We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A resort by any other name”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Hume Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Hume Resort
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A resort by any other name”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I had the recent chance to stay at the Lake Hume Resort - a misnaming if ever there was one. Situated about 12kms outside of Albury, the accommodation is located on Lake Hume. However, that is where the accurate description of the place ends. The accommodation fell well short of the idea of a resort. We paid over $200 a night for a cabin that creaked with every step and provided the very basics. I might also add that we were not the only ones who were a little disappointed with the room and rate charged. The only saving grace was the good natured and helpful staff, who tired to make the stay more appealing.

Room Tip: Apparently there are a limited number of hotel style rooms at the site, however I only have it secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesAlbury, General Manager at Lake Hume Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Ibis Styles Albury Lake Hume Resort.

Our rates are competitively based on local market prices and reflect the fact that our 3 bedroom self contained traditional cottages can accommodate up to 6 people and gives you the convenience and space not found in hotel style accommodation. Our property is situated on 12 hectares of land and located right on the shores of Lake Hume – a unique and spectacular location.

Our guests enjoy the use of many leisure facilities including swimming pool, mini golf, tennis court, futsal and basketball courts, restaurant and bar.

Therefore we are disappointed that you feel our resort did not represent value for money as we strive to provide an affordable, family friendly experience to all our guests.

I appreciate you mentioning the staff and the fact they had a positive impact on your stay.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we wish you a lovely weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    120
    79
    28
    14
See reviews for
100
119
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crib Point
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had the pleasure attending wedding back in October and honestly I cannot think of one nice thing to say about this resort other than the staff at Reception where wonderful, went out of their way to try to make our stay enjoyable.

What a joke the rooms are antiquated, need to be bulldozed. Are the average travellers that accepting of poor accommodation, this is not acceptable, and when they charge such crazy prices for over night accommodation. Built back in the 1950's and no renovation. A tent would be just as comfortable.

The food is disgusting and the service at the time of the wedding was so bad. When you know that top dollars was spent, I am sad to see that a young couple could be ripped off as they where.

People need to speak up and not accept second rate service, don't give me this, you know it is Albury, this is 2014 and money is hard to come by, pick up the service and amenities or think about dropping your rates by at least 50%.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesAlbury, General Manager at Lake Hume Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Janet

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your stay back in October and your kind words about our reception staff who are well known for their friendly and helpful manner.

It is disappointing to read you did not enjoy your stay with us as it is our aim to offer a relaxing and comfortable experience to all our guests.

Our traditional cottages are indeed of an older style as they are the original workmen’s cottages when the Hume Weir Dam Wall was extended in the 1950's. We believe part of the charm of our resort aside from our unique location is this link to the history of the local area. Since your stay we have undertaken an upgrade of the soft furnishings in these cottages which has given the accommodation a lift without diluting their original concept.

As weddings are a very large and successful part of our business I was surprised to read your comments on the wedding you attended. After each event we personally contact the couple or their parents to ensure their special day was truly memorable and feedback from our couples has been extremely positive. In the time that has elapsed since your stay we have not been made aware of any specific issues of the wedding you attended. I do recall it was a very lively event. However, I apologise if we did not meet your expectations with the food and service as we do strive to provide quality and value for money and we are very aware of the importance of such a special day.

Once again I would like to thank you for providing your feedback as this is essential for us to constantly improve and fine tune our product and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Hume Village hotels

east sussex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed in one of the lodges with family including 2 grandchildren who loved it and wanted to stay for ever. Quickly unpacked our overnight bags and then straight in the pool which was very welcome on a very hot day. Although the lodges seem quite old they are quaint and very comfortable. Good kitchen facilities. The on site shop is very limited in supplies so best to buy provisions on the way. The peacocks were a bonus especially when they displayed all their beauty by fanning out their tails. Very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillyeastsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I booked a night in one of the cottages the property offers on a whim, and weren't really sure what to expect.

In brief, we found:

1. Staff were very professional and helpful

2. Cottages are OLD! Don't expect anything better than you'd find in a caravan park cabin, because that's exactly the standard they come up to. Some rooms had airconditioning while others got pretty hot. This might have been okay, but for the best part of $300 a night, we expected something a little nicer.

3. Facilities were fairly good in the resort as a whole but many had seen better days. We got the impression that a lot of money had been spent on the place at some stage in the past but that its current owners (Ibis) hadn't continued to update it much. Still, plenty to do with the kids, and a great pool.

4. Location was beautiful and very peaceful.

On the whole, the property probably deserves more than two stars but we judged it based on the price we had to pay, and from this standpoint it was hard not to be a bit disappointed. We've travelled a lot and experienced far better quality of accommodation for this sort of money.
I don't think we'd be back unless prices were brought back in line with a more realistic acceptance of the standard of accommodation on offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This resort is more like caravan park. Two reception staff are friendly and helpful. However, one staff made me felt like I have committed a crime. It was a mistake not of our making. We booked through a website and found out that our request did not transmitted correctly to the resort. We ended up paying more than expected. The worst part was seeing an angry and very unwelcoming face behind the counter (because of the mis-information).

Room Tip: Go during quieter seasons if you want to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Hume Village
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn
7.2 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#5 of 31 in Albury
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Hume Tourist Park
Lake Hume Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Lake Hume Village
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Discovery Parks – Lake Hume
4.4 mi away
Thurgoona Country Club Resort
6.5 mi away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#3 of 31 in Albury
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hume Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hume Resort

Property: Lake Hume Resort
Address: Riverina Highway, Lake Hume Village, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly All Seasons)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Lake Hume Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Hume Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Hume Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Hume Resort is a multi-purpose facility catering for holiday-makers enjoying a break away from it all, for the corporate world looking for a conference, seminar or staff training and accommodation venue and for couples planning their wedding ceremony and reception.Superbly Located on the shores of Lake Hume with views of the lake , gardens and surrounding mountains, Lake Hume Resort features 70 rooms - hotel style and apartments, plus excellent conferencing facilities for up to 300 delegates, a restaurant, bars and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Hume Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing