We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gold Canyon Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed a weekend at Gold Canyon on one of their golf packages. We have stayed every year on our anniversary for the last 7. The resort seems to get better each time. The Dinosaur golf course was in great shape and the pace was excellent. The staff at the resort is always pleasant and helpful. We ate at the restaurant and bar for dinner and breakfast and the food is outstanding. The casita we stayed in was clean and updated with plenty of room and a nice outside balcony. Entertainment in the bar area was great. The pool is great especially after a warm round of golf. Can't think of a better place to stay in the Phoenix area. We plan on another stay later this year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several different rooms and all have been clean and quiet. We enjoy being close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    77
    40
    26
    19
See reviews for
65
117
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
naples
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We were going to Arizona for golf and to visit a sick friend. There were eight of us, some staying two nights and some staying three nights. This is a resort property that has been kept in good condition and has one of the great desert courses - Dinosaur Mtn. Prior to our visit we had several changes but the group contact, Dianna Karbo, took them all in stride and communicated well. The rest of the staff was equally friendly and helpful. Our group will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bestforbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Exceptional friendly and helpful staff at this golf resort in the desert. Rooms were comfortable with nice amenities (Aveda), bedding and towels Beautiful vistas from the restaurant's patio dining.
And a great golf experience. We will go back and take some friends with us. Check out the desert landscaping and the hiking trails.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank altitude80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

For the past three years, I and a friend have stayed here for a weekend, to attend the Ren Fest. I am already looking forward to next year!

The casitas will become your favorite "other home" whether it is for a few days, or longer. There are ample amenities including a spa, cozy bar and decent restaurant. The view at sunset is pure Arizona awesomeness from your private patio, whether you face west or watch the changing colors and shadows on Dinosaur Mountain..

Treat yourself. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Talk to the folks at the front desk. They are very helpful in matching a room to your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GoldilocksArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our stay was wonderful! . The quiet casita with a private patio that offered a beautiful view of the mountains and visits from humming birds. Great food. The kind of trip you hope for but rarely find.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary with this trip. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was included in the package and the cold food was fine for us. The room was clean and had been redecorated. We used the outdoor fireplace one evening. We would go again. Next time we will take our golf clubs. Bottled water is pricey so bring your own or stop at Walgreen on the way.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Saluki66686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We held my son and DIL's Welcome Party at GCGR and had guests for the wedding in 40+ rooms. Nicole who managed group room sales and Robert who was catering manager were both excellent! I'm not a golfer, but hear the golf was good. Because it is further outside of PHX and maybe not super high end (décor wise), the pricing was quite reasonable. We had a southern buffet dinner for 90 guests and everyone thought the food was excellent. Everyone enjoyed their stay. Staff were all friendly and did a great job. I recommend GCGR for an event such as this.

Room Tip: Adjacent to golf course for nice views. It is spread out, but has golf cart service. Also stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Canyon
1.0 mi away
Best Western Gold Canyon Inn & Suites
14.6 mi away
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
14.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mesa Superstition Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center
14.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
14.0 mi away
Best Western Superstition Springs Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Canyon Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Canyon Golf Resort

Property: Gold Canyon Golf Resort
Address: 6100 S Kings Ranch Rd, Gold Canyon, AZ 85118-4679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Gold Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gold Canyon Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Canyon Resort's 85 unique Hotel rooms offer a variety of amenities such as Indoor or Outdoor Private Spas, Suites, Wood Burning Fireplaces and Private Patios with splendid views of the majestic Superstition Mountains. This unique setting provides us with spectacular views of the famed Superstition Mountains where many have attempted to find the Lost Dutchman's' gold. Natural wildlife to the area can be encountered right outside your door. Carved out of the foothills of the scenic Superstition Mountains, the 36 holes of Desert Mountain Golf at Gold Canyon offer two distinct playing options. Dinosaur Mountain, rated Four and a Half stars by Golf Digest takes golfers into the high Sonoran Desert with dramatic tee-to-green elevation changes. Sidewinder, Four Star Rating by Golf Digest, runs through the land's natural arroyos and dry creek beds, providing a pristine desert golf experience.Amenities include Hiking, Biking, Swimming Pool, Massage and Spa Services, and much more! Enjoy spectacular views while dining at Kokopelli's Restaurant, The Bar & Grill or The Ledge at Dinosaur Mountain. Over 10,000 feet of Distinct Full Service Meeting and Banquet facilities for functions ranging from 10-200.Located just 35 minutes from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, this very special mountainside resort is close enough to the Valley of the Sun, yet far enough away to let you experience the peace and unmatched beauty of the high Sonoran Desert. We strive to create an experience that you will not soon forget. Come and enjoy a true Arizona Golf Resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Gold Canyon Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Canyon Golf Hotel Gold Canyon
Gold Canyon Resort
Gold Canyon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing