We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Park Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Royal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed October 27, 2008

The area is much nicer than we expected, just off the Motorway, in a very pretty part of Cheshire. The staff from the time we arrived to the time we left were first class. The bedroom spotless and all meals 1st class. Beautiful leisure Club, all in all a most enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — friendy staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank diddydi-do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    499
    175
    71
    29
See reviews for
266
461
44
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

this is a nice place to stay...lovely leisure club and pool (if a little busy but it was peak hours) staff are very good. food and drink good quality, makes some of the southern multi star hotels look very poor in comparison.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mardybummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

My daughter was amrried and the following reception and evening function at this hotel on the night of my daughters wedding and stayed at a reduced rate of £79. I encountered no problems whatsoever with this hotel. The grounds were very nice, the decor fine and the rooms clean, nicely furnished and comfortable.

My daughter and new son-in-law upgraded their room which was double our price and had a lounge and seperate bedroom with other extras. Worth it for a special occasion.

We had breakfast in the hotel and it was standard buffet style that is very common in hotels of this type, cereals, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, hash browns, fruit etc. Good quality but no better or worse than any other hotel we have stayed.

I personally didn't get a chance to try the leisure centre, but those in our party that did, told me that it was good.

As for the function, the place names, wishing well, cake etc were delivered before the wedding, and for some reason, one of the staff stored some of the items in a locked office without telling anyone, which caused some panic. The same thing happened with one of the gifts, which required a return journey to pick it up. A little annoying and I just can't see why it was done. The staff helpful and polite when asked to look for these items.

The bar prices were the cause for a few complaints during the evening function, but is to be expected in hotels these days.

  • Liked — comfertable decor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank briwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

I have to start this review by stating that we had the £49 internet saver rate, so my expectations weren't exactly sky high. That said, there's nothing too wrong with this place. The public areas are clean and tidy and our room had been recently overhauled giving a standard of accommodation beyond the price level.

It wasn't perfect however, as our (admittedly cheap) room looked out over the bins and the ceiling fan over the bed was woefully inadequate in the task of cooling a typically overheated British hotel room and the two solitary pillows were about as thickly padded as a supermodels elbow. A call to reception to get some more went unanswered.

If I stayed here again I'd probably be looking for a room with air conditioning but overall an unremarkable stay, and when you consider how many poor hotels there are, that's a compliment!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank biglad1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Stayed at the Park Royal at the end of August. Nice surroundings! However it is a bit of a distance to the town centre. Taxis cost around £10-15 to Warrington.

On arrival, the reception staff was very friendly and attentive. The room and bathroom were very clean. However the bed was uncomfortable. The ceiling fan was noisy and had one speed which was very fast!!

As good as the reception staff were, they forgot to send me my requested newspaper on one day (however charged for it!) and also did not call me for my wake up call which I requested at the front desk.

Breakfast was good and the selection was great (both hot and cold food). However the restaurant was very disappointing, especially when you pay the prices they charged. The food was either too dry or tasteless.

However on the whole it was an okay stay. It is not the best 4 star hotel I have stayed in but there is not much choice in Warrington.

  • Liked — The gym
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Hopper2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend break for her birthday and it really was one to remember for all the right reasons. The food on both nights was fantastic and on the second day which was my wife's birthday a friend had arranged for the hotel to have a cake and flowers put in the room which was a nice surprise for her, what made it even more special though was the fact that when we bought drinks at the bar, the barman wished her happy birthday as did the housekeeper we saw in the corridor. Really good attention to detail, great facilities and superb food, a real treat !

  • Liked — Really comfortable bed, spacious room,great bathroom,very clean
  • Disliked — Nothing, very nice room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewburySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

I stayed at this hotel and enjoyed my stay.

The staff were helpful and polite, the room it's self was above standard and spacious. the only problems I had were the lack of cable channels, and activitys to do outside the gym/spa/sauna.

The public transport to and from the hotel is bad the buses averaging 1 perhour (£1.90 oneway) and NO sunday service.
If you don't drive then you will have a problem getting to the city center (taxi is £10.00).

The resturant was ok the food was very expensive but the drinks menu was extensive. the desert menu could have been more developed.

There are 3 pubs within the hotel all within 5 mins walk the staff will show you they way if asked.

overall this was a good experience.

  • Liked — The breakfast!! highly recommended.the staff.
  • Disliked — lack of evening activities/public transport/cable channels/ppl smoking by the entrance/no walk way for ppl in the carpark.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretton
19.1 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,174 reviews
16.5 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,560 reviews
3.2 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#8 of 21 in Warrington
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
461 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
5,009 reviews
16.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Royal

Property: The Park Royal
Address: Stretton Road, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington > Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Royal, set in beautiful Cheshire Countryside yet easily accessible to motorway links, is the ideal location for a leisurely weekend or business trip. Ideally located to visit many of the North West attractions, or as a stop over on your way to the North or South. Our friendly team will ensure that you stay is everything you are looking for, our team of Chefs will provide excellent quisine and our spa therapists can pamper you to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Royal Hotel Stretton
Park Royal Warrington
Hotel Park Royal
Park Royal Hotel Warrington
The Park Royal Warrington/Stretton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing