We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Spa Weekend”
Review of The Park Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Royal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab Spa Weekend”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from our 4th visit to the Park Royal my friend and i were treated to a spa break bliss very relaxing staff very professional highly recommend. The buffet lunch which was included in the break excellent value. The staff in the restaurant where very efficent and friendly especially Rebecca Hooley who greeted us for breakfast with a smile. Fab time great for a chill out break we will definately be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear bigstevie

Thank you for your review of The Park Royal and for your repeat custom. We always endeavour to provide a 4 star service and we are delighted that we have delivered everything that you were expecting. I will pass your comments onto Rebecca and we will look forward to welcoming you back to The Park Royal in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    479
    169
    65
    28
See reviews for
256
448
42
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights after staying a few years ago, upon check in staff on reception seemed overwhelmed only 2 receptionists checking people in and a huge que waiting. The bedroom had seen better days, old shabby wardrobes and drawers were bashed and scraped and curtains that wouldn't close fully. Cheap toiletries in the bathroom. Slow service in the bar as only one staff member serving. Confusion in the restaurant with the French waiter over the fact that we were on a dinner inclusive rate. I have stayed in many four star hotels all over the world and i would probably rate this one as a 3 star at best. I think this place has gone downhill since my last stay. Disappointing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear JessicaW

Thank you for taking time to post your review of The Park Royal. Firstly may I apologise for the fact that the hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your return visit. As you will see from many of our other reviews your experience isn’t indicative of the high standards that we offer here at the hotel. We have taken your comments on board and these will be passed to the relevant departments. If you would like to give me a call at your convenience I will be more than happy to discuss the matter with you further.

Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for a works xmas party in December.Never stayed here before so wasn't sure what to expect. The check in guy was friendly and professional and not at all uppity, like some others can be at hotels.The room a superior double was exactly as it was pictured when booking through hotels.com. We had his and hers sinks and the room was lovely and spacious. The only problem we encountered was a small leak in our bathroom ceiling which we reported to the main desk to advise them.

We used the Health Club pool and relaxation/sauna/steam room facilities which were good.Then the other half went to visit the bar area near reception with our colleagues before the actual event whilst i continued swimming.Drinks are a little bit pricey but i've found this is the usual for hotels as they have a captive audience and have to make money somewhere.

We had our xmas party function/meal that evening which all our colleagues thoroughly enjoyed , the entertainment, disco and the meals.
Breakfast (buffet) was really good too with plenty of options for veggies like myself.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Bunny74

We are delighted that you enjoyed your ‘Christmas Party stay over’ at The Park Royal and would like to thank you for your taking the time to leave a review. It would appear that we have delivered everything that is expected at The Park Royal and we hope that you will return in the near future. We have lots going on throughout 2013 so check out our website for details of offers that may be of interest to you.

Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Park Royal for the second time, this time for our anniversary. The location of the hotel is excellent, so easy to reach from the motorway and close enough to Warrington to visit for restaurants, bars etc. The hotel itself has excellent facilities too, excellent spa area which has pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna all free to use when staying. We were disappointed that the spa treatments were fully booked as intended to buy for each other as anniversary gifts but guess that reflects its popularity! The rooms are a good enough size and beds are comfy enough. The bar and restaurant area also comfortable and nice decor throughout. We had breakfast as part of the package and the buffet selection is excellent, hot and cold, pastries, fruit and more! Absolutely delicious. The staff are extremely helpful, friendly and make you feel welcome. My only criticism is the hotel is far too warm. The bedrooms were baking and the restaurant was uncomfortable in the morning, which for the middle of January was a bit awkward clothes wise!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYPud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear LYPud

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Park Royal. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we delivered the service that you would expect from a 4 star hotel. I am sorry the spa was full on this occasion as I am sure you would have enjoyed the facilities, when you return to the Park Royal in the future be sure to call in advance as our Spa is very popular and this will avoid any further disappointment, you may wish to check our website for ‘spa’ offers and forthcoming events during 2013. I am sorry you found the room rather warm, it is often difficult to find an ambient temperature to suit all of our guests, and I hope this will not deter you from returning to the Park Royal. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Park Royal in the near future.

Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

i have enjoyed a lovely spa day today, the staff were friendly and helpful. the pool area was lovely especially the heated loungers, the light lunch was yummy, a selection of sandwiches and then cakes. i had a facial which was amazing, the best spa i have been to and i will definately return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1982jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear 1982jules

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Spa Day at the weekend, and that you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful. Our treatment rooms have recently been refurbished and we are receiving lots of very positive feedback from guests regarding the treatments and surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Park Royal in the future. Keep an eye on our website for Spa deals and events throughout 2013.

Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked a Spa Night break for 6 people and from the moment we checked in at Reception to departing the following day we were made to feel "very special". The Receptionist was very welcoming, David the Bar Manager was very attentive (nothing was too much trouble for him), the Restaurant Food was absolutely amazing (the Lamb Shoulder was mouth watering). Service at breakfast was also excellent, and the choice and quality of the food was second to none. The leisure facilities were excellent, the Leisure Receptionist was very welcoming and extremely helpful, and the Spa treatments were excellent too. I know I keep saying "Excellent", but that's just what it was - we have already booked to go again! You won't be disappointed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMH2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear EMH2507

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of The Park Royal Hotel. We are delighted that your stay was fantastic and that you were made to feel ‘very special’ It would seem that we have delivered everything that you were expecting and more. We are delighted that you have booked to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Park Royal in the near future. Once again thank you for your kind words.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel for a short get away break and having stayed twice before over the years we knew it was a nice place and we got a great deal this time.

First impressions are that the hotel is modern with funky carpets in the reception area and well presented staff. Our room was on the 2nd floor and we had a view over some fields and a tennis court – which were covered in snow, so it was lovely.

The rooms are decorated in green and purple and provide a restful environment with huge padded modern head boards and the space feels large. There is a flat screen TV but the other room essentials are disappointingly dated and look well used. The kettle is very old fashioned as was the hairdryer and frankly if you have long hair I would take your own. The furniture serves its purpose but it is looking rough around the edges, a bit bashed and scrapped but the room in general looks modern, it would be nice if over time the furniture could be updated. The bathroom has a modern sink, white tiles, is a decent size and suitable for what you need.

The pool and spa area was better than I had expected and was very nice again, modern but a little rough around the edges – i.e. one of the showers was covered in mold but on the whole was clean. A previous review noted that there were only a few beds at the side of the pool, I counted 7 including some hot tiled beds which where amazing. We ventured down there at 1pm with a handful of people about, at 2pm-ish it got busier with people on spa days etc but there was still plenty of room to swim and so on.

Breakfast was excellent with everything you would expect from a 4star hotel and I must compliment all of the staff on their excellent customer service, no request was too much trouble, everyone seemed happy and smiley and as though they genuinely had an interested in your stay.
Room service arrived within 20 minutes and was lovely as was the bar food – which was the same as the room service menu with a few extras.

The only down side for me was the amount of noise some of the other guest made. I was woken on both nights at about 2am with slamming doors and loud talking. On the second night the amount of doors being slammed shut was ridiculous for the time of night and then we were woken later on by a huge argument that some other guys were having. Obviously this is something that the hotel cannot control but I have never experience this is the many hotels we have stayed in, maybe it is down to the thinness of the walls!!!

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and I would like to experience one of their party nights or spa packages. It is also lovely to experience such a high standard of customer service to a level which is attentive but not too over whelming. Well done The Park Royal.

Room Tip: Check if there is an event on in the hotel before you book your room. If there is, ask to be in a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaewynLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear RaewynLancashire

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and informative review of The Park Royal. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, your comments are testament to the reason many of our guests return on a regular basis. We have taken on board your comments regarding the lack of sun beds around the pool area and we now have another eight beds which have just been delivered, so next time you visit you will be able to take advantage of these. Please accept my apologies for the noise you encountered during your stay, as you have mentioned this is obviously something that the hotel cannot control, but please feel free in the future to ask for a room where you will not be disturbed. Please check our website for events happening at the hotel in 2013, and future spa deals. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretton
19.1 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
16.5 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
14.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
16.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Royal

Property: The Park Royal
Address: Stretton Road, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington > Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Royal, set in beautiful Cheshire Countryside yet easily accessible to motorway links, is the ideal location for a leisurely weekend or business trip. Ideally located to visit many of the North West attractions, or as a stop over on your way to the North or South. Our friendly team will ensure that you stay is everything you are looking for, our team of Chefs will provide excellent quisine and our spa therapists can pamper you to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Royal Hotel Stretton
Park Royal Warrington
Hotel Park Royal
Park Royal Hotel Warrington
The Park Royal Warrington/Stretton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing