We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gold Canyon Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Valentines getaway”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a quick Valentines getaway, he played golf while I had a massage,
mani and pedi. I met him in the early evening as he came in from golf and we had a quick snack at the patio restaraunt as the sun set, it was very nice. We set dinner reservations at Kokopelli later in the evening (8pm) as it was Valentines Day and we didn't want to fight the crowds. Dinner was good and the server very friendly and attentive. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed was very comfy. We had a leisurely morning and took advantage of the breakfast buffet which we also ate on the patio in the morning sun. The Chef made me some special lemon ricotta blintzes that were amazing and even came out to speak to us to ask how the food was. We also loved the made to order omelette bar. The grounds are well kept with great views and the staff friendly. The casitas give a nice secluded feel and the walking paths are paved and easy to navigate. The staff is always willing to give you a ride around the grounds if necessary but we much preferred to walk. It was a great weekend, I would return to this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxatgcgr, Front Office Manager at Gold Canyon Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. I am happy to hear you had such a memorable day.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Thank You,
Cherie Downey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    77
    40
    26
    19
See reviews for
65
117
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here using a TravelZoo special and really enjoyed our trip. We upgraded to the master room that had a private outdoor jacuzzi that was well hidden on our front patio that overlooked the valley. The room was spacious, comfortable, a fireplace (though you have to use the DuraFlame logs for $10 but still nice to have a fire), and a great open shower! The service was outstanding. Everyone was very friendly and very eager to do what they could to make us happy. The restaurant was very nice with a scenic patio. Our only complaint was the prices of the food was a little too steep and there were a couple of hidden costs at the end. Overall still very happy with our stay and will be back again to take advantage of the spa and golf course

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AZTravelingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We used a Travelzoo deal for two nights ($189) plus $75 credit (we used on food) and found the facilities to be fine and met out needs. It is not fancy and I would mostly say it was inline with what we paid. We had one of the refurbished rooms. There are some things that they could do to improve - add a microwave, put in real drapes (with blackout) rather than the red cotton ones that don't easily slide and it is true that the air conditioner is overhead and can be a bit loud. There is a resort fee, so I expected a decent exercise room, but that was a disappointment. What I liked is that the staff were very friendly, always helpful. The restaurant food was good. The hot tub was great (but the pool wasn't heated). We enjoyed our patio and the property is beautifully maintained. We found several good hiking trails very close by.

Room Tip: The patios with fireplaces require wood, which you can purchase. While these are called Casitas, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very nice place with excellent rooms that are comfortable and well appointed. I didn't like to soap and shampoo dispenser (recommend that the owners look at different types as I use these all over Europe and they are usually fine). The location and views are wonderful. Parking is a little rough and getting luggage to the room is difficult but understandable given that this keeps the rooms away from any cars. Breakfast was very good but was very pricey for the quality and selection.

My only real complaint is the "nickel and dime" charges that show up. The room rate is reasonable and then you get hit for resort fees and an expensive breakfast and suddenly the stay becomes very expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrOptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Have just stayed the one night at this property. Our room was very basic. Hate the soap,shampoo,conditioner dispenser. We had a view out to the golf course which was ok. We didn't spend much time there to have a look around but the golf course was very busy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mintym00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxatgcgr, Front Office Manager at Gold Canyon Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to give us your feedback. We currently offer Aveda products in the rooms. In an effort to go green, we have replaced individual size bottles with the dispenser style. We do provide other options at our Front Desk, which can easily be delivered to your door, by request. Hopefully you will be able to come back for a longer visit to experience the true dessert beauty, our property provides us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this property three years in a row for our anniversary and it gets better each time. The staff is friendly and the property is exceptional. Each casita weve stayed in has had a jacuzzi in the master bedroom which is a great way to unwind after a long day. The casitas have a patio and the view of the valley of the sun at night is breath taking, great to view an Arizona sun set. We will make it a point to return for more anniversary memories!!!! Also order there room delivery pizza fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed for our anniversary and we had an absolutely fabulous time. The staff consistently went out of there way to make our stay great. From Cherie at the front desk to Kyle who drove us back and forth around the property everyone was just so friendly and happy to have us there.
Golf was wonderful and Scott should be very proud of his staff as they made us feel welcome from the second we walked through the door. Nice job guys and the views were great!
We'll be back!!!!
-Jason S.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheSwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Canyon
1.0 mi away
Best Western Gold Canyon Inn & Suites
14.6 mi away
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
14.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mesa Superstition Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Best Western Superstition Springs Inn
14.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
17.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Gilbert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Canyon Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Canyon Golf Resort

Property: Gold Canyon Golf Resort
Address: 6100 S Kings Ranch Rd, Gold Canyon, AZ 85118-4679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Gold Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gold Canyon Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Canyon Resort's 85 unique Hotel rooms offer a variety of amenities such as Indoor or Outdoor Private Spas, Suites, Wood Burning Fireplaces and Private Patios with splendid views of the majestic Superstition Mountains. This unique setting provides us with spectacular views of the famed Superstition Mountains where many have attempted to find the Lost Dutchman's' gold. Natural wildlife to the area can be encountered right outside your door. Carved out of the foothills of the scenic Superstition Mountains, the 36 holes of Desert Mountain Golf at Gold Canyon offer two distinct playing options. Dinosaur Mountain, rated Four and a Half stars by Golf Digest takes golfers into the high Sonoran Desert with dramatic tee-to-green elevation changes. Sidewinder, Four Star Rating by Golf Digest, runs through the land's natural arroyos and dry creek beds, providing a pristine desert golf experience.Amenities include Hiking, Biking, Swimming Pool, Massage and Spa Services, and much more! Enjoy spectacular views while dining at Kokopelli's Restaurant, The Bar & Grill or The Ledge at Dinosaur Mountain. Over 10,000 feet of Distinct Full Service Meeting and Banquet facilities for functions ranging from 10-200.Located just 35 minutes from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, this very special mountainside resort is close enough to the Valley of the Sun, yet far enough away to let you experience the peace and unmatched beauty of the high Sonoran Desert. We strive to create an experience that you will not soon forget. Come and enjoy a true Arizona Golf Resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Gold Canyon Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Canyon Golf Hotel Gold Canyon
Gold Canyon Resort
Gold Canyon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing