We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding!!”
Review of The Park Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Royal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Thank you to everyone at the Park Royal for making our wedding day the best day ever.

31.8.13

Special thanks to James - your sixth sense for knowing what needed to happen before it happened was amazing!

The new Mr and Mrs Lavelle xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEandJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear SE and JL

Firstly many congratulations to you both, I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable wedding day and that our staff were able to deliver first class service on such a special occasion. I have passed your comments on to the staff that made your day so enjoyable and would like to thank you both for choosing The Park Royal for your special day. I hope that we can welcome you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked 20 rooms here this week as we had a family wedding in Arley Hall
and found the hotel first class, all our family were impressed by the welcome,food and
excellent service from the staff.
We particularly liked the availability of food and drink till 10.pm in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms with french windows on the second floor were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Anne M

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at The Park Royal Hotel. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and that the staff made you feel so welcome. It would appear that we delivered exactly as we aim with the quality of food and customer service. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me and my Mum have just returned from a spa day there today. I bought a living social voucher which included access to the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi also coffee and pastries. On arrival to the hotel it looks nice and signs are easy to follow to the health and fitness area. Staff were polite and helpful, they shown us around and what we needed to do. We had our coffee and pastry before our treatments. Coffee was out of a machine I think but still nice and the pastry was nice too. Me and my Mum both had back, neck and shoulder massages and a facial which cost £48 with the 20% (living social voucher) I have never had a massage before so have nothing to compare it too BUT I thought it was amazing, Jessica was great. She asked me what I wanted to feel like and I could choose the oils I had too. Would love to go again and if I ever do I would definitely ask for Jessica. The facial was fab too. I felt lovely and relaxed afterwards. After our treatments we went into the pool, sauna, steam and Jacuzzi. We would of preferred to of had our treatments at the end and do the swimming part first but there wasn't any appointments left when I rang up (rang up one week before so can't complain) Overall I think the hotel/spa is good but it doesn't give you the option to choose it at the top so I chose average. Oh changing rooms were chilly? Clean though and they had hairdryers. Toilets were clean and smelt floral too.

Room Tip: Maybe book a few weeks in advance for the spa to get the right appointments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear KellyEngland

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of you spa day. We are pleased that you and your Mum had such an enjoyable day and that you enjoyed your treatments. I have passed on your comments to the staff involved in making your day so pleasant. You may wish to check out the Qhotels website for the latest deals that may interest you. Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in a Qstar room which was lovely big bed and mini bar. The deal we got was amazing for the money 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast with champagne and chocolates in the room. The food was amazing we were allocated £26 for food only each and we did manage to get 3 courses just paying a few pound over. So tasty! The French waiter was so lovely! The gym is really good with a cardio and weights room separate. We also got 20% off treatments in the spa so we both had a back massage which was amazing and the spa facilities were lovely. We both had an amazing time and want to be back. I would recommend this hotel for couples and it also looked good for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmachris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Emmachris13

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at The Park Royal Hotel. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and that the hotel met with your expectations. We will look forward to welcoming you back when your return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked this hotel for the middle 4 nights out of six for our family trip to the north west. One night at a Travelodge in Birmingham on our way up from Kent 4 nights here and the one night in a Premier Inn on the way back down. I have to this was extremely good value for money at less than £60 a night Bed & Breakfast for 4 of us. It was Q Hotels summer promotion where Kids stay and eat for free. The reception was friendly, (I didn't have to walk through sand on any of the four nights we stayed, contrary to a previous review who stayed in August 13). We were given two rooms with adjoining doors so the kids had their own room which they loved. We took up their meal deal on the first night (pay £21 per adult, then chose up to £26 of food of the menu for a 3 course meal and the kids eat free) a bit of a no brainer and the food was excellent and the French Head Waiter was also excellent. Breakfast was just as good and we never had a problem getting a table, the chef was constantly replacing the buffet with fresh food. The spa is not really a tranquil place but had treatment rooms, hot tub, sauna, steam room and pool and had specific child swim times. Overall I could not fault this 4 star hotel when we paid the same cost per night as we did for the Travelodge and Premier Inn where we were all squashed in to one family room with little facilities. Business or Pleasure this hotel can not be faulted. Oh I forgot to mention the Free WiFi in all areas of the hotel including the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatSop46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear NatSop46

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your family stay with us here at The Park Royal Hotel. We are really pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and that the hotel met with your expectations and more. The hotel is ideally situated for many of the family attractions in the North West which can be found on our Q Hotels website. Once again thank you for your kind review and I do hope that we can welcome you back here in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Having never reviewed a hotel before, I thought it was only right to review this one due to my experience. I stayed at the Park Royal in August 2013.

The quiet hotel location is perfect for business and pleasure with easy road network connections to both the M6 and Liverpool. I was on business and chose this hotel for this reason and the fact it was rated at 4*.

Driving to the Park Royal hotel from the M6 was easy and only a few miles detour.

However…..

If arriving from this direction the first glimpse you get of this hotel is of a back service entrance, I assume for deliveries. Not only is this littered waste land very unsightly, the hotel has obviously taken no thought to cleaning the area up. As you drive past the scrap metal and the disorganised mess at the back of the hotel you take a left turn and arrive at the hotel entrance. Only at this point you can breathe again and take a sigh of relief.

The car park is well kept and with plenty of spaces it was easy to park fairly close to reception.

However…..

Walking into the “4 Star” hotel you have to meander past a children’s sand castle kit. Not only is this not the first thing you want to see but you also have to walk through the sand.

I fully understand that hotels have to be “child friendly” but to enter a play pen to get to reception isn’t great for business customers.

Having reached reception without slipping on the sand and breaking my back, I was allocated a room quickly and without hassle.

The room was perfectly adequate for a standard 4 star rating and was cleaner than most rooms. The bathroom could have done with a maintenance man for a day. I suggest that the hotel management sit in the bath of every room and understand what the customer sees.

Having opened the curtains to see my beautiful view of the hotels grounds, I was horrified at what my room looked out on. Only 10 minutes before had I driven past the waste land at the rear of the hotel. My view was of that run down delivery service lane I hoped I would never see again.

Having travelled a long distance and not having the energy to bother changing rooms, I decided to go for a delicious meal at the restaurant situated inside the hotel.

The restaurant was understandably busy for the size of hotel and the rural location. The hotel has obviously cashed in on the captive market and priced their food £5 – 7 pounds over what each dish should cost. I decided on a chicken dish costing £17.00. When it arrived I couldn’t help but laugh at the ridiculous presentation and so little on the plate. A mashed together piece of chicken plonked on a plate with more porcelain around it than food.

The food levels are basic at best and you would be better getting a taxi to a local restaurant or shop. A very basic pre-packed value meal would have been tastier than the bland, overpriced platter that came from the back kitchen. A complaint and feedback was given when asked “ was everything ok”.

The hotel at night was quiet and comfortable. The fan in the bedroom was a nice extra.

In the morning, there wasn’t enough room in the restaurant to have breakfast so I ate in the bar.

After all the drama, a nice health spa was in order.

When you imagine a health spa you think of a peaceful and quiet place. When I arrived in the morning, kids were in the pool screaming in my ear. I decided enough was enough and left.

Overall the 4*spa hotel should be demoted to a 3* family holiday resort.

I personally won’t be returning but if I did I would go to Butlins for the same experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room 120 at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend stay at The Park Royal hotel in Stretton near Warrington with my husband and our two children aged 14 and 9, and another couple and their 19 month old daughter, bought using the school holiday offer. I cannot praise the hotel enough.

From the moment we walked in we knew that the hotel welcomed children as the first thing we saw in the reception area was a sandpit !!!

This was our first ever stay in a QHotel and we were very impressed. I had initially booked our stay online but had realised that I had made a mistake and had to call the booking line to rectify my error - this experience itself was brilliant as the person on the other end of the line was ever so helpful and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for her - very helpful indeed.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were lovely, although because we are travelling with 9 and 14 year old kids our room was a little squashed due to having two put you up beds in with us - but had been warned of this when booking - and this is how we usually have are in all hotel rooms!! However our friends' room was nice and spacious with a double bed and cot for the little one.

Our room had a bath and shower, complimentary shampoos etc, lovely fluffy towels, a trouser press which had an integrated ironing board and iron which I thought was brilliant. There was plenty of storage for all our clothes etc, hairdryer, plenty of lighting, mirrors and electricity points and a table and two chairs.

The food was lovely, we had a bar snack on our first night in the bar which was delicious, and the buffet breakfast in the Topiary dining room every morning was excellent with everything that you could want to start you off on your day. The bar area had a family friendly corner with a television, small chairs for little ones to colour or play with the board games that they had.

Took advantage of the swimming pool with the children which was great. Didn't have to worry about taking our own towels as they were complimentary as were the hairdryers, and even had moisturiser in the changing room!! The swimming costume spin dryer came in very handy - 10 seconds and your costume was nearly dry!! There was also a family changing room which was great if you had a little one that needed both parents around to get changed!!

Unfortunately we didn't manage to take advantage of the gym or had any spa treatments - maybe next time!!! ;)

Would definitely come back to the hotel, and would highly recommend it to others!! Thank you all at Park Royal for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eirian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Meganeirian

We are delighted that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us recently here at The Park Royal Hotel, and thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive and detailed review of your experience. Your comments are testament to the reason that so many of our guests return. We are a family friendly hotel and we delighted that your children were made to feel so welcome, and that you were able to enjoy the facilities we have here. You may wish to check out our website for future events and attraction packages that we have aimed at families if you wish to return here in the near future. We do hope that we can welcome you back and thank you again for your lovely review.

Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretton
3.2 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#7 of 22 in Warrington
2,042 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#8 of 22 in Warrington
275 reviews
21.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 22 in Warrington
1,386 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#11 of 22 in Warrington
563 reviews
16.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Royal

Address: Stretton Road, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington > Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Price Range: $98 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Royal, set in beautiful Cheshire Countryside yet easily accessible to motorway links, is the ideal location for a leisurely weekend or business trip. Ideally located to visit many of the North West attractions, or as a stop over on your way to the North or South. Our friendly team will ensure that you stay is everything you are looking for, our team of Chefs will provide excellent quisine and our spa therapists can pamper you to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Park Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Royal Hotel Stretton
Park Royal Warrington
Hotel Park Royal
Park Royal Hotel Warrington
The Park Royal Warrington/Stretton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing