We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded and Comfortable Huts, Great food & great company” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cradle Mountain Huts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hagley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cradle Mountain Huts
Certificate of Excellence
Kununurra
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Secluded and Comfortable Huts, Great food & great company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

A couple of weeks ago I joined a group to walk the Overland Track. What a fantastic experience - the guides, Nick and Dayna were excellent as was the group of people I joined. Nick and Dayna are both very passionate young Tasmanians who never miss an opportunity to promote their state. They are also passionate about preserving the Overland Track and all it contains, as well as being great cooks to boot!! Our group all agreed we had enjoyed a unique experience in the Tasmanian wilderness which will certainly remain in my mind as one of the best walks I have done. The huts are well appointed and comfortable and carefully tucked away in secluded locations all with a wonderful view from which to enjoy a very welcome sundowner at the end of a days walk. I can't recommend this trip highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms are all identical and a little on the small side, but we are only sleeping in them so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi Judy H,

Thanks for your review – we really appreciate you taking the time to write.

I am really pleased to read you had a great time whilst walking the Overland Track with us. We are very lucky to have Nick and Dayna as part of our team as they are so passionate about both Tassie and the Overland Track. To be considered one of the best walks you have done is excellent.

We hope to see you for another walk at some point in the future.

Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
50
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

After finding out I had a week off of work I had to book this trip with cradle huts very last minute! I saw their website and have them a call and they were so kind! I was on a flight in 3 days and they helped me get all of my gear organized in time.

Where to start with the awesomeness? I'm 22 and I was scared that is be surrounded by older people and not have fun. SO NOT TRUE! I met some incredible people and we had so much fun! It was so great how ten strangers could get together from all different walks of life and end up sharing such a special experience.

The guides were absolutely incredible . If you're lucky you'll get James and John. The food was five star and the cabins were better than just comfy.

The scenery was breathtaking and the walking was very healing. You can walk with the group or a little ahead or behind to have your own space.

They had a guitar in every hut!! The guides sang to us and we all had many many laughs.

So glad I made the quick decision to just do it!

Cradle huts is off the chain .


Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaLouiseMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi EmmaLouiseMusic,

Thanks for your lovely review. It can be tricky to organise a 6 day walk at the last minute but I am glad with the help of our reservations team you got everything sorted in time.

I am really pleased you had an incredible group – it’s interesting how many groups do develop a close relationship even though everyone is from such varied backgrounds.

James and John are great value and very special guides, not to mention their cooking abilities!
We hope you may be able to join us for another “last minute” walk at some point.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We are a family of four, with two kids 10 and 13 and we love hiking. We've been fortunate to hike in some wonderful places across the world and have experienced a few guided walks. We can highly recommend the Cradle Mountain Huts Guided walk. Our guides, Dee and Tom were exceptionally knowledgeable regarding the geology, fauna and flora and had a great passion for the environment they walk in. For seasoned guides it was lovely to hear their pure delight as the sunshine lit a particular spot or how the rain and cloud cover changed the look.

Dee and Tom engaged our children, answered the never-ending questions and provided encouragement when needed.

Now the food... Fresh baked bread every day, each day was different. Dee's Mushroom Risotto is up there with some of the best dining experiences we have ever had. Oh and Pizza night, home made, thin crust pizzas, the Italian way with some amazing and simple toppings. The Tasmanian wines were selected to match the meals served. Well done. A great promotion for some wonderful wines.

We had a little water issue one afternoon and Tom was ingenious in resolving the problem. He was so humble but what he did was truly amazing. Another example of how talented this duo were.

And we can't forget Bruce the bus driver who provided great historical information on the journey to and from the mountain. He he also knew when to offer the mints to reduce the effects of some rather bendy roads.

We highly recommend Cradle Mountain Huts guided walks, it's a fabulous hiking trip and a delicious food experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi AnnieW

Thanks so much for your great review on TripAdvisor – we really appreciate you taking the time to write.
I am so pleased you had a great walk with your family. Both Dee & Tom are outstanding guides and we are very fortunate to have the both as part of our team. Their knowledge and passion for Tassie in general and the Overland Trip just continues to grow as time goes on.

It’s a pretty special walk to do with your family and we don’t often have children as young as 10 walking with us – but when they are up for it it’s a very unique family holiday.

We hope to see you for another walk some time in the future.

Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having just returned from 5 nights/6 days walking from Cradle Mountain to Lake St Clair under the superb guidance of Linton and Matt I highly recommend this trip to anyone considering an opportunity of a liftetime in the Tasmanian Wilderness. They not only guided us brilliantly, they were also amazing cooks, expert nurses, delightful musicians, fantastic hosts and looked great when dressing for party night.

I along with my brother have achieved a lifetime dream of walking this track and never did we imagine we would do it in so much style. Mt Ossa was a view that I will reflect on for many years to come but in saying that each day brought many memorable moments.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi SuzieC50
Thanks for recommending our Cradle Mountain Huts Walk on TripAdvisor – we really appreciate it. We have such great guides working with us and Linton & Matt are both fabulous.
The view from Mt Ossa on a clear day is just spectacular and I am really pleased you got to experience it.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is a seriously wonderful experience. While the walk can be quite arduous at times, particularly if the weather is bad (we had rain, winds and cold conditions on the first two days) the professionalism of the guides, and the quality of the huts and food, make it a fantastic six days. The mountains, forests, rivers and creeks, and wildlife make this a very special place - go there if you possibly can. But we were also deeply appreciative of the logistical feat in establishing and maintaining such high quality accommodation in a remote wilderness area. This is not a cheap holiday, but we felt we received excellent value given all that was provided to us.

But the glue that held everything together were our two wonderful guides - Anna and Ryan. We were just amazed at their knowledge and clear love of the mountains, their amazing capacity for hard work, and their ability to interact with people from very different backgrounds in a calm and very friendly way. I was by far the slowest walker of the group, and I was delighted that I was able to walk at my own pace, often alone (which I prefer), but very secure in the knowledge that Anna and Ryan knew what I was doing and were not far away if needed.

A simply wonderful experience for our family of four!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gidgea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Gidgea
Thank you for your lovely review. It’s great to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed walking the Overland Track with us. Having guides and comfortable huts at the end of each really does make a difference - particularly in rainy/windy conditions which can be quite challenging at times.
Anna & Ryan having been working with us for a number of years and we are lucky to have them as part of our team.
All the best, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Overland Track walk is one of those iconic adventure walks. It has been on our bucket list for years and we finally got there. At the end of some days we were tired but that's expected when you're in your mid sixties. This 6 day walk with Cradle Huts surpassed any expectations we may have had. The The huts were warm and comfortable, the showers were to die for, and we made good use of the drying rooms. The other walkers in our small group were very enjoyable company both on the track and later over meals and relaxation. And our guides Ben, Kaely and Cody were par-excellence! Nothing was too much trouble; they were helpful , informative and boy could they put together fabulous meals. This was a great start to retirement for us. May there be many more!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Phillip L
It’s great to read you had a great experience on the Overland Track with us. The huts are so comfortable after a good days walk and I agree the showers make such a difference! Ben, Kaely and Cody are all great guides and we are lucky to have such enthusiastic people working with us.
I hope you have some other great walking adventures and enjoy your retirement.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful 6 days hiking in the Tasmanian wilderness with Cradle Mountain Huts. The trip from Cradle Mountain to Lake St Clair was very well organised and executed. Everyone in the small group (max 10 people) was required to carry up to 10kg of their personal belongings in a mid-sized backpack, and this proved much easier than expected.
We walked for 6-9 hours (approx. 12 km) per day with good rest breaks through stunning highland scenery, ending each day at a different privately-owned eco-hut. We were greeted with fresh-baked afternoon tea, and after welcome hot showers the group sat down to a 3 course dinner. Evenings were spent around the table with our new friends, with good food and wine and much laughter, before retiring to our rooms. These were small and simple but quite comfortable and cosy.
The trip was led by 2 guides, the amazing Joe and Will. These two were very experienced, and knowledgable about the Track itself as well as wildlife and plants along the way. They were fabulous cooks (the food was a real highlight), wonderful hosts, great fun and really made the trip. They worked tirelessly from early morning to late evening to ensure our comfort and enjoyment.
I can really recommend this trip. It is a bit pricey, but if you are tossing up whether to do the track independently or this way, keep in mind that independent trekkers have to supply and carry their own pack, tent, sleeping bag and mat, stove, fuel, food and personal belongings etc (typically 20kg+) as well as pay park fees, a trek permit, and transport to and from the Track. With Cradle Huts, everything is included except your own personal clothing, and the walking is much more enjoyable carrying a much lighter load over often steep terrain and muddy tracks, not to mention the luxury of hot showers every day, and a warm, dry bed. For us, it definitely made the trek very comfortable and enjoyable, and I did not envy those other independent trekkers with their heavy loads. In fact some of them envied us our fresh-baked bread and great food and wine!
I recommend this trip to anyone with a reasonable standard of fitness who enjoys walking in beautiful mountains who would also like to be comfortable at the end of each day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guitarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi Guitarfish
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had a fabulous trip. Joel and Will are amazing guides with lots of knowledge and personality and some great cooking skills!
For many the lighter pack weight makes a big difference in their enjoyment of the trail and it also means that many have more energy to undertake some of the many side trips which are quite spectacular.
We hope to see you back in Tassie at some point in the future.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hagley
11.6 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
9.4 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
11.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
11.5 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quamby Estate
Quamby Estate
#1 of 2 in Hagley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Huts

Property: Cradle Mountain Huts
Address: 1145 Westwood Rd, Hagley, Tasmania 7292, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hagley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hagley
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Huts - Overland Track WalkDiscover the rare beauty and extraordinary diversity of Tasmania’s world heritage-listed Cradle Mountain - Lake St. Clair National Park. Walk the 60km Overland Track and unwind in the warmth and comfort of private hut accommodation each evening. A truly spectacular journey to revive the senses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing