We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming place in Evian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Neuvecelle
Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A charming place in Evian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

we did nit stay in the hotel but visited the restaurant each summer for the past several years but I can imagine it would be a relaxing and nice stay. We took the boat from Lausanne which is also a lovely trip. The restaurant is a typical French restaurant with excellent food and service. THe wine were absolutely great and the food was superb. highly recommended RSTMN 8/10

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSTMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    104
    40
    19
    9
See reviews for
53
155
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here for just one night on way to Italian Lakes. Booked a standard room with garden view. On arrival met by very helpful staff wanting to help with luggage and advice on parking. Showed to a lovely room with view of lake! Bathroom a little dated in decor but well furnished with slippers, bathrobes and nice toiletries. Dinner was very good though not cheap, but didnt expect it to be Nearly as many staff as diners and our waitress was lovely. Thoroughly recommend and would return. My husband left a pair of shoes and they were stored and posted back to our home address on the date requested. What service! Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janehague2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visited La Verniaz for the second time to attend a concert at the Escales Musicales at the nearby Royal Parc Hotel. We had the same room both times: large, airy, nicely decorated and with a great view over the lake. Rooms couldn't be quieter with only the occasional clip-clop of an early morning horseback rider to disturb us. Communal areas are from a previous age with mellow tones, comfortable furniture and generally having a club atmosphere. Staff are thoroughly professional and welcoming. Unlike one criticism, we found the breakfast to be good value for money: an extensive choice of fruit, cereals, eggs, patisseries, cheese etc and all impeccably fresh. The hotel is an oasis of calm and attentiveness to customer service. We will return next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets is situated on the hill above Evian Les Bains.
It is a charming place , almost in the nature, but at the same time -5 minutes from the city center.
Yes, nyou had better have a car (or take a taxi), but it makes La Veninaz an excellent center for tours in Lake Leman, Geneve, Chamonix or Annesi- all within one hour drive.
The rooms- though situated in old buildings- are very clean and well equipped. The staff are very helpful and ready to assist the guests in any issue. The breakfast is a bit too expensive (17 Euro per person) but you can find good breakfast in the Patisieries at the downtown area for less than half the Hotel's price.

Room Tip: You can choose a room in the main building (more modern), the dining room building or the challets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was a most pleasant surprise. Five star service in every thing, from reception to rooms and food as well as decor. This is an ideal place for weekend or Holidays family gatherings.

Unlike place managed by major hotel group, la Verniaz has the perfect family touch we miss in most places today.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnchantedDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, Propriétaire at Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Madam,
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your kind comment and will be pleased to welcome you again in our property. We appreciate when our guests have spent a pleasant time in our establishment.

We will be pleased to welcome you again,

With my best regards,

Marie-France Verdier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We enjoyed our 4-day stay at La Verniaz. The landscape and the gardens were lovely and colorful. The room have an old-world feel and the staff was efficient and friendly. However, since the hotel is a distance from the main city & the lake, we would recommend this to travelers with personal cars only. Also, the 'cold' breakfast was a bit of a let down with no warm dish(es) being served at all.

Room Tip: Look for room with a lake view....awesome to wake up to :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manisha_kothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great hotel with lots of facilities which is reflected in the room only price of 142€! Yep no dinner & no breakfast! Staff very attentive and friendly. Bed was turned down for us and the towels changed whilst we went into Evian for dinner! The lift was very 20's but worked well if a little small.Great view over Lake Leman across to Lausanne in Switzerland from the room balcony. Room very good with all the facilities you would expect in a 4star hotel. The usual lack of a kettle though! Bed very comfortable. As in the title the sound proofing was poor, voices easily heard in adjoining rooms and corridor. Overall you would need to use all the facilities, mainly sporting, to get your moneys worth, but a lovely hotel in a splendid location.

Room Tip: ask for one with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morristwelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neuvecelle
0.5 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
#2 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Cygnes
Hotel Les Cygnes
#7 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Littoral
Hotel Le Littoral
#5 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#6 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets

Property: Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets
Address: 1417 avenue du Leman | Avenue d'Abondance, 74500 Neuvecelle, Evian-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains > Neuvecelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Neuvecelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between lake and mountains, about 300m above Evian, « La Verniaz » takes its name from a Savoyard hamlet. This is a country hotel, which consists of several charming old houses and chalets ingenuously set in large private gardens with beautiful trees and flowers, where you will find terraces, fountains and sheltered pathways, a tennis court and an outside heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing