We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Harp plays all the right notes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harp at Letterston

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Harp at Letterston
Ranked #1 of 3 Letterston B&B and Inns
Bournville UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Harp plays all the right notes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Rooms are superb. Very well appointed with all modern furniture and accessories.  Wifi is available in the rooms and works very well. It is also available in the main building but is not as strong as in the rooms. It was noted that the rooms have plug on Wifi. 

Food on the night was excellent although a fairly long wait as it was freshly cooked. Garlic bread to start was a baguette covered with cheese and garlic. Had to be eaten with a knife and fork! I think this was the best garlic bread I have ever had. My  Wife had spare ribs which looked delicious. For the main course I had a large fish and chips which was lovely and my wife had Plaice, a whole Plaice which she thoroughly enjoyed. 

Rhys the bar man was very attentive and polite throughout. He seems to control most of the work. He greeted us on arrival,  showed us to our room, served us drinks late afternoon and took our dinner order on the night. He also served us breakfast the following day.  The breakfast was very good indeed, the eggs are free range and laid by their own hens. Perhaps my only complaint would be that my fried egg was over cooked. The bacon was lovely as well as the homemade sausage. 

There are plenty of areas to sit at tables, in fact you are spoilt for choice. However, what is missing is soft relaxing seating. 

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. Five of these are in the very well appointed annex conversions. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delboy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    25
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
40
67
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I booked a room at the Harp for an over night stay last week. Accommadation was of a really good standard. Food (evening meal and breakfast) was great. You could not fault all the staff who were excellent and could not do enough to help in any way.
A big thank you to the owners who have done a fab job with the place and go out of their way to make your stay special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good points:
Really good accommodation and breakfast, the rooms are comfortable and beautifully appointed.
Lots of thought gone into the design and stylish decor. Quality breakfast with fresh ingredients.

Room for thought:
The welcome although curteous felt a little too businesslike ...... the breakfast area felt like a bar ..... and noise insulation is not a strong point.

Overall one of the better places to stay and we would do so again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colininire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Three of us enjoyed a very good lunch here the other day.Good food and excellent service.we were not staying here but the accommodation looked good.

We would go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Booked a room at the Harp because we needed accommodation in Letterston for a singing tour weekend, but find we had fallen on our feet and couldn't have been more comfortable or well looked after. We were staying in the Aberfelin room and found it to be comfortable, beautifully decorated and stylised with a fabulous bathroom with lovely powerful shower and hugh warm towels.
Rebecca was friendly and welcoming and had learly worked hard with her husband Giles to create the accommodation in the first plce, but also worked hard all weekend to attend to our and other guests' needs.
After a good night's sleep in the warm, comfortable bed we were served by Rebecca herself a delicious cooked breakfast with plenty of choice which was cooked to order with as much tea and coffee as we could drink, and advice and guidance of good places to visit in the local area.

Excellent value for money for a weekend stay and perfectly located for our needs both for our trip and as a base to visit different parts of Pembrokeshire.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fransflowers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Amidst the rolling fog and driving rain of a summer's holiday in Wales we stumbled in to the Harp at the end of a long day of driving. And what a find it was. The rooms here are absolutely great - as good as any I've stayed in before. The owners have paid attention to every detail and I can assure you it will be the one of the most comfortable places you will have stayed in. The rooms are les than 20m away from the pub but enough distance that patron noise won't bother you. The pub itself is very good and I was amazed how busy the restaurant got on a Tuesday night. The only reason this place doesn't get a full 5 stars is that there isn't much to do in the immediate vicinity but it is a brilliant base for travel throughout south Wales, or if you're taking the ferry the next day. In many ways, the place's isolation is another of it's many assets. Top place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel - the rooms are to a very high standard and very comfortable. The only thing it misses is some nice comfy sofas in the bar/lounge for pre and post supper conversation.

Room Tip: All rooms are to a very high standard - you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshlady05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterston
1.7 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
10.8 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Seaview Hotel
The Seaview Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
8.0 mi away
East Hook Farm & Country House
East Hook Farm & Country House
#3 of 50 in Haverfordwest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harp at Letterston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harp at Letterston

Property: The Harp at Letterston
Address: 31 Haverfordwest Road, Letterston SA62 5UA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Letterston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Letterston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harp at Letterston 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Harp at Letterston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing