We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful but too isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Puerto Bemberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Libertad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bath, England
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Peaceful but too isolated”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I give this resort 3 stars on our overall experience. The Posada is nice but needs a bit updating - the soft furnishings in our room were looking well used, the water pressure in our shower was a dribble and bath was not very nice. The resort is about 40-50 minutes from the waterfall and airport and transfers are charged US$100 per return, so quickly add up if used more often. The staff are very friendly, exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable about the resort. We had a nice trip up the river and went to the small waterfall - Salto Yassy. The food was disappointing - good solid fair but nothing special. I ordered fish which was undercooked, and another guest had the same problem the following night - she sent hers back and got the same portion back cooked a bit more. They have 2 menus that are alternated daily and are presented for both lunch and dinner. So not much choice. Enough for a 2-3 days stay but longer and it get boring. They will allow you to order off menu ie sandwiches or burgers if available. The plates could do with adding a bit extra when presenting the food. The swimming pool was big and deep but starting to collect quite a bit of algae - needs to good scrub to get it clean. A pleasant eco lodge for a few days peace but too far out to really enjoy the Iguazu falls and surrounding town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escholte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    34
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
111
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This hotel exceeded expectations. The room rates a a little more than a usual good hotel, but offers so much more. It goes without saying that the rooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant is also exquisite and the service is impeccable. What makes the experience unforgettable is the enormous estate that houses the hotel. It includes a private jungle and a guide that gives you clear explanation about the recovering jungle. You can even bathe in a true waterfall!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimchiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Had a wonderful stay here with some friends. Located between the Falls (awesome!) and Iguazu town (not worth visiting), this hotel is way better option to use as a base to visit the Falls and enjoy the jungle with plenty of luxury. The Posada is a lovely spanish building set in the jungle of Misiones, but accessible and luxurious enough to go enjoy some pampering. We stayed for 3 days and wished we stayed for more. Great rooms, gourgeous pool and a solid restaurant (their stronger dishes consisted of local river fish of the day). Cocktails by the mirador is a fantastic way to watch the sunset and hear the incredible sounds of the jungle.
The inhouse guide is a great guide (sorry, forgot his name!!) and will take you for an early morning walk in the jungle. Don't miss a swim at the waterfall in the hotel property, its awesome.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank raylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Just great, nothing else to say...actually yes i need to add things:
- the location (25km form the falls) is worth the road... (except the road itself to go there which is really damaged and not good for the car silent blocks) in the middle of the jungle with views over the river which you can enjoy on an amazing belvedere.
- the rooms : huge, and very comfortable, decorated with good taste
- the restaurant : my favorite: a colonial lookalike with a beautifull library, and a piano (which you can play on...yes...) the food is just fine even the menu doen't show a big choice.
- the surroudings : flowers, path through the jungle and down the river...everything is really beautifull..
- service : is just discrete and nice
please enjoy your stay as much as we did

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank olruBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We are normally strictly budget to mid-range travellers, but travelling to Peurto Iguassu at the busiest time of the year forced us to increase our budget. We're glad we did!
Peurto Bemberg is located amongst the Atlantic Rainforest, with views across the river. The food is exceptional-desserts to die for! The rooms are brilliant as well, with a PILLOW MENU of 7 different kinds of pillows! Despite this luxury, the staff and guests are very relaxed, and we were immediately at ease in this most beautiful place.

We took advantage of the activities on offer, the walk with Emilio through the rainforest was a highlight.

This was an unscheduled visit, but one we are so pleased we made.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2010

A must. Once in a lifetime experience. Excellent service, carefull to the last detail. It couldn't be better located, surrounded by nature, away from the rest of the hotels, but only 20 min from Cataratas. An invitation to relaxation, ultra comfortable and exquisite rooms and a majestic livingroom where you can sit by the fireplace while reading any of the 800 books you get to choose from the imposing library. The restaurant offers a deliciously elaborated variety of plates, I strongly suggest you try the dulce de leche volcano dessert!!
The outdoor surroundings are amazing!! and the hotel offers a large number of adventurous activities such as incredible guided walkabouts through the rainforest, birdwatching, boat rides and water sports. Highly recommended!! Don't miss the opportunity of visiting Puerto Bemberg!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOLANGE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

A gem of a place that you will not want to leave. We stayed here for two nights while visiting Iguaçu falls and would have loved one more day and night just to stay around the hotel and enjoy its beautiful peaceful surroundings, great service and make a trip with the staff sightseeing in the area. Its located about 40km from the airport just outside the town of Libertad, a sleepy little town. There is a few km of unpaved road from Libertad out to the Posada. This is a fabulous hotel in a stunning location. There is a great pool - good length and depth surrounded by comfy sun loungers. There is a tower you can climb with 360 views of the surrounding jungle. There is a bridge to a large decking area with table and chairs, perfect for watching the sunset as you look across the Rio Parana to Paraguay. The rooms are spacious. Robes and slippers provided. Toiletries are L'Occitane. There is even a pillow menu to choose your preferred pillow type! Breakfast was great. Dinner was fab too with excellent service. We recommend the caipirinha as an aperitif before dinner - the best! Staff are fantastic and very helpful. Our flight from Iguaçu to Buenos Aires was cancelled the day we were due to leave and staff were very helpful. We got a lovely welcome drink on arrival to the hotel too. there is a large living area beside the restaurant with a huge library of books, a piano, board games. You can eat outside too. If you stay here when visiting Iguaçu we recommend booking an extra day in the hotel so you can enjoy its surroundings. The hotel offers a number of activities such as guided walk or even a boat trip (cost included) which are meant to be excellent. Iguaçu falls are fabulous and worth the trip. We did a day tour to the Argentinian and Brazilian sides. We were picked up in the hotel at 7.30am and were at the falls at 8.15 in time to catch the first train to the Devils Throat at 8.30 so don’t let the hotels distance from Puerto Iguaçu put you off. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtwofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Libertad
22.5 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,116 reviews
21.8 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,856 reviews
21.3 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
165 reviews
21.3 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#12 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
800 reviews
21.5 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Puerto Bemberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Puerto Bemberg

Property: Posada Puerto Bemberg
Address: Fundadores Bemberg s/n | Cataratas Del Iguazu, Puerto Libertad 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Libertad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Libertad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Puerto Bemberg 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Puerto Bemberg Lodge is a jungle boutique hotel with personalized 5 star service. The Lodge is strategically located in the Misiones jungle, in a private natural reserve located 35 minutes away from Iguazu Falls. Trails, natural waterfalls, rivers, trees, native plants, birds and fauna of the jungle; characterize the environment of the Lodge that is certified as a sustainable tourism hotel by Rain Forest Alliance. The Hotel was built from an old house owned by the traditional Bemberg Family, which has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture. All spacious rooms feature large windows and a private patio, allowing the traveler to contemplate the jungle. They have been tastefully decorated maintaining its colonial style with a combination of natural and local materials. The hotel features a Gourmet Author Restaurant with international and regional cuisine, a pool surrounded by jungle, boating activities, trekking and jungle interpretation. The lodge has wi fi in the rooms and common areas, and outdoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Puerto Bemberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Puerto Bemberg Hotel Puerto Libertad
Posada Puerto Bemberg Argentina/Puerto Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing