We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vibe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort Local

Beaufort Local
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Highgate
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We visited the Merchant last Saturday night on a short visit to Perth.

As a celebration of my coming birthday our son and his wife took my wife and me to one of their favourite eating spots in Perth.

And a good choice it turned out to be. The atmosphere was excellent with lots of people of varying ages having an obviously fun night.

The service initially was a little off but improved markedly. The staff are friendly and unobtrusive.

The menu is quite small but all the options were interesting with a good wine list with many choices "by the glass". I liked the fact that these wines were poured at the table from the bottle and we were offered a tasting before the glass was fully poured. Our daughter in law chose a glass of Sav Blanc that was not to her taste. The wine was immediately changed to something she liked...no fuss...nice touch.

I had the duck confit which was excellent. They also seem to specialise in locally sourced lamb which my wife had and, unable to resist, can say this was also excellent.

Can't comment on the value as I didn't pick up the bill, but I will be happy to next time.

Great vibe, good food, well matched wines and good company........ticks all the boxes and will be returning on our next trip to Perth.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank easy1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    79
    25
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Surprisingly busy on a Wednesday night. My friend and I shared the Vitello tonnato to begin - it was excellent, but I always love it. I then had lamb done two ways, with a beautiful rich Shiraz. My friend had the fish of the day, which was an excellent choice. The lamb was quite good, but the shredded lamb croquette was too rich and ended up being very oily, which was a shame in an otherwise good dish.
We had mostly good service from our waiter but a waitress bought over a coffee to us, while we were waiting for our mains to arrive and looked at us bemused when we said it wasn't for us.. 20 seconds later another waitress tried to deliver the very same coffee and again looked us strangely when we said it's not ours, and we've just finished our entree. Neither of them apologized which left us with the giggles so I guess it's up there for entertainment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeenieTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Cool venue nice buzzy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a really cool place to eat if you want high energy. It was really busy when we were in but there was no wait for a table. The service was a bit stretched but pleasant. The food selection was different but included many new and old type dishes in a nice way. I will definitely go back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Upmarket and Upbeat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a work breakfast where we decided to take out people in our business to show them a high-end café - we are starting to produce food products aimed at places like this after producing run-of-the-mill food for 20-30years. I was impressed with the staff, the food, the coffee and the way it was all presented. Nice work guys

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Torsoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We came here for breakfast. It was so busy!! Lucky we booked. Good variety of food for breakfast.
Good breakfast. Service wasn't bad too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thebudgetbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaufort Local also viewed

 
Highgate, Vincent
 

Been to Beaufort Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing