We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Complete Perfection”
other travelers have booked this property
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coed-Y-Paen, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Joanne C
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Complete Perfection”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arrival we were speechless, the views are breathtaking. We were greeted with a friendly smile, a lit log fire, fresh flowers and jar of cookies. Janet and Mike are the perfect hosts. Whilst unwinding in the hot tub and taking in the views of the Welsh countryside our dog explored the vast well maintained gardens. The cottage is bursting with character and charm which is a home from home. We fell in love with it that much we stayed an extra night and are already planning our return trip. We would fully recommend this cottage for the perfect relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the hosts
Liked least: Can't fault in anyway
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BecciCook
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing Weekend Away!!! Perfect!!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

An amazing little cottage!
We had a perfect weekend away - Such a cute little cottage full of character.
Awesome views whilst sat in the Jacuzzi - couldn't have been more relaxing!!
Mike and Janet were really lovely and very welcoming - thanks for letting stay will defiantly be back soon!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi and the views!!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJKevAl
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful perfection”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Forest Cottage was EXACTLY what we needed after 3 weeks of traveling! I wished we could have stayed a whole lot longer as everything was just so fabulous. The modern kitchen and bathroom all very well equipped, the location is sensational, Janet and Mike are so warm and friendly and excellent company and there is so much to do or not do either! The forest walks are lovely, the Spa is very therapeutic, we ate dinner outdoors and fell asleep on the grass in the sunshine. Mike is one of the BEST shooting instructors around and I had a grin from ear to ear after my lesson. Janet's touches around the cottage (thanks for the daffodils and cookies) and her cheerful, willing assistance all helped make our stay most memorable.
Thanks again for a wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Mike's shooting lesson and the peaceful location
Liked least: The bed!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scrimbo20...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful !!!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Came across this by chance,what a find !!! Everything you would want for a relaxing time lovely hosts,hot tub stunning views and plenty of different walks, dogs loved the forest trails. Cottage was spotless and provided everything we required.Next time will be taking fishing gear as plenty of places to go.
Cant wait to return next time for longer.

Janet and Mike should feel proud of themselves for what they provide.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Els291
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little slice of Welsh heaven”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival the view is breathtaking. The cottage is nestled up a hill and is so picturesque. It was exactly what a romantic break needs with the amazing outdoor hot tub and log burner. The local village of Usk is delightful with some nice little places to eat and a small supermarket for the essentials. Be warned mobile reception is not good and using GPS to navigate is virtually impossible so go prepared with a good old fashioned map or printed instructions to get anywhere you want to go.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!!! Spectacular !!”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Excellent in every possible way. I' ve travelled the world and this cottage is up there on places I' ve stayed in!! The view, the hot tub, the log burner. Truly excellent! Will becoming back again 100%

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann g
Bradford on avon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing break here. cottage was spotless the most amazing welcome from Janet and Mike. would highly recommend the Clay Shoot, as an introduction to clay shooting. Mike was an excellent instructor and my partner really enjoyed it.
There were fresh homemade cookies and chocolates on arrival, a roaring fire and fresh flowers. The hot tub was a little taste of luxury. I can't recommend a stay here enough. Have already booked a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing