We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class accommodation!”
Review of Roch Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Roch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a babymoon holiday for a few days in Wales, as it so happened to fall within the midst of winter (so flying out of the country was a bit of a turn-off as we couldn't afford any flight delays due to work nor any pregnancy complications to happen out of nowhere), and we all know that during this time of year, everywhere will be windy, stormy, chilly and wet. We decided to go for Wales because that's where hubby comes from and at the same time we took the opportunity to visit his family. Driving up to Pembrokeshire would have been an initial assumption of "mad" during this time of year, and it was, but we loved it.

Despite my heavier-than-usual belly being carried around with me, I thoroughly enjoyed my babymoon mainly because of our stay in Roch Castle. Also despite the stormy weather outside, inside the castle was so serene, modern, and posh. I have to mention that it was SPOTLESS too. I normally don't take baths wherever I go due to my exceptional OCD with cleanliness, but their bath tub was so shiny clean I had to take baths everyday! People would assume "castles" with chills, emptiness, solitude and creep. But no, this was a castle on the outside, but a five-star hotel on the inside. It was amazing.

If you get lucky like us, you could have the whole castle to yourselves if no one else has booked on the same night. There are only four rooms in the whole castle. A very big lounge room, small kitchen, separate dining room (which is really big as well and the layout is brilliant), a tiny "gym" room upstairs, a "study" room, and of course the ground floor "reception". It is not exactly a reception because after you're welcomed in, the "porter" will give you a set of keys, leaves every day between 4-5pm and that leaves you having the place to yourself. In the morning, breakfast is served between 8-10am and you have a choice of two hot breakfast on the menu, accompanied by croissants, bread, yoghurts, cereals, fresh fruits, etc. I have to say the breakfast was absolutely fantastic. No need for criticism!

Lastly, I'm surprised there are not many reviews about this castle yet. Probably not the easiest to find and get to, but trust me once you are there, it is so worth it. We had such a fun time exploring, relaxing, eating, having baths, listening to music out loud (they have mp3 speakers in the room!)… even struggling to close the castle doors due to the STRONG, heavy winds was fun! Sure it got scary at first, but we couldn't stop laughing after the whole ordeal.

What can I say - a babymoon to remember! Thanks, Roch Castle!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twistedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write this fantastic review. I am really pleased to read you had such a great time with us at Roch Castle. As you mention in your review the Castle is spotlessly clean, our housekeepers take great pride in ensuring attention to detail. It will give me great pleasure in letting them know you have taken your time to mention the cleanliness of the Castle. As you also mention, our breakfast is aIso outstanding, we endevour to use as many fresh local ingredients as possible to provided that fresh local flavour. I hope the the wind didnt scare you too much, it was rather windy during your stay..... probably the most windy seen in the area for a very long time. We hope that you can pay us a visit in the not too distant future and I sincerley hope the weatheris beer on your next visit. Once again, thank you for your review and we llok forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
Group General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Roch Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 314 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

January 2014.We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Roch Castle.From start to finish it was amazing. As soon as you see the castle its" WOW" and thats just the start .Inside is ultra modern.The views are breath taking.Our anniversary was on the Monday a day we'll never forget.We were King and Queen for a day - the castle to ourselves, a chef and waiter too! What more could you ask for? Special thanks to Darren our chef for the night the food was amazing and Ben too for looking after us.If you want somewhere special, this is it! Be sure to book the chef -you won't be disappointed.Thanks to every one at Roch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleassed to hear you had a great anniversary stay with us at Roch Castle and that everything was perfect for you. As you mention, the Castle is WOW and the views are just amazing. I will personally pass on your comments to Darren and Ben who I know will appriciate the mention in your review.
We hope you can make another visit very soonand look forward to seeing you again.
Once again, thank you for your review.
Gerwyn Morgan
Group General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I recently spent 2 nights here over the festive season. On arrival we were warm greeted by the day manager of the hotel she was pleasant and took us to our room. I have to say the rooms were beautiful and a very good size. The breakfast was hand made and were all local produce. Overall the stay was fantastic and would recommend it to anyone.
We shall be retuning next year in the summer!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cardiffgirl257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for you review. I am please to see you had a great stay with us. As you mention, we take great pride in our breakfast offering and whenever possible we source local fresh ingredients.
We hope you will return to visit us soon. I will pass on your comments to my great team.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed at Roch castle for my 40th with my family. We also hired the chef for the fine dining experience. Absolutely fantastic food,location,and views with a high quality interior. The staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Already booked up for our next trip. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hello Mr Attwood, thank you for a fantastic review and I am please to see that have had such a great time with us in your birthday, that you have decided to return to see us again in March.
We all look forward to welcomeing you and your family back and I'm sure you'll have a great time again.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
Group General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a night spent at Roch Castle.

The surroundings / views are absolutely superb. The interior is mind blowing! Ultra modern with all the necessary vintage touches!

Breakfast was superb, a traditional locally sourced welsh breakfast!

We will definetaly be returning! See you soon!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for this great review. I am oleased that you had such a good time at Roch Castle and hope that you will be able to return soon. I will pass on all of your comments to the staff who looked after you during your stay.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I arranged for my wife to have her 40th birthday celebrations at the Castle this summer.

Firstly, the place is stunning - if you want an event with WOW FACTOR you should travel as far as possible to have your event here. Inside is just beautiful - the detailing is incredible.

Most importantly for me, as a family man, was the fact that whilst this is a mature venue, the kids were made to feel entirely welcome and at home. THAT is a rare achievement.

Finally, I have to say the event would only have been half as successful if we didn't have a young man called Sam looking after us. This chap is a sensation and the owners need to ensure they keep him as he would be the reason I book again. He made us feel welcome as guests but at the same time made it feel like it was our home for the weekend.

If you are considering having an event here I cannot urge you enough to just do it - take the plunge ...... you will not be disappointed.

If you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damian_davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for this fantastic review. As you mention, the property does have the WOW factor and is outstanding. All of our great team go that extra mile to make EVERY guest, young or (older), feel more than relaxed and welcome. We hope your stay was so good that it won't be too long before you return to see us.

I will let all the team know you have left this great review and in particular, I will let Sam know you have given im a mention as well.
Once again, thank you.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
Group General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Retreats_GroupLtd, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roch
8.0 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
213 reviews
14.2 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,204 reviews
10.4 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
235 reviews
19.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
5.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roch Castle Hotel

Address: Roch, Roch, Haverfordwest SA62 6AQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Roch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Roch
Price Range: $229 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roch Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roch Castle, dating back to the 12th century, is a unique heritage property with an intriguing history. Built on a granite outcrop high above the incredible landscape of Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, this Norman Castle has stunning panoramic views over St Brides Bay and the Preseli Hills. Set in 10 acres of beautiful grounds and only a few minutes drive to the nearest Blue Flag beach Newgale, where you can stroll the vast expanse of sandy beach for almost two miles, Roch Castle is ideally located for your Pembrokeshire adventure. The Castle offers luxury accommodation, with six characteristic en-suite bedrooms. The Court Room lounge is furnished with comfortable sofas where you can truly relax with a little Chapel and Cloisters hideaways. Adjacent to the Court Room is the jewel of the castle, the Sun Room, located on the fourth floor, it has floor to ceiling glass walls and an alfresco viewing platform within the battlements of the castle, offering panoramic sea and countryside views. Private dining is available on request in advance for groups of eight or more guests. Alternatively, for individual stays, we will be delighted to reserve a table at local restaurants on your behalf. Rates include breakfast, VAT, parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Roch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing