We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hagley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cradle Mountain Huts
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
287 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is 'glamping' at its best - the wonderful and (dare I say) awesome physical experience of walking / climbing in wild and spectacular Tasmania but with pampered and even luxurious treatment at the end of each day's walk. Yes it is costly but I have no regrets about this - really, what price do you put on peak lifetime experiences. It does require fitness and preparation - half of the 8 walkers on our trip were over 65 but fit and regular walkers. My wife was not keen on carrying a backpack, but the packs provided as part of the deal were very comfortable and there were no complaints with the <10kg weight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi tav-mind,
I am really glad you had a great walk and feel that not only did you enjoy Tasmania's spectacular wild places and the huts but you felt you received value for money. A certain level of fitness is required but like you said when carrying a lighter pack it really is achievable.
As a team we really appreciate you taking the time to review your time with us on TripAdvisor.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
52
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Did the 3 day bay of fires walk and found it a fantastic experience. the group size is ideal - max of 10 but we only had 7 with two guides. The walk starts with a pick up in Launceston and a drive to Quanmbry estate and a pack check. then after a briefing we drove to the start of the walk at stubby's bay and carrying our own gear for the next 3 days set out on the first part of the walk - 9 km to the first camp which is a bush camp with a difference. fixed tents and composting toilets. The guides had carried the food and served up an excellent 3 course meal of 'nibbles' followed by Atlantic Salmon and chocolate mousse. Then off the bed in the permanent tents - wooden floors and canvas roof.
Next morning after a leisurely breakfast we set off on the longest day - 16 km but at a gentle pace with plenty of stops to look at the view and have snacks. We arrived at 4:30 at the luxorious lodge to be greeted with afternoon tea of freshly baked cake. Then w checked into our twin share rooms ( but as the tour was not full- I got a room to myself). Simple with a bed and electric lights. Showers and toilets down the corridor.
After another excellent meal it was early bed to prepare for the next day which involved an optional ( but included in the price) kayaking trip down the river. Again excellently guided and they even helped me when I found a recent injury was making it difficult for me to complete the trip.
The day finished with a stroll along the beach and back for more home cooked food.
The final day has a free morning before a 1 hour walk out to the bus and the trip back to Launceston via a local windy.
36km all up - mainly flat beach ,walking - highly recommended and the tour company were fantastic

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank travel7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi travel 7310,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it.
I am glad you had a great time on the walk and enjoyed not only the walking but the food, accommodation and kayaking.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I bucket lister for sure.
We had a great group and fantastic guides. Couldn't fault them as they made our 6 day walk the most memorable we've ever had.
Doing the snow traverse and climbing to Mt Ossa was just one of the hugely inspiring experiences.
Bay of Fires is on our to do list.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Mark,
Thanks so much for your Trip Advisor review - I am really pleased you had such a great walk. Ossa in the snow is a spectacular sight and a challenging climb but well worth the effort!
I hope you can come down and join us for our Bay of Fires Lodge Walk at some stage.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I could not speak highly enough about my experience of the 6 day Cradle Mountain Huts walk.

I am reasonably fit but struggle up hills with dodgy knees. Only having to carry my clothes meant I was able to take on what is a reasonably serious hike. And with a level of relative luxury that made the whole experience something special.

We were 7 hikers and had 2 excellent guides (Josh and Shelley) with us the whole way. We were lucky with the weather - it rained for part of 2 of the 6 days, and was largely sunny and warm otherwise. Being late October the snow had only just melted and there was plenty of water on the track which made for muddy going much of the time.

The food was plentiful and delicious and I had to be careful not to eat too much.

The privilege of private huts in a National Park is a rare experience and this operator both respects the privilege and does justice to it. It is not cheap but it is worth the price. When you see the lengths they have to go to in order to make this possible you will understand the cost. eg. all waste gets helicoptered out at the end of the season. Small touches like updated pillow protectors, deluxe edition Scrabble (with well maintained supply of pens and paper) and gourmet jams at breakfast put the package on the top shelf.

And the staff are just superb. Our guides, Josh and Shelley, worked hard from morning to night - cooking, cleaning, tending our wounds, answering endless questions, explaining the local flora and fauna, and even finding time to provide worthy Scrabble opposition. Adam, the cheery operations manager, walks the track in the opposite direction on a 10 day mission to constantly maintain the huts at full operations - plumbing, gas, heaters, solar power, etc.

The company clearly has a strong ethos around around providing a happy and comfortable experience to its guests whilst respecting the pristine wilderness in which it operates.

Seriously, don't think twice, just do it!

Room Tip: Don't take anything you don't need - less weight the better. But add to the published packin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jdfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi JDFM,
Thanks for the fantastic review on your Cradle Mountain Huts – Overland Track Walk.
Josh and Shelley are both fabulous guides and we are incredibly lucky to have them as part of our team.
We do see operating the only private huts along the Overland Track as a true privilege as you mentioned and we take the responsibilities that go along with this privilege really seriously. We are constantly striving to update our hut practices to ensure we are reducing our environmental impact and footprint.
We are all proud to work in such an amazing environment and on Friday night we were excited to receive a high commendation in the 2012 Tasmanian Tourism Awards.
All the best, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Cradle Mountain Huts Walks are not cheap but costs are comparable with most "supported" bushwalks at other locations in Australia.

The fact that there is a choice of either 4-days or 6-days option mean that most people with reasonable level of fitness can enjoy the experience of the Overland Track.

Huts are extremely comfortable with twin-share rooms (bunk-style arrangement) and best of all - hot showers and indoor toilets. A three-course meal with wine after a long day of walking was also most appreciated.

The two guides on my trip were fantastic. Apart from being extremely personable, helpful, great cooks with good sense of humour, They are also very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna we saw along the Overland Track.

The Cradle Mountain Huts Walks are highly recommended to those who want to enjoy Tassie wilderness but not wishing to rough it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pocket_Rocket_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi CarinnaT,
I am really pleased you had a great walk. The guides are such an important component of the whole experience and I love the fact that I learn something new each time I am up in the mountains with them. I am glad you enjoyed the comfort of the huts - they do make the end of the day so enjoyable.
Cheers Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I had originally intended to undertake this iconic trek solo and camping, but was persuaded by my wife to do it in comfort and so booked with Cradle Mountain Huts. As the weather was wet and a little cold, a warm, dry hut with hot showers, a clothes drying room and excelent three course dinners (with wine) at the end of each day, turned out to be very welcome indeed. The huts themselves were extremely comfortable and well furnished and our guide/cooks Elsa and Kim made our journey first class. Their knowledge of the flora and fauna was comprehensive and they were great company. Overall, this trek was memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrekkerMike09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi TrekkerMike09,
Really glad you had a great walk with us and that you enjoyed the extra creature comforts - which I agree are especially appreciated when it's a bit wet! Elsa and Kim are both fantastic guides and we are lucky to have them both working with us.
Cheers Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I hiked the Overland Track and celebrated my 67th birthday in the middle of it.
I have wanted to do this trip for ever but as each year passed the thought of carrying a 20 kilo pack for six days was getting less and less appealing.
Then I heard about a ‘soft’ option.
Cradle Mountain Huts offer the wilderness experience with all the rough edges removed. In degrees of difficulty, as far as the walking is concerned, the Track is rated a 5 out of 10. But as far as creature comforts go I’d give the Cradle Mountain Huts option 10 out of 5.
The company has five beautifully appointed huts strategically hidden along the track providing accommodation for ten hikers plus guides. Of course no one can do the walking for you but with this version of the hike you only have to carry your clothing and any other personal items – no tents, sleeping bags or food supplies to weigh you down.
Each hut has a different layout but basically there is a large dining/lounge/kitchen area, 5 small, neat and very Scandinavian bedrooms with picture perfect views and warm comfortable beds and indoor showers and toilets. There are even supplies of hot water bottles and liniment for aching muscles.
At the end of each day’s hike we were greeted at the hut by the smell of hot muffins or scones and steaming mugs of tea and coffee. There was a fire to dry out our sodden boots, a cloakroom to remove the outer layers of our day, and heavenly hot showers to soothe tired limbs. And every night our guides produced delicious three-course gourmet meals served with fine Tasmanian wines. Hearty breakfasts came with freshly baked bread and for lunch we packed up our own lunch boxes from a smorgasbord of choices.
Towards the end of day four I made a miscalculation and fell, face down, into one of the thick black muddy bogs. But the knowledge of a hot shower and glass of wine, no more than an hour away, tempered the discomfort.
Three things are mandatory on this trip - strong ankles, good sense of balance, and a huge appetite - because the food just keeps coming. Six solid days of walking and I managed to put on weight.
The Track certainly doesn’t disappoint - no wonder they call it “a place of many journeys”- and neither does Cradle Mountain Huts. Only way to go - I say!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi Joy,
Thanks for taking the time to post on trip advisor - it sounds like you had a fabulous walk and what a way to celebrate your birthday. The scenery, food, wine, guides and comfortable huts do truly make the Overland Track a very special wilderness experience.
Cheers Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hagley
11.6 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
11.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
11.0 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
6.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Hadspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Huts

Property: Cradle Mountain Huts
Address: 1145 Westwood Rd, Hagley, Tasmania 7292, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hagley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hagley
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Huts - Overland Track WalkDiscover the rare beauty and extraordinary diversity of Tasmania’s world heritage-listed Cradle Mountain - Lake St. Clair National Park. Walk the 60km Overland Track and unwind in the warmth and comfort of private hut accommodation each evening. A truly spectacular journey to revive the senses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing