We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of The Castle

The Castle
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Oare
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

Staff was really welcoming food was amazing, sat at the bar after and all the bar staff was fantastic.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 34 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

Lovely Roast dinner plenty of food to go round all home cooked dessert was brilliant place looks amazing after the refurb staff are all wonderful and friendly will be going back

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank megmog12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

The waitress was lovely but the food wasn't great. We all had roast dinners. The meat was sparse and very finely sliced and it was cold. The veg was good. The roast potatoes were awful and rock hard. The food was flavourless. The deserts were good. I wouldn't be tempted yo go back. It's a pity as it is in a nice setting.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Ann_Muldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

The Castle is under new management so booked in for Sunday lunch to taste the difference. The major refurbs are so refreshing. There’s now proper parking and a tidy garden space. No longer a dark, old fashioned pub with sticky carpets but a newly decorated , fresh space. Sunday lunch was excellent value and delicious, we ate the lot.
Staff friendly and helpful and shared their vision for the castle. It’s a hub for socialising, walkers and eating. We wish you all the very best .

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Simonandline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019 via mobile

What a lovely Sunday dinner in a lovely pub! Perfectly cooked pork and crackling with large roast potatoes served with 2 yorkies and lashings of gravy! The cheesy leeks were absolutely amazing and more than enough for a 2nd helping! Needless to say I cleaned up my plate and was stuffed after eating pudding too. Will definitely be going back for more once they have completed their refurb in March.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank jwong242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castle also viewed

 
Sittingbourne, Kent
 

Been to The Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing