stay here. Breakfast and dinner are also great and the kids loved Momo! We hope to be back some day...

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

At the end of a 3 week trip to Costa Rica we spent 5 nights in the tastefully appointed Parrot room.
Excellent standards prevail at the Luna Azul, from the design, furnishings, cleanliness and food through to the quality of service from the genial hosts Rolf and Andreas, ably assisted by resident professional tail wagger Fino. All other staff were equally professional. We appreciated the attention to detail, for example, the pretty dinner table arrangement on the evening of my birthday.
Rolf and Andreas gave us good advice regarding local activities, eateries and ammenities plus the use of reference books, useful for amateur wildlife spotters like us.
We don't like to be 'fussed around'; the level of service at the Luna Azul was ideal: attentive and friendly in an informal, relaxed atmosphere.
We have no hesitation in recommending this classy little hotel where, from the moment of arrival you are made tio feel welcome and can unwind in a stunning environment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostional
3.4 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
16.2 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
20.8 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Property: Hotel Luna Azul
Address: 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing