We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Luna Azul
Nearby Hotels
Albergue Arribadas(Ostional)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge(Nosara)
$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Living Hotel(Nosara)(Great Value!)
$130
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KayaSol Surf Hotel(Nosara)(Great Value!)
$139
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gardens Hotel(Nosara)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda(Nosara)(Great Value!)
$104
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sunset Shack(Nosara)(Great Value!)
$130
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
410
11
5
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
11
5
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerinfinity poolcosta ricahowler monkeyseggsyogurtboutique hotelbreakfast and dinnerexcellent foodattention to detaileach morninga special placerental carpollorainy seasonblack labham
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 433 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our stay at the hotel Luna Azul was my favorite stop during our trip to Costa Rica. The owners were warm, courteous, professional, and work nonstop serving their guests (I don't know how they do it). As requested, our room had a scenic view of the Pacific. Everything at Luna Azul (bungalow, food, service, and outdoor shower) was better than advertised. The only thing between our room and the Pacific, was the forest, birds, and monkeys. Make sure you have at least 3-4 days to spend at Luna Azul - you will want to stay longer. Playa Ostional and Playa San Juanillo were very scenic, deserted, void of tourists, yet easy for public to access.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

It's hard to add anything to the superlative reviews the Hotel Luna Azul has already received -- simply put, this is a wonderful hotel made truly unique for two reasons -- the hospitality of the owners/hosts, Rolf and Andreas; and the incredible beauty of the Ostional region. Perhaps I can add something to the other excellent reviews by elaborating a bit on the area. To get to the hotel, you need to be good at route finding and be willing to drive an hour on gravel roads. The roads are not really that bad (I'm from New Mexico, so I love rough roads!), and you don't really need four wheel drive, although it makes sense to rent one anytime you go to Costa Rica. The nearby beach in San Juanillo is our favorite anywhere, and the nesting turtles are truly one of the wonders of the world. If you want bars and nightlife, go somewhere else. If you don't like getting lost once in awhile and exploring backroads, go somewhere else. If all you want to do is drink mai tais and lay out by the pool, go somewhere else. If you want to see one of the most special places in the world before it changes, in a setting of grace and beauty, go to Hotel Luna Azul.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DewayneMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have visited this charming hotel on three occasions and look forward to many more visits. The owners,Rolf and Andreas , will do everything they can to assure that your visit meets your expectations. Nestled in a dry rainforest the property offers individual casitas for couples as well as for families. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and there is plenty of opportunity for wildlife viewing. The hotel also features an infinity pool and a four star restaurant,where the meals are consistently excellent. Often the Olive Ridley Turtles are nesting at near by Playa Ostional. If you are fortunate , you may see thousands of turtles nesting en mass. Contact Rolf through the hotel's website and he will be happy to advise when to visit,to best see the turtles.

The hotel is off the beaten track and requires a bit of an effort to get to but this is part of its charm. Every time we visit Hotel Luna Azul we are amazed that Rolf and Andreas have created this wonderful hotel in such a remote location.

Visit Hotel Luna Azul,you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have been coming to CR every year since 2006 and try to see and visit new areas each time. Hotel Luna Azul in Ostional is a wonderful find in a very beautiful place. Luna Azul sits prominently on a knoll overlooking the ocean from a distance as well as the jungle treetops all around. The layout and architecture of the hotel and bungalos is very tasteful and the views quite impressive. Rolf and Andreas are exceptionally gracious hosts and the meals prepared at their restaurant are amongst the most creative and delicious that we have encountered in Latin America. We've enjoyed the experience at Luna Azul so much that we returned for a second time recently and are already planning a third visit in the near future. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

During our third trip to Costa Rica (every time different region) we were fortunate to visit Ostional area with it's one of a kind character. Unquestionable beauty of the nature, laid back atmosphere created by the mixture of easy going local population and professional, yet friendly treatment offered by most of the business owners, made our visit in Ostional a pleasurable experience.
We've stayed at the Hotel Luna Azul for five days. Our bungalow with the jungle/ocean view, lovely terrace and the outdoor shower was very comfortable. Gourmet meals were always fresh, prepared with attention to detail, served with a smile. Because we love our eggs in the morning with fresh avocado, beautiful rosettes tastefully created from the fruit slices were there for us whenever we've asked. Just another little thing to make a visitor happy.
The owners Rolf and Andreas seem to run their business with a Swiss precision (they are from Switzerland). On top of their hospitality and friendliness, they are tactful. They can tell when their guests need attention, they also know if their vistors need personal space.
If you need some guidance in regards to local attractions, travel tips, there's no better source of information than your hosts. Rolf and Andreas know all the right people and places in the area.

So, if you are looking for this special, quiet place near the ocean, far from it all, and you enjoy to be surrounded by the trees, plants and colorful birds, this is the place. Loud pop music or rock will not attack your ears at Luna Azul. Soft jazz may accompany your meals at the resaturant. And the staff members will know exactly when you are ready for your second "cervesa" or "Margarita" by the infinity pool. To get there, you'll have a bumpy ride (roads are well...Costa Rican ; ). When you get there, you'll relax in style. We hope our pictures do justice to this incredible place.

Room Tip: For more privacy, ask for an oceanview bungalow.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amadode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews