We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad owners”
Review of Luna Azul

Luna Azul
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ostional
Cuisines: Central American, Steakhouse, Latin, Seafood, Mediterranean, Spanish, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: LUNA AZUL is a charming Boutique Hotel, Health and Nature Lodge located in Playa Ostional on Costa Rica's northwest Pacific Coast. Its close vicinity to the world famous turtle beach of Ostional makes Luna Azul the ultimate place for the observation of the big "arribadas" when hundreds of thousands of marine sea turtles are landing at night for nesting. You will never forget this unique experience again! Luna Azul offers you elegant lodging in spacious bungalows, fine dining in our ocean view restaurant and all the amenities of our health center: Medical massages, homeopathic treatments, Reiki classes.... The swiss owners being a Zoologist and a Homeopathic Doctor will host you personally and offer you the relaxing atmosphere you deserve during your vacation!
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very bad owners”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This restaurent really looks great so you would expect te same with the food. The fish we ate was too salty and vegetables where frozen....you would expect fresh vegetables in this price range....The owners are really full of themselves, so rude...they make you feel unwelcomed. We where a small group, quiet , we didn't do anything wrong and the things they told us where so innapropriate....Big deception, they have a beautifull hotel, but to be treated this way is not worth spending any time there. Will never go again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quincy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellunaazul, Owner at Luna Azul, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Frozen vegetables? That's something we do not even know what it is, something that never existed in almost 10 years of our restaurant. Are you sure that you have been at our place and don't mix us up with another restaurant? Or did you eventually want to write a fake review to do a favour to somebody else...? We are known as very friendly people who like the contact with our guests, everybody is always very welcome at our place. Here again: have you eventually mixed us up with another restaurant where you had problems with the management?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    4
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Gourmet food in a gorgeous location with great service.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were a guest of the hotel, so we got to take advantage of the wonderful restaurant with some frequency. Everything we had was delicious. The cuisine is very sophisticated and European in inspiration--especially for dinners.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Racandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Four star dining at Hotel Luna Azul”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel three times and have consistently found the food to be excellent. The ingredients are always fresh and are prepared with a European flare. It is a real bonus having such high quality cuisine available at your hotel (the hotel is wonderful as well).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Beautiful food in a "pinch yourself" beautiful setting. The staff (owners?) are warm, pleasant, gracious... pretty much everything you could want. The chalkboard menu is small (about 5 apps and 5 entrees) and we tried most of them since we were a group of 7. Fantastic food. Try the queso haoulmi, beef chimmichuri, camarones azul, or gnocchi con hogos. They even offered to make pasta marinara for the kids. The fresh bread with perfectly herbed butter was a nice and unexpected touch. This is a perfect stop if you want to have a nice dinner and kill some time before seeing the turtles on Ostional. It is a bit expensive (apps ranged from about $8 to $16, entrees from about $12 to $22), but they do take credit cards. If I lived in Costa Rica, this would be my regular haunt, for sure!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gourmet Restaurant far from it all”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Gourmet meals, attention to detail, great service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank amadode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Azul also viewed

Ostional, Province of Guanacaste
San Juanillo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
San Juanillo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing