We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost don't want to share this gem!”
Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Luna Azul
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2008

What an exceptional place! Elegant, tasteful...yet casual and relaxing. The setting and the food were particularly outstanding. But most special were the hosts - we felt more like we were staying at the beautiful country home of European friends, than at a hotel, though with plenty of privacy too. We were there during the rainy season and had a lot of trouble getting there because of the local rivers with no bridges! But Rolf and Andreas couldn't have gone out of their way more to help us - they are just incredibly hospitable, and leave no details unattended. We especially loved sitting in the open air dining room area, with a drink, looking out at the beautiful views - even in the rain it was wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 410 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2008

Hotel Luna Azul is a hidden gem! We had heard from friends that this was an amazing hotel, and our expectations were high. It turned out to be even better than we had hoped for. The cabins, the restaurant, the location, the hospitality, the monkeys and the birds, the outdoor showers, the pool, the delicious breakfast, the absence of internet connection, phones and TVs...... Hotel Luna Azul is a place apart from this world where you can totally relax. My kids totally loved the place. Luna Azul is located at a secluded spot, not far from a beautiful, quiet and safe beach. It is far enough, but not too far from Nosara. A place not to be missed if you visit Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Falcon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

My Girlfrieind and I planned a spontaneous surf trip to Costa Rica. We were looking for a special place to stay. More importatently, we did not want to make a lodging mistake. After extensive research through various Cost Rica lodging websites we found Luna Azul to be appealing. We spent two weeks in the country, 10 days at Luna Azul and a few days traveling to other areas and checking out other hotels that we had noticed while searching. After our experience, we feel that we found the best place to stay and stumbled on the best area of the country, we were both elated and really cherished our stay and experience in that region and at Luna Azul. They have a really nice website and It's hard to believe, but the the resorts looks better then the photos on the website. Pure slice of heaven coupled with hospitality and service that is uncommon. My Girlfriend, who has really great taste, was really impressed with everything. Our room, had an open shower, was incredbly clean and very stylish, modern but with local flair. 5 star with a touch of class is the best way to describe this hotel. On a side note, our best memories were not of surfing (and we are both avid surfer) but of all the other amazing things we did, such as an amazing jungle horse back ride, zip line tour through the mountains, romantic walks on the beach. And last but not least, the food was exceptional, really exceptional and very fairly priced. We can go on forever but if you are planning to stay there, prepare yourself for a wonderful surprise. We found paradise and we hope to be back there soon.

Joe and Tammy

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank saveyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Luna Azul became our little beloved paradise during our trip through Costa Rica, we arrived there by coincidence, after a hell of a journey by car (we got stucked in the mud!). And there it was, in the middle of pure nature, this beautiful treasure. It's heavenly, the way Rolf and Andreas treat their visitors, full of warm hospitality and charm. And the house itself... I would forget so many details, just go there and experience the beauty and refined design of it, have your shower in the outdoor bathroom, watch the sunset while having the marvellous food they serve, and feel so close to heaven, like we felt. This is a place for life-artists, for those who live by 'carpe diem'.

Barbara (Belgium)

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank Lune31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

We are currently living in Costa Rica - and everyday life is good. But being Europeans we enjoyed Luna Azul emmensely (visited twice).

Cleanliness is high above Costa Rican standard. Towels in rooms abundant. Property is just a sight for sore "dry season eyes". Food is very nice surprise - excellent meals originating from Costa Rican and tropical traditions and local goods, with a personal, swiss touch. Yummi!

The place is very much about details - details that all add up to making this a haven and an excellent getaway for long term stayers like ourselves.

Just go there. I can't imagine what would make you regret it. And visit Ostional beach for turtles while you're there.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank Ildri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

me and my boy-friend, we spent wonderful, relaxing days at hotel luna azul in costa rica.
after an adventure trip in corcovado and travelling around in the country, we really needed a quiet place and some privacy. we spent four nights in the spacious "pacific" cottage - great view from a private terrace and an open air shower including. the infinity pool is on top of a well-cultivated garden. lots of beautiful birds are resting in the trees. the breakfast is served on the terrace of the main house and has been very delicious. you should stay also for dinner as it really matches the food quality at a top restaurant here in switzerland.
but decidedly the best of the hotel are the owners. thank you, ralf and andreas! we really did enjoy staying with you at your little paradise! greetings from home.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perfect_trip_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

We have just returned from our stay at Hotel Luna Azul. It was our third visit there and we will always return when we visit Costa Rica!!

The owners and hosts, Rolf and Andreas have appointed the property and the restaurant exquisitely. The gourmet menu is planned daily and is always delicious. Each private cabina is decorated in a beautiful theme, opening out to the rainforrest and spectacular ocean views.

We have enjoyed our return trips to Luna Azul and it is always so comforting to come back to the staff and the palce we can call home!!!

Laura and Jim Mandas

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank Mandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostional
4.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
3.4 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
260 reviews
6.9 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 22 in Nosara
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
16.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Address: | 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Price Range: $137 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing